We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous hotel. Quiet, clean, the staff can't do enough for you.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dunas de Sal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dunas de Sal to your Saves list
Hotel Dunas de Sal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponta Preta | Caixa Postal 12, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Santa Maria
Surrey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“What a fabulous hotel. Quiet, clean, the staff can't do enough for you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I have just spent two weeks staying at Dunas and absolutely loved it. It is a small, extremely quiet, minimalist hotel. It is a short walk into Santa Maria and a stones throw from exquisite beaches. The staff couldn't do enough for everyone staying here. Kept clean through and the food was excellent. I just loved it.

The dive centre on site is great too - convenient, clean and amazing diving and staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    59
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
63
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbra, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We love this beautiful and quiet hotel. The environment is ideal for relaxing rest. The food is fabulous especially the fish. The staff is very helpful. The service excellent. The only downside is the road between the hotel and the beach . That was awful, the smell of sewage was abundant, and conveyed us some insecurity. This leads us not to choose this hotel again. We went to the town center on foot at night and was a great adventure, there is no street lighting so it is very difficult to walk. For the return we decided to take a taxi. If the structures outside of this hotel were improved this would be our choice. It would be a good investment to build a good beach access. We will come back if that happens!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

It is a modern minimalist hotel, everything is comfortable, most serving staff are very nice, including room staff. The only problem I have is with the Food and Beverage Service, first the food is uber boring. The menu is the same regardless what meal of the day it is. I had a fish dish one night and was sick like hell the next day, complained to front desk and left comment with General Manager. The General Manager do not even come to apologize or investigate. May be one can go and stay there, but whatever you do, DO NOT EAT THERE.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

I stayed here for 10 days while in Sal on business, and found the accomodation to be nice, clean and comfortable. All rooms have an outside seating area and look onto a fab pool surrounded by date palms. I had the pool to myself a lot of the time.
Only a couple of mins walk to the beach (go down the lane by the side of the Djadsal holiday club) then a path runs into the town which is about a 10-15 minute walk.
Breakfasts in the hotel were not that good, but I am not a breakfast person so i wasn't worried. Ate in the hotel only once and it was fine, but a better choice of food at the restaurants in town.
Don't go in September if you want wall to wall sunshine - it rained lots and the road outside the hotel was flooded for 4 days!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthWest England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

The Hotel is very relaxed with very reserved gentle staff, who are only to willing to help in any way if you just ask. The Hotel is a 10 minute walk from Santa Maria centre... which I enjoyed wether walking into town in the morning or walking back from in the evening after a few beers... The restaurant in the hotel is ok but i would recomend eating in town - D'Angelos or D'angelas in town is by far the most reasonably priced and the best with live music and fresh fish served daily and is the choice of most locals and alot cheaper than the tourist restaurants. Great service and great food ! The best bar in town has to be Tam Tam run by Kieron and Amy (an Irish couple) who will make you feel at home from the moment you walk in - It has a lovely friendly atmosphere... Fantastic bar run by a fantastic couple !
Another great restaurant although more expensive (still not pricey) is Funana in the main square which is well run with great live local music ... Here I would recomend the mixed salad - lovely delicate fresh salad well presented...mmm which would accompany a number of their main dishes or is great on its own as a snack/light lunch.
I travelled here on my own and met some great people and had a great holiday... Walking around the island on my own i never had any problems - you do get pestered by the souvenir sellers trying to sell you a necklace or a wooden turtle etc - but just be firm/polite with them and tell them you are not interested and they soon leave you alone (till you next walk by) but it is no worse than some of the other countries i have visited.
I was very pleased with my choice of hotel as it was a real tranquil haven and alot smaller than most of the other hotels... it seems to attract the quieter and more relaxed/polite holiday makers who like me were just after a quiet break or wish to partake in water sports. The hotel is not one for evening entertainment etc although it does have a bar but most people staying here like myself would generally go into town in the evening and then come back to a nice quiet hotel. Santa Maria and Sal in general is not for party people but for those looking to partake in water sports or those wishing for a chilled no frills break/romantic getaway...
I have to say i have travelled all over the world pretty much and i am still not sure why but I absolutely LOVED this place and had one of the best holidays ever.... I WILL DEFINATELY BE RETURNING !

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Nice, clean, comfortable and quiet small hotel, maybe the best choice to stay in Sal, avoiding the crowds of the other hotels. The restaurant is excellent, but definitely the portions could be more substantives. Staff professional and very well directed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Maybe not worth a 4 star, but definitely a good 3 start hotel.
The hotel is well located, 15 minutes walk from the 'center", which makes a nice walk by the beach. What we especially liked was the dive center. Joao, the owner is an extremely nice guy and a very good instructe,, I highly recommend this diving center . We also apprecitated that the hotel was so clean and so quiet. It has a wonderful pool and the whole athmospIhere is very relaxing. was not impressed by the restaurant, but there are so many onderful restaurants in Santa Maria that this was ok.
If you like a quiet environment, no screaming kids, no loud drunk tourists, this is a good place!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dunas de Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas de Sal

Address: Ponta Preta | Caixa Postal 12, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dunas de Sal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dunas de Sal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas De Sal Hotel
Hotel Dunas De Sal Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dunas de Sal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.