We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oasis Belorizonte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oasis Belorizonte to your Saves list
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C.P. 63, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 63, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Santa Maria
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“second time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

i wanted to say that i returned here for the second time! why? because i liked so much the first time in november! i meet here wonderful people! especially i wanted to wish all the best in the world to Iulia(PR in the hotel).She is a mother now.She was so great with my familly and she convince me that Africa deserve to came back! we missed her so much!
Perfect located/ wonderful beach and a nice accomodation!
We found a lot of preparated with fish/so is great for our children, good drinks, all the area very clean and quaiet!
we tried all the activities on the beach with animation, also ski jet,a tour around the island and Neptunus! so,it was perfect for us!
congratulations for all the employers and also for the manager: i m sure that is not an easy work!!!
see you soon again Belorizonte!!!

Room Tip: clean and near by the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We have incredible people working here, and you are right... It is an absolute challenge for the management team!

We hope you can return a third time!

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    283
    150
    66
    43
See reviews for
196
300
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We saw the rather mixed reviews, but we found this place great for us. Perfect location, Close to town and we used orca dive centre which is on the beach right out front. Bungalow rooms were spacious, cleaned daily and were refreshed with 4 litres of water each day in the fridge. More water was available when asked for. There was always a variety of food on at meal times and we always found something we liked. Not many Brits there, staff friendly and helpful. Entertainment a bit cheesy at times, if that is important, but we did find ourselves strangely drawn to it more than once. I would class this as a good 3 star resort type hotel, and on this basis 4/5 from us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Hope you can return to this beautiful island and to our lovely hotel!

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Great hotel, right on the beach with with plenty of beds both at the beach and round the pool. Great diving with Orca, less than five minutes from our room. The buffet was basic, but very tasty and had a wide seletion and the a la carte restaurant was fantastic. Very friendly staff, always willing to help and very receptive to requests. Would recomend Hotel Oasis Belorizonte to anyone comng to Cape Verde.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the message.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend us to your friends!

Please return soon!

Regards,

CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were dreading going to this hotel after reading the terrible reviews, but were pleasantly surprised, our bungalow room was spotless and cleaned every day, and very quiet as we were away from the restaurants and entertainment area. The gardens and pool areas and sunbeds etc were cleaned every day. The staff were very polite and friendly and the entertainments team worked very hard. The food was very good, plenty of variety, the fish was excellent. A good holiday and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your message.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, our services and staff. Thank you for recommending us.

We hope you can return soon!

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

“worst resort ever!!!”

Absolute worst resort ever. Just got back and it was all in all a horrible experience. , the rooms were small, dirty, everywhere and the shower could not even keep a steady temperature. We were there for 7 days and our room was cleaned once!! they limit you to one bottle of water per day per room anything more !! None of the hotel staff spoke a lick of english and were horribly rude! I had a waiter YELL at me because he brought me the wrong food and I politely told him this is not what I ordered.
The food was fine,The buffets have good variety, pools are good; Despite troubles beach and beautiful.-
honestly the problem is the management and Manager

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your message. First let me just say that we were glad you enjoyed our food, buffets and our location.

However we deeply regret that you dind`t like your room. We have been remodelling all our bungalows and we will continue to do so, as we know that being near the sea, we have to constantly invest in a good maintenance.

We are surprised about your comments regarding our staff, because we don`t consider them to be rude and they understand and speak English.

Nevertheless, we will take your notes under consideration in order to continue our work and effort to improve our service / product.

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cerney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I could go on forever but the review below says it all. Dont do as I did and think 'There's always someone who moans', it can't be that bad. Believe me it is! The terrible reviews regarding this hotel are all true and if it's your first CV experience it'll probably be your last if you stay here. I think the people that have said they liked it must have been on drugs or been bribed by the management! I cant for the life of me think of any other reason!

In summary the complaints are as follows:

• The food was disgusting and everything was warm. Including what should be cold!
• Many guests suffering from diarrhoea.
• When the food ran out it wasn't replaced
• Serious Health & Safety issues – The felling of palms, lack of hazard warning signs.
• Most of the drink machines didn’t work.
• Lack of plates, cutlery, glasses etc. It was a fight to get anything.
• Only one bar staff on at a time when there’d be loads of people in the queue.
• There was a nasty smell from the drains.
• The ONLY toaster didn’t actually toast.
• Ice cream hidden away and under lock & key.
• Very inefficient, slow and unfriendly staff.
• €30 deposit for beach towels and TV remote.
• There were three restaurants but you could only eat in one unless you booked
• Complete disorganisation, lack of basic equipment and poorly trained staff.
• €30 fine if you were caught taking food or drink back to your room

I've heard that Thompson are considering withdrawing this hotel from their books. They need to, and soon, because it's really not a nice experience and cant being doing the TUI rep much good!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
We deeply regret that you didn`like your stay. Like any hotel we have good and bad reviews, and we always take our client `s comments under consideration in order to improve our service.

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We arrived at the Belorozonte Hotel by minibus, 6 of us checking in at the one time. The Belorozonte and Novorozonte are also known as Oasis Atlantico and are all based on the one site and share restaurants and facilities. There were 5 or 6 staff behind reception and, while they were all very pleasant, the process took quite a while. We were then asked for €30 deposit for the TV remote control and the beach towels. The staff appeared to be constantly searching for something, either in drawers or in the office, the whole process appeared to be very dis-organised, not at all slick as with other hotels we have stayed at on Sal. We eventually made it to our room and noted the faint whiff of the sewers that appears to be everywhere around this hotel, in your room, around the pools along the paths etc.
When we were checking in, we didn’t ask about the safe as we assumed this would be available in the room, as in any other hotel we have stayed in on Sal. WRONG. Back to reception to ask for a key (you have to pay for the safe at this hotel), but was told, after much searching and muttering by the staff, that there wasn’t one available and could I call back later. Calling back later, we were told that we would need to wait until someone checked out the next day – thought I had mis-heard that one! So nowhere to keep our passports and credit cards safe. Next day, back to reception and was told ‘to come back later’, this happened a couple of times until (obviously someone escaped from the hotel) a key was available. We were handed a key and barrel lock, and headed back to our rooms to lock our passports away, or so we thought. Nowhere to fit the barrel into the safe, so we asked a maintenance guy who, luckily, was walking past our room, and he came in to help. He soon discovered that our safe did not need a barrel and key, just someone to come round with a master key to open it to let us set our own code – something that could have been done the previous day.
As there is no ‘welcome’ drink waiting at this hotel, we were gasping, so made a beeline for the pool bar. We attempted to order a couple of drinks, but the girl told us the bar was closing so she couldn’t make any cocktails, the only thing she could serve us was beer – and she only had one half pint beer glass. After a search, she found another glass, washed it and served another beer. I’m not usually keen on beer, but as we were gasping and there was nothing else (the pool water was beginning to look appealing) we gladly downed the beer.
Back to the room to unpack, the room was basic and appeared to be clean and comfortable enough – we were staying in the main hotel block – but there were a lack of sockets and the bedside lights did not work.
The bathroom has the usual wash basin, toilet, bidet plus bath with shower over the bath – this could be a problem for someone with limited mobility. The bath was also extremely slippy although a bath mat was provided. The shower was a power shower, but this means it sucks the shower curtain in and it will attack you – yuk. The bathroom floor filled with water although there is a drain to take the water away. Unfortunately the floor sloped away from the drain so you could end up with approx 2 inches of water in the corner, just under where the hairdryer has been fixed above the vanity unit. Now I can’t speak for anyone else, but I don’t fancy standing in 2 inches of water to blow dry my hair with an appliance that uses 220 volts. Back to the bedroom then, luckily I had brought my own hairdryer, but the lack of working sockets meant I had to crawl under the dresser to plug it in – not very convenient.
Ok, so it is the first day and the Cape Verdean motto is ‘no stress’, so we head over to the bar beside the main restaurant. There were long queues, and only one girl serving (poor girl, with no help), so we eventually got our drinks (order more than one to avoid the long queues and keep you going) and sat down to relax. We noticed a lot of people hovering around and, when the restaurant doors opened, it was like the first day of the sales where everything was drastically reduced – a mad scrum to get in to the restaurant. We hadn’t experienced this at any of the other hotels, so were quite bemused by it all and sat on to enjoy our drinks. However, when we did eventually go in to the restaurant, we soon discovered the reason for the mad scrum. Again, long queues up to the self service area, you queue for the salad / cold starters, but this queue also runs to the hot food. I say ‘hot’, the food was anything but hot. At best, warm – a recipe for food poisoning, beware, and we met quite a few people who had seen far too much of their bathrooms!
The food was lined up in silver catering trays, like the ones you see in hospitals, and was mostly unrecognisable. Also when it was gone, it was gone. Now I know some people say that this is Cape Verdean food and this is what you should expect, but they have obviously never stayed at some of the excellent hotels on Sal that do serve piping hot fresh food, Cape Verdean and others. The desserts were also sitting on a display around a pillar, not on a chiller as we would have expected – again an invitation to spend your holiday in the bathroom. We have never seen so poor standards in a hotel on Sal.
Breakfast was another challenge in this hotel. Again, very long queues, hunt the plate / bowl and cutlery and, if you were not down very early, very little food left sitting out which was, at best, warm. The layout is very disorganised, plates were half way down the self service area, not at the start of the food as you would expect. The toasters became a great talking point of our holiday. The first morning, we encountered very long queues for the one toaster in the restaurant. Only half of the machine worked and even with that, you still had to turn the toast over. This toaster didn’t look as if it had been cleaned for some time. Some friends told us there was a pop up toaster in the second restaurant, at the Novorozonte, so we headed there the next morning. Yes, there was a 4-slice toaster, but it was broken. Then I spotted one of those toasters where you put your toast in and it goes around the machine to toast. I was getting really excited now at the thought of fresh toast, so I put my 2 slices in the machine and waited… put them through again and waited… and again… and again… 6 times the toast went through the machine and it came out barely warm and showing no signs of changing colour!!! At this point, I, and a number of other guests, gave up. Guess it wasn’t to be. Oh well, back to the bread rolls again!
There were 3 coffee machines, one did not work, one hissed and spat black coffee at you, but the 3rd one did work, although the queue was usually the length of the restaurant.
There are 2 ‘speciality’ restaurants and, on check-in, you are given a voucher to enable you to eat at one of these restaurants once a week. It is not worth the effort, same food, and same temperature. The hotel also holds a BBQ once a week and they shut all the restaurants and move all the tables and chairs outside. You need to hope for a warm evening, as the food still comes out of the kitchen cold. You also have long queues to contend with, as is usual here. One guest queued for 10 minutes hoping for some hot chicken, waiting patiently beside the table and was the first to lift a few pieces when it was brought out in the usual catering tray. Not worth the wait – it was barely warm! Even with the BBQ, still no smell of food cooking, we were convinced the food was prepared elsewhere and brought in as you could smell the food at any other hotel we have stayed in, not in this one.
Thankfully we survived by starving or eating bread rolls or potatoes, we ended up having to eat out in Santa Maria itself which, luckily, is only 5 minutes walk to bars and restaurants.
There were also a lot of cats walking / lying around this hotel. They were all very skinny and looked undernourished but, strangely, refused any food that guests tried to give them – think it says it all when even the cats won’t eat the food!
We did discover a proper coffee machine where you could order whatever coffee you wanted, and it was quite drinkable. However, it was always interesting to see what the coffee would be served in. We were sitting with some friends and ordered 4 coffees – one was served in an espresso cup (it wasn’t an espresso!), one in a tall glass, one in a half pint beer glass, but the last one did, at least, arrive in a proper cup. The next day we got 4 coffees, each served in a half pint beer glass.
While chatting and sipping our coffees, we discovered where the hotel had hidden the ice cream. It was kept in a freezer behind the door at the entrance to the middle restaurant, just one tub, and the freezer was padlocked! You had to ask a member of staff to get someone to open the padlock to get a scoop or two.
The beach is, as always, beautiful although the sea can be rough. We discovered that quite a few of the sun beds were broken, so if you sat on one, you practically sank into the sand. The beach bar had plenty of seats, so you could sip a drink and watch the world go by. Leave plenty of time to queue for your drink though, again long queues and one person serving. There were 3 staff at the bar but one was washing glasses, one was slicing lemons – very carefully and slowly – and one serving. We ordered 3 different drinks (trying to work our way through the short menu), they arrived, all different colours, but all tasted the same, like watered down cordial. Not worth waiting for. The drinks in the bars within the complex definitely have a bit more flavour.
If you do risk staying here, read the welcome pack carefully. The hotel states they will charge you €30 if you bring food or drink back to your room. This was something new to us, as the other hotels have no objection to you bringing snacks or drinks back to your room.
Luckily the hotel is located just about 5 minutes walk from the town (Santa Maria) where there are a variety of bars and restaurants, and even an ice cream parlour one street back from the beach. The town can be accessed by walking along the promenade by the beach, or the main road – which is currently being upgraded to what appears to be a dual carriageway. Be aware that you may be approached and asked to ‘come and look at my shop’. A firm ‘no thank you’ and keep walking, minimising eye contact, usually does the trick, we were only approached twice and they didn’t really try very hard. However we did hear of one family that were harassed, apparently they had a ‘free gift’ for the child, and the couple then felt obliged to go with them to their shop, but once inside, the pressure was on to buy something. You don’t have to go with them so, unless you really want to, don’t! The Cape Verdean people are lovely and do take no for an answer, we were told it was usually the Senegalese that were aggressive and demanded you buy something from their shop. Don’t be put off walking around Santa Maria though, just be firm and you shouldn’t have any problems.
If you are bringing a credit card with you, be aware that Maestro / MasterCard hasn’t really reached CV yet, even in the banks, despite the sign showing on cash machines. Bring your Visa card if you think you will need a credit card.
In theory, if you are staying at a good All Inclusive hotel, you really shouldn’t need money. Unfortunately this is not a good AI hotel! Rumour has it that the tour company are considering whether to keep this hotel as an option for UK travellers as there have been so many complaints. Oddly, I was told they were keeping it on for holidaymakers from the Nordic countries. Certainly this hotel is not doing any favours for Cape Verde and the tourism there, holidaymakers we spoke to said they just wouldn’t come back again. Friends we met said the same thing until we were all moved to another hotel and, when they saw the difference in standards i.e. food freshly cooked by chefs and piping hot, range of desserts set out on a chiller, toasters that worked, not to mention no shortages of cutlery / cups / glasses etc. It was only when we moved hotel that I realised we had never experienced the smell of food cooking at the Belorozonte, never mind spotting a chef, maybe it was all brought in which would explain the tepid temperature.
We were lucky enough to be moved to another hotel and, when we were escaping (checking out), a guy from Customer Relations came to speak to 4 of us. He made a list of the issues (an A4 page), but I have since heard, from other holidaymakers, that nothing has changed at this hotel. I guess if you don’t expect too much and have a strong constitution, you could stay here quite happily, but if you have higher standards and like decent food served at the proper temperature, then look further up the list of hotels on Sal. This hotel is not like any we have stayed at before on Sal and we certainly won’t be back to it.
Just posting this write-up to let others know what they are letting themselves in for, if they book in to this hotel. We will now sit back and await the ‘bog standard’ (pardon the pun!) response from the hotel CRM Manager who will thank us for our message, consider our complaints etc and no doubt do absolutely nothing about it, as long as people are still booking in to this hotel.
PS I understand some pharmacies have a ‘BOGOF’ offer on Imodium – sorry, I’m on a (bog) roll here!!!

Room Tip: A couple who were staying in one of the wooden huts told us you could hear through the walls! Also s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review and by answering, you know for sure that we received your feedback.
We do think that it is important to receive all our client`s feedbacks - the good ones and the bad ones and we assure that we do analyse all suggestions / comments from our guests.

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oasis Belorizonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis Belorizonte

Address: C.P. 63, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 63, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oasis Belorizonte 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the white sand beach of the Santa Maria beach, bathed by a calm, turquoise, crystal water sea stands the hotel Oasis Atlantico Belorizonte. Being in first line on the beach, this is the ideal place for those who look to rest from the daily stress and who try to enjoy some relaxing holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Oasis Belorizonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Belorizonte Hotel
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.