We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel in Sal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Garopa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Garopa to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Garopa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cabocan Lote A2 A3 | Santa María - Isla de Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Santa Maria
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel in Sal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It isreally a amazing Hotel on Sal Island and we spend there a really nice and good Week of Beachvacation. Located little bit out of the Center - directly at the large Beach and the Dunes. Very clear Water. Good Service with a friendly Staff there - especially at the Breakfast Service and Restaurant. Large Selection at food and Drinks. Lot of Entertainment and good Watersports.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    912
    307
    89
    58
See reviews for
473
1,311
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Before i went to Cabo Verde, I read quite a few reviews tips and I tried to read the negative reviews to prepare myself as well as the possitive ones, because I didnt want to be dissapointed. This was a huge deal us going on this holiday, we hadnt been a a holiday since 2006, so it was really important to me that we had picked a good one. I have never done a package holiday before.. so was a little nervous. But i just wanted to relax soak up the sun and wind down and have a good time.
The whole experience blew away my expectations, it has been the most perfect gorgeous holiday experience! The Best things are the pristine, idyllist golden sands and cynical clear sapphire blue seas, The Staff- because they are all so nice to you and make you feel really welcome they couldn't do more for you, always smiling and work SO HARD! The activity's are brilliant fun- the more you loosen up and put in to the holiday the more it gives you back! Its also handy because it's really nice to be able to spend time apart from those you may be travelling with and gives you an opportunity to meet new people.

My least favourite parts of the holiday were...PASHA.. It's the on site night club but it wasn't for me- appeared to be playing euro pop and there was a very sleazy vibe in there.maybe i'm past clubbing? However, the shows in the evening, they do get a bad press but there were several which were Fantastic- especially the Capperira (Brazilian dance/ martial art) show- the talent and skill the dancers and musicians demonstrated was astounding! So I would say it is varied.

One of my big things I wanted to do was to see the Whale migration however when we got there, they said we were too early, BUT we saw a mother and baby on a boat trip. The Turtles, there was no clear way to get onto the turtle beach at night and we didn't want to go by ourselves in case it was a) dangerous, b) damage the wild life and C) illegal? we were not sure, so this is something i would checked out first.

The sea is beautiful to swim in,but you must listen to the flag men as it can apparently be very dangerous.

My biggest recommendation is that you can go just outside of the hotel to buy excursions which are half the price of Thompson's- the island tour is 25 euro. They are lovely guys really fantastic at their jobs, look after you really well and so friendly! We went with Dylan, Elvis and Souzer. Who we had a little friendship developed through doing their day trip. They have a cute little dog names Linda, who comes round with you. Everything is very much by the book.

They also do a alternative boat trip too!
There are about 50 cats which live in the hotel ( they are NOT strays) they are looked after by the hotel and they are safe to touch and pet. However the Dogs you will see around are strays and they keep coming back due to guests feeding them.

I would recommend bringing some games with you for the evening- as this is the time when you often felt at a loose end.

The food isn't as bad as everyone says, it is very 'eddable' and sometimes delicious. but If your looking for a gastronomic holiday this one would not be for you However when you see the poverty and shanty towns which exist outside of the complex, you appreciate the food a lot more.

All in all absolutely amazing!! would go back there like a shot!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Arrived home on the 8th may and want to say what a fabulous holiday. The flight wasnt as bad as I expected and went fairly quickly, We sat within the first 10 rows. There is nothing much on the island but there doesn't need to be, its unspoilt. Nothing is produced on the island its all brought in. The town of Santa maria is small with a beautiful beach. The complex is huge and so relaxing. As mentioned in other reviews although it says there is two hotels its more like one but with two seperate reception areas. If you want to do activities during the day there is a full programme listed, but we went to relax. The facilities were brilliant and well maintained, constantly being cleaned. Loads of space surrounding both pool areas and on the beach. The rooms/blocks were more than adequate and very clean but they do need to be repainted. Even if spot painted where trollies/suitcases had caught the walls, as first impressions count. The beds were firm but we found them comfortable. Another pillow could be handy for some but i'm sure if you asked you would get one. There was a large choice of food in all the dining areas, fresh food being cooked constantly. Evening entertainment every night, mostly music based but remember they are trying to cater for several countries. The staff were always helpfull and friendly. The weather was really good about 29 with a little breeze. Be warned the sun is very strong and you don't realise you are burning. Would recommend using a high factor. Apparently it gets to 45 in july/august and the breeze drops. What more can i say than it was 'Just brilliant'. And yes, will be returning next year. Happy holidays!

Room Tip: we were in block 7 and found it very quiet. We didnt get any sun in the room but it kept it cool. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

A perfect holiday! Me and my boyfriend went at the end of May perfect weather with cool winds started to get really hot in June though! I thought it was great value, you could get food all day long. Really good choice of food and the Asian restaurant was lovely! Perhaps food could have done with a bit more flavouring but still yummy and ate lots!! Sitting by the pool was gorgeous and endless cocktails and drinks was fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipton west mids
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel complex was spotless, the cleanest I've ever stayed in, food was good not as spicey as I would've liked but good variety. We ate in all four speciality restaurants Asian being the best ! All buffet style ? I'd prefer table service myself as a change .
The beach is where we spent our days as I can't see the point of travelling the world to sit by a pool all week ?? This was beautifully kept and very spacious ! All of our photos show deserted beaches and that's what I loved about this place. Yes it was bit windy at times and they could do with turning the temp of the sea up a few clicks but it was beautifully all the same ! The red flags were never shown all week and we swam every day .
Entertainment was as is every other hotel I've stayed at POOR ! They try hard but it's very samey miming and jokey ! Some outside acts would've been a massive improvement .
The discotheque was well used but although its well served and decorated the music was dire some new CDs required urgently.
Overall a good holiday if all you require is a rest and decent food in a nice hotel environment , I'll prob return one day but many new places to discover first

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Garopa

We had an amazing stay!

The beaches were absolutely amazing, the food was average but then understandably as everything has to be imported as nothing grows on the island. The restaurants on site, Asian, Grill, African and Fish are all also buffet. We were under the impression we were able to share the facilities of the hotel next door when infact the Funana is the same hotel, just older. (the Funana was built first and then the Garopa built later as an exact mirror image)

Rooms were kept clean and a good size and our balcony even had a sea view

Be careful of the sun! even on a cloudy day you can burn so take extra high factor!

Loved our time there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We've been reading these reviews for 14 weeks now. And, honestly were expecting things not to be as good as they actually were. OK - the wine is undrinkable, but there really isn't much else to complain about unless you are really of a mind to. Having said that we did get a great price for this holiday; we kept checking the prices over a number of weeks (they vary massively) and then one day when it was v.low I booked it there and then. At times, our same holiday was over twice what we paid and maybe I would have been looking for flaws more if I'd paid the much higher price.
We were booked into the Funana but when we got there we didn't have the connecting-door we'd paid for so we were moved to the Garopa in order to get one. We lucked out on this as we ended up in Block 6 which was central to everything and right next to the pool. Our original block 2 wasn't close to anything. The staff could not have been more helpful with this move and gave us the option to move back to the Funana the next day if we wanted. There was no need for this as the hotels really are exactly the same with a huge cross-over of facilities. I would HIGHLY recommend that anyone travelling as a family of 4 or more pays the £25 at the travel-agent to have the interconnecting-rooms. The two rooms then open on to each other via their front doors which are set at a right angle to each other. You then have about six foot of private corridor to yourselves with another private, lockable front door. This meant that it was the quietest hotel we have ever stayed-in, there was literally no noise at night at all. We didn't hear other people, doors closing or anything. The air conditioning was a blessing at night and v.quiet too. We all slept really well, which meant happy kids.
There really isn't much to do - luckily our girls will play in the pool all day. We had taken lilo's and inflatable toys bought here; you cannot buy any there, we left them for kids arriving next week. However, even though we used the 'green' factor 50 the children still got burned. I think this was because they were in the water for 8 hours and lotion was getting washed-off. We made them wear t-shirts and hats in the water after this. We only did one day trip - the half-day island explore, this pretty much covers it all. We went with Tomson because the local version was open-top and we didn't want to fry the kids more. Overall we've had a lovely break though will look for more to do next hols!

Room Tip: Families needing more than one room should book the interconnecting rooms, worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Garopa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Garopa

Address: Cabocan Lote A2 A3 | Santa María - Isla de Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Garopa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Main building and 2-story annexes * Situated on the beach front together with the ClubHotel Riu Funana * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 1.5 Km to Santa Mar??A * 15 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Garopa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Garopa Santa Maria
ClubHotel Riu Garopa Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Garopa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.