We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm place and you have nothing to do just watching the kite surfers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oasis Belorizonte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oasis Belorizonte to your Saves list
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C.P. 63, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 63, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Santa Maria
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Calm place and you have nothing to do just watching the kite surfers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The natural environment itself is the secret of this place but nothing else. Once you have arrived you will slowdown automatically and forget the European rush, including your busy work and also the infrastructure partially. Which is not negative at all if you really want to rest up yourself and do not want to stick on your mobile phone. (there is not many mobile network available with the exception of T-mobile)
Service:
Friendly and smiley staff without having any stress. Most likely they will not speed up if you need a glass of water urgently before you dry out completely.
Breakfast and dinner buffets are OK and ample in variety especially for those who loves seafood dishes. Only the selection of bakery products and fresh vegetable is weak.
Regular bungalow are not really big but spacious enough for two.
Cleaning of our accommodation was at the satisfactory level. I also would improve the maintenance services a bit. (i.e. adjusting TV channels, tighten screws etc. / all small thing...)
The hotel beach is beautiful, amazing white sand...
All in all everything was fine during our stay.

Room Tip: If possible go for the bungalows which are based at middle of the hotel territory where you will see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
Glad you enjoyed our hotel and Sal Island.
We hope you can come again to relax and forget the European rush.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    282
    149
    65
    42
See reviews for
195
296
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

At the time of my stay at the Belorizonte, I had already stay at Riu Karamboa (Boavista island) and Riu Garopa. These two hotels were both pleasant and I enjoyed both stays. When I arrived at the Belorizonte I thought it was a nightmare, for true!

The Hotel:
It is formed by rooms and bungalows. I stayed at a bungalow. The hotel has three pools, but only one is made of fresh water, not to mention that the floor around the big pool (near Santa Maria restaurant) hurts your feet. You have three restaurants and several bars. The beach club is ok, but some things from the bar are not included in the ‘all’ inclusive package. And sometimes the sea is a bit dangerous (the lifeguard is just useless), so be careful with small kids and people who are not very confident with the sea. But it is still pleasant, actually I think the beach is the best of the hotel. The wifi internet was supposed to work but it didn't, not even the computers at the lobby. So, no internet at all in this hotel. However, in the village there is a government building where the 'Centro Cultural' is located, with free and fast wifi, so I got used to walk everyday to Santa Maria (10 minutes) just to FaceTime with my family and check my emails.

The Room:
As I wrote, the hotel has bungalows and normal rooms. Part of our group stayed at the main building and for the little I saw, these rooms are way better than the bungalows. Unfortunately I didn't. First thing: safety (in this case, lack of). The doors are so crappy that are easily broke into. The bungalows have holes that allow cockroaches to enter (I 'hunted' three only inside the room during my stay). The safe in the room doesn't work properly and it is so small that things won't fit in there (and one person can carry it away from the room easily, for sure), not to mention that you have to pay for it. Apart from the beds, which are normal, all the furniture is falling apart!! Our wardrobe demounted when we opened it! The desk was so unstable that I was scared that it would break! The lights in the room were buckets filled with sand that looked like dustbins! One pillow on the 'couch' was dirty with a white fluid that I don't even want to think about what could be (!!). The facilities are not properly cleaned (they just sweep!!). And the bathroom was even worse!! The shower doors were broken so were always falling and the water sometimes was boiling sometimes was freezing! Terrible terrible room! There is a mini-bar which is filled with two bottles of water daily (in the Riu you have to ask the reception for the bottles and carry them to the room). But the bungalows are of a three or even two star hotel for sure.

Food & drinks:
I stayed at the Riu and the food standards there are high, with big variety of choice and also good overall quality. At the Belorizonte, being a smaller, 4-star hotel, I was expecting a little bit different. But the difference is way too much. The variety is terrible, I don’t know why they bother having two restaurants if they have the same horrible food in all of them. The supposed 'fancy' restaurant Salinas (à la carte menu) that you receive a voucher for, is simply disgusting and everybody from my group got sick after eating there shrimp, cocktail sauce or pasta. I had diarrhea and vomits, so on the last three days all I enjoyed from the all-inclusive was melon and some cold salads. The drinks were ok but they don’t know how to prepare cocktails properly.

Night shows & animation:
At night there is always some kind of show with Cape Verdean people at the Salinas restaurant, but very amateur, they just put on some music and then the animation team dances with the guests. At the Riu there are shows a lot more well prepared and with themes like Grease, Shrek, Mamma Mia, etc. At the fresh water pool and at the beach there is animation (spinning, aqua sports, break dance, volleyball, football, etc) several times a day with very kind and funny animators. The team does a good work in this point, amusing even the smaller kids.

Overall experience:
It is an old, bad quality hotel, and the food is terrible (don’t forget if you’re staying in the all inclusive package you’ll be paying to eat ALL the meals at the hotel, and restaurants in the village are not cheap), but if you just want to go to the beach and the pool to enjoy the Cape Verdean sun and kind people, it is ok. If you want the best, go for Riu brand hotels, which are way ahead of the Belorizonte in what concerns security, food quality and variety, comfort and quality of the rooms. If I return to Cape Verde, I’ll definitely go for the Riu, it is for sure worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Go for the main buildings, the bungalows are terrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were a bit surprise by this review, as some of the things mentioned are far from reality.
If you did in fact know well Sal Island you will understand the following:

- Our hotel compared to the one you mentioned is on the best spot of the island, with a white sand beach and a calm sea. Much better to children and families who choose to be with us because of our best location. Ponta Preta where the other hotel which you insist on saying is best is known for having big waves and is where surfers often go.

- Our food offer is known to be one of the best in the island. Guests from other hotels come to dinner at Salinas Restaurant and watch our evening shows. We have a top chef and plenty variety. We believe that other hotels can also have a good food offer but we don' t consider ours inferior, on the contrary.

- Our animation team is one of our best values in the hotel. Night shows are thematic and show the Capeverdean culture. The hotel you mentioned as your reference of wonderful has the same animation as the other hotels of the same chain that are in different parts of the world. In fact in this point we know for sure that we don' t have any competition because we want to show the music and the culture of this beautiful country and make our guests feel that they are in Cape Verde and not in any other part of the world. If you enjoy an hotel that makes you feel you are in another country and doens' t show you the good things about Africa and Cape Verde, then we understand all your critic.

Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farsta, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed there Feb 1 - Feb 7 (eg. Feb 2 as there was some mistake with the booking so we had a night at a more fancy All-inclusive hotel for a night but I must say I prefer this - even though:
The food was not the most delicous (I then mean the buffet which we had once) escpecially not the red wine (which was a joke- was it water in it?) and even was not included. The breakfast was more than OK. One should also consider this is Africa, Shall everything be exactly as in Scandinavia? The restaurang Salinas was in a better class.
We had a bungalow superior (283) and that was not so bad. However, the style with washbasin outside the bathroom is obiously common but strange and "irritating" as well as the switchs to the funny but not so practical bedlamps placed so you have to almost rise to switch off... The disposition of the room are perhaps not even the best but - never mind.
Many people have also wondered about the system (if there is any) for the roomnumbers. Besides, if these bungalows was paid in something else than this dark brown the whole area should look more "fresh"!
However: It is a nice, familiar atmosphere. The "animation team" which performed during the evenings, had aerobics, teached dancing etc was a lovely group of people, So was even the hotel staff!
Must mention that my friend became very sick the same day as we arrived. (Do not blame Belorizonte - he felt ill even the day before) - so ill so they assisted a transportation to a nearly situated clinic there he rather quick recovered. He was of course still not quite fit they day after but the staff was so helpful and caring and came with special food etc. We loved them and will send a special greeting to Mario L. and Nelida L.

Room Tip: The rooms in the central apratmentbuilding are more traditional but it is some charm with the bungal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Glad you enjoyed the overall atmosphere and all our staff.
We will take all your observations under consideration in order to improve our quality and our services.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

You have to admire how the staff does handle and manage so many bungalows and tourists of all walks of life. Bungalow 276 encountered a few problems, but were fixed immediately when pointed out to them. Wi-fi and internet werea bit slower than in other countries, but it has to be considered that Cape Verde is neither Europe nor USA, etc.
The charm and courtesy of the staff and local people made up for everything else.
One should not forget that they have to import most things what we take for granted at home! As Anja mentioned in her comment it is nice to see that there are still some countries which have not yet too much changed their way of living. I loved the saying of the locals: NO STRESS and enjoy a relaxing holiday! For me the beautiful beach outside our bungalow, clean sea, sunshine, wind and escape from the winter weather in Euope in Feb. 2013 were the more important things than to complain, about small things that was fixed by the staff.

Room Tip: Bungalow 267 was close to the beach and between two restaurants of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback.
Glad you had a good time and enjoyed this country and this people.
Hope you can return next winter!

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were 14 days in this hotel and enjoyed the beautiful beach (beds, umbrellas and towels), lovely pools, excellent food and drinks (offered in 2 restaurants with buffet 1 restaurant served) the friendly service the enthusiastic animation team and the attentive staff. We used the all inclusive option which was a hit because the prices in the hotel are at European level +. The Internet is quite expensive, certainly not quickly and only in the reception area bruikbaar.De bungalows are simple but clean, they have a fridge, air conditioning, TV and safe (fee).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
Glad you had a good time and that you enjoyed our hotel and services.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were there in January 2013. Mixed feelings about this hotel. Nice, big and good location.

What disappointed us:

1. waiting for 2hrs to get our room at check-in. We got it at the end at 15:30
2. Wi-fi is extremely expensive. After buying a 30mins, we noticed that it was extremely slow, making it impossible to use.
3. receptionists - trying to explain to them something in english, they do not always get it.
4. towels - terrible service here. After 3days using the same towels which is ok for us, we threw them on the floor to get them changed. We came back from the beach finding no towels. I went to the receptionist and she told me they are coming with clean towels. Waited 30mins and no towels. Called the receptionist and she again told me they are coming. Waited another 15mins and still no towels. Went to the receptionist again. At the end we got towels after 50mins waiting. For them, 'they are coming' means can be in 30mins, 1hr, 2hrs. Happened to us also with the beach towels. Very poor service here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We value every feedback and we will take under consideration the points mentioned in order to continue improving our services.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We returned yesterday from a 1 week stay, all inclusive, at Belorizonte, Sal, Calp Cape Verde.
It was our 1st time in Cape Verde and it was just like going back in time as we are living in Portugal.
Nice to see that there are still some countries which have not changed their way of living to adapted to modern standards.

Complex was very nice, well located, just a short walk away from the village of Santa Maria (take some good walking shoes with you as the walk ways and streets are not all that good!!)

The 2 bungalows (162 & 164) we stayed in, was comfortable and well located (near the pools, restaurants & beach) but a bit dated (all could do with an upgrade).
They do offer up grated bungalows for a higher price but as it is a 4 Star complex they should all be up grated we think.

Beds are a bit hard and can make noises when you turn in the night. No shutters on the window so if you are a light sleeper like me you are awake as soon as the sun comes up. Hotel has internet access and WIFI but you need to pay 3,50 Euro /half hour.

Staff was very very friendly and also extremely helpful. Many thanks especially to Audenise (hope I spelled the name correct).

When staying all inclusive you will have 3 vouchers for dinner: 1 at Salinas which is a à la card restaurant and 2 at Flor do Sal which offers buffet with typical dishes from Cape Verde. The rest of the evenings you can eat at the buffet restaurant Santa Maria.

The food was very good in all 3 restaurants, lots of choice and every day different.

For anyone who likes suba diving there is a dive center on side called Manta Diving. Check it out on Trip advisor. I dive with them and was very pleased with the service & the safety aspect.

We did a tour with Dany Lopes around the island of Sal, who is a certified tour guide. He took us to places were the tour guide´s from the tour operators would not have taken us.
He spend 5 hours with us, explained everything about the important places of the island and answered at least 1 million questions we asked him about the locals, the way of living and anything else about Cape Verde. His trio is highly recommended-
He is located just outside the complex on the side of the beach.

One last thing to mention: there is always wind on the island BUT in January & February there is a lot more wind so take a jumper and jeans with you for the evenings as well as a light scarf

Room Tip: We stayed at 162 & 164 which is well located, cose to reataurant, breakfasdt, pool & beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Anja,

Thank you for your review.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you can return to our hotel!

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oasis Belorizonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis Belorizonte

Address: C.P. 63, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 63, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oasis Belorizonte 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the white sand beach of the Santa Maria beach, bathed by a calm, turquoise, crystal water sea stands the hotel Oasis Atlantico Belorizonte. Being in first line on the beach, this is the ideal place for those who look to rest from the daily stress and who try to enjoy some relaxing holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Oasis Belorizonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Belorizonte Hotel
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.