We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Stress, hotel and holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Odjo d'Agua Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Odjo d'Agua Hotel to your Saves list
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helmsdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“No Stress, hotel and holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

An excellent holiday in a great location. Quiet and totally relaxing break for two weeks. Most of the time was spent on sunloungers at the beach bar where Tomas gave first class service to the thirsty! Hotel was excellent and clean, food was good we stayed on b&b, rooms were spacious and well kept. Rm 419 did not have much of a view although the trees do afford shelter from wind, rain and feirce sun. The one tropical storm that brewed up did nothing to dampen the spirits. The hotel pool is small and never that busy, it is a great place to plunge and cool off.
If coach drops you off on the street don't worry about the first sight of hotel and signage, you will get a very pleasant surprise when you enter.
There are plenty good places in nearby streets to eat and drink. I would mention TamTams, Ocean Cafe, Italian restuarant and especially Cafe do Mar for food, drinks and service. There are a couple of local shops within 50 yards of hotel where you can get bottled water and most other needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    111
    32
    9
    12
See reviews for
37
184
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a lovely, local hotel. Beautiful location right by the sea and very close to the small town centre.
The rooms are a little tired, but are comfortable and kept very clean. We had room 106 on the ground floor which had a view of the sea and pier, was close to the pool and had a fairly private patio area in the shade of some trees.
The breakfast buffet choice was huge and the restaurant meals were delicious in a lovely setting. The staff are very friendly and helpful.... the maid, gardeners, reception and restaurant staff. Would highly recommend it for people not wanting the all-inclusive style holiday at the mega hotels down the coast.

Recommendations for good local food are Cafe Creole and Cultural Cafe, and of course Odjo d'agua's restaurant itself!

Would also recommend the official SOS Turtle walk and hatchery.

We also went on Blinky' s Island tour which was good fun, well organised, comprehensive and a really good day out.

If you would like to bring school items (pens, paper etc), toys, children's clothes for the local families there is a charity run school around the corner from Odjo, called Castelos do Sal where they would be much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Odjo is in an excellent location on the sea-edge of town.

We stayed in room 417 and although it was a little 'tired' it was spacious and comfortable, the view from the balcony over the courtyard was delightful. The room, like the rest of the hotel, was kept spotlessly clean. We had no problems with the air-con and there was always plenty of hot water for a shower.

Service from all the staff was outstanding; they were friendly and very helpful. We would like to mention in particular: Carlos and Imerson in the restaurant, Aida in the esplanade bar, Tomas in the beach bar and Maria who kept our room so clean. They certainly helped make this a holiday to remember.

The breakfast buffet was enormous, with a huge choice and the coffee, from behind the service area, not from the machine by the tea area, was good. The restaurant menu was extensive and the food well prepared and well presented. Seafood and fish feature heavily and the game fish dishes we tried were all delicious. Wines were either Portuguese or South African; the locally produced wines are an acquired taste!

The sea in front of the beach bar is rocky and it can be awkward getting out of the water; the waves can be a bit fierce making an elegant exit difficult. The next beach along, also belonging to the hotel, is easier. The hotel's pool although small was a joy.

Santa Maria is a small friendly town with lots of places to eat and drink. Prices are fairly consistent, the beer is cold and the service is good. Most people we met spoke English and our attempts at Portuguese were well received.

The beach activities available are legendary. Sight seeing tours and trips around the island are numerous. Self-drive beach buggies and quad bikes are very popular and you can hire a small 4x4 for under 50 Euros a day.

There are several ATMs in the town and lots of small 'supermarkets'. The Police presence is light but visible and we never once felt unsafe. Some of the street vendors and curio shop touts can be persistent but eventually get the message.

Santa Mara certainly lives up to Cape Verde's slogan: "No Stress", so if you are looking for a relaxing 'beach holiday' then Santa Maria and Odja should be on your short list.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had two wonderful weeks in this lovely hotel. The sea view room overlooked the pool, pier and the beautiful sea and our balcony was large enough to hold two sun loungers as well as a table, umbrella and two big wooden chairs. The restaurant, staff and location were excellent and it was only a short walk to other restaurants and bars. I swam in the sea every day, it was so warm, about 20 deg or more. A perfect holiday !

Room Tip: Room 104 and 105 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

If the thought of relaxing each day to the sound of the waves breaking on your private hotel beach, taking an occasional dip in the sea to cool off, dining (if you choose) in a fine restaurant overlooking the long curving sandy bay of Santa Maria and the setting sun, with the addition of being conveniently close to alternative local bars and restaurants, sounds like your type of break, then the Odjo D'Agua is - in our opinion - the best and only choice on Sal.

During our stay, the staff were all friendly courteous and helpful, the ladies on reception and Thomas at the beach bar/cafe deserving a special mention for making our holiday a success.
This is NOT a destination if you want lots of 'big brand' retail therapy and man made activities.

We especially recommend the official SOS Tartarugas charity run night-time turtle walk - their office (go a few hundred metres inland from the Santa Maria Pier and you'll find it) is worth a visit to hear more about their work and to book. Even if you don't see a turtle laying eggs, the information is interesting and viewing the night sky (with virtually zero light pollution) is an amazing and memorable bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel. It is directly on the seaside in the center of Santa Maria and ha also a nice pool. To safely swim in the sea with a bit of waves you need to walk for a few hundred meters to avoid stones.
The room was comfortable and clean with good beds. It looked over the pool to the sea. The bathroom was well equipped, but we had difficulties getting into the bathtub to shower, as we are in our 60's. A simple shower would be preferable and also more in line with the generally limited availability of water. We had never seen a shortage of water in the hotel however.
The hotel is decorated with old ship's equipment.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and the restaurant is above average.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea and pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have been meaning to review this hotel for a while but have only just got around to it! We chose this hotel because we wanted to stay in the town rather than at one of the new (probably flashier) all-inclusive resorts further along the coast. We were so pleased with our choice. Yes the rooms could do with an update but we didn't spend much time in it and the hammock on the balcony more than compensated to the decor. The private beach was lovely and the views from the restaurant (which is located over the ocean) were amazing. It was great to be able to walk into town and as we booked B & B we were able to sample different eating places. Try going for a long walk on the beach, there are stretches where there is nobody around and it just feels like being on your own desert island - fabulous. We didn't do a lot while we were there but a trip around the Island was fun and we also did the day trip to Fogo which I recommend. Christmas Eve was fun and the staff did a lovely sing-song wearing Santa Hats!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Odjo d'Agua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odjo d'Agua Hotel

Address: Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Odjo d'Agua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Odjo d'Agua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odjo D'Agua Hotel Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria
Hotel Odjo d Agua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Odjo d'Agua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.