We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LEAN, QUIET..:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dunas de Sal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dunas de Sal to your Saves list
Hotel Dunas de Sal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponta Preta | Caixa Postal 12, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Santa Maria
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“LEAN, QUIET..:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent location nearby the sea..no sea view...but very lean..design hotel.
Very nice staff, great breakfast,and the food is very tasty.
It's a hotel to couples or to rest, no noise, quiet pool...
Near Santa Maria, 15 minutes walk.
Very good price/quality.

Room Tip: No need to ask sea view, as there is almost none; but, if you can, reserev one of these with "s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunas_de_Sal, General Manager at Hotel Dunas de Sal, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear FernandoFMatos,

Thank you for taking your time to write about Hotel Dunas de Sal on Tripadvisor. Your willingness to share your thoughts is genuinely appreciated.

Our team is committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and we delighted to read your review about our team, breakfast and food quality.
Thank you once again for your message and we look forward to your next visit to Hotel Dunas De Sal.

Best regards,
Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    59
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
63
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

In Santa Maria, Isla de Sal, Cabo Verde, probably the best place for kitesurfing during the month of February, it is not easy to find a Hotel that is not massive being good. Dunas de Sal, is not a sea front, but is very near and you see the sea from most of the rooms. The place is nice, well kept, and with a "charm" that the others are lacking. All the staff is friendly and very helpful, except for one of the reception managers named Paula Cabral, that not only lie to us about when the rooms where to be occupied but make us leave at 12:00 sharp, and ask us for the full payment immediately, even when we wear leaving all our luggage in the hotel while we went to kitesurf for the day. She make us look as if we where going to leave, not paying the 170 US Dollars we still own them when we checked out, she probably thought we where leaving behind Ipad, computer, 1 kitesurf board, 2 pieces of luggage etc that we have deposited on the Hotel storage room. Other than this person, the staff is great, especially Vanda Brito, Assistant Manager, that really helped me with with some documents I needed to send, and it was impossible to do so, in Santa Maria.
The swimming pool and garden are beautiful to relax after a day in kite beach.

Room Tip: If you are a kitesurfer, ground floor will be your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai bridge
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Dunas de Sal for 7 nights in early January. The hotel was spotless, indeed the pool cleaner had some sort of obsessive compulsive disorder, and seemed horrified when a leaf sullied his pool! Similarly, the room was spotless. However, into every life a drop of rain must fall, and it certainly did- in buckets! We had paid in advance for full board, but unfortunately, except for breakfast (which was acceptable), the food - and we use the definition loosely, was inedible. Indeed it was difficult to work out whether it was animal, vegetable or mineral. The full board menu consisted of two options, which didn't alter between lunch and dinner, although it soon became apparent that it didn't matter anyway. Food was invariably cooked to the point of elemental reconstitution, and this was reflected in our observation of a deserted restaurant after 2 days... Waiting staff were consistently pleasant, but unfortunately this was little consolation when the chef was in breach of any trade descriptions act that we are aware of! In fairness, the 'standard' of food offered was not entirely inconsistent with that available beyond the confines of the hotel, which was generally diabolical, with few exceptions. Its an awful long way to travel to eat pizza, which ended up being our salvation. How baffling is it that an island which boasts some of the best fishing in the Atlantic is unable to provide fresh produce from this seemingly inexhaustible resource?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

To put is first: I do recommend this hotel, although my review may not start like this ...

Horror on reservation:
I did my reservation at their homepage and found a suitable slot of 2 weeks availability, so I did my reservation online. No response for 4 days, so I was pretty uncertain whether I should book my flight, then received a mail, that hotel was fully booked. So I asked what was their earliest availability, again no response for 4 days. After that the manager finally suggested a date, so we agreed on a 2 weeks stay and I booked my flight. 1 day before departure I received a mail from the manager, stating my reservation failed due to an IT-problem (well, after my communication experiences so far, I guess it was more sort of a PEBKAC issue) and they moved me for some days to another hotel (see my review on Hotel Sabura).

Well, before getting to the more positive aspects, 2 other organizational matters:
For pool towels you have to pay 15 Euro cash for deposit, you can't just sign for it, so don't forget your cash before you go to the pool.
For using the Safe in your room you have to pay 10 euros (its a charge, not a deposit)

Now, finally, the positive things:
The pool area is just great, spacious, nicely planted with trees and bushes, nice rectangular pool (at least nice for me, as I like swimming, so I hate fancy shaped pools).
Really nice building layout.

My room (202) was pretty small (couldn't get a junior suite as the hotel was permanently fully booked), only 1 tiny wash basin fitting for a prison cell, toilet and shower were okay.
Mini bar well filled, shower gel available (unlike the hotel I stayed before)

Beach just 5 minutes walk, no problem at all - hotel providing deck chairs on the beach.

Very clean and well maintained, lots of staff all around and very friendly. Nice breakfast buffet.

A really great dinner kitchen ! Nice to sit outside and enjoy one of the best dinner meals I had since long (I tried 4 course sea food) - you should not miss this !!

So, despite my review's start - it's a recommendation !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in Dunas de Sal for 2 nights.

What we liked :

- quiet hotel with nice pool area
- good meals and very good breakfast buffet
- efficient staff

What we liked a bit less

- rooms are a bit worn down, could do with a refreshment
- have to pay extra for safe, wifi (bit weird for a 4* hotel)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I recently stayed at the Dunas De Sal hotel and was very impressed with the hotel. It is about 10 minutes walk from Santa Maria so you are far enough out of the (small) town that the hotel has a very private feeling about it. The hotel is only 2 stories and all rooms face into the swimming pool which is very well maintained. The room that we stayed in was very clean and the maid service was excelent,the room had air conditioning, and a safe. We ate at the Restruant and found the food to be very tasty and the service within all areas of the hotel was excelent. The beach was only about 5 minutes walk and when we went to Santa Maria most nights the taxi back was only 3 euros. The areas around the Hotel is being developed so you can see some building and some areas that are still vacant but this does not impact at all on the hotel as you can walk past these areas in a matter of minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Dunas de Sal is a very good hotel and fully satisfies the requirements of a 4 star hotel. The personal was very friendly, smiling and ready to answer any question you could ask.
The hotel is located around 10 walking minutes away from Santa Maria (thanks god since there are less locals trying to sell you all those souvenirs 5 times more expensive than they are) and can offer you everything you need. You even dont need to walk to the city. Its also located close to a road construction but it didnt bother us at all.
Food is excellent and european style and after having our dinner at several restaurants on the island we came to the opinion that its better to pay a bit more but get perfectly prepared food with a big choice of vegetables on your plate. Maximum what you could get at any other restaurant is a piece of tomato, some corn and probably stomach problems on the next day.
Our room was cleaned every day and had a conditioner, we also had a big private balcony only for ourselves.
Calls from a hotel room are extremely expensive so in case you want to call somethere its better to get a prepaid card in the city!
Internet is also quiet expensive on the island.
Hotel also offers free yoga and aerobic classes on the evenings and those have been good!
So...it is a very very good hotel and we would book it with a big pleasure again.
PS Be careful when buying any souvenirs. Try to buy them from locals and not from senegalis. Price of a sand picture is max 3 euros but not 20! the same for any other wooden stuff. Dont wear your hotel hand bands in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dunas de Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas de Sal

Address: Ponta Preta | Caixa Postal 12, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dunas de Sal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dunas de Sal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas De Sal Hotel
Hotel Dunas De Sal Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dunas de Sal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.