We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place at great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morabeza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Morabeza to your Saves list
Hotel Morabeza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ilha Do Sal | Caixa Postal 33, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Santa Maria
Europe
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place at great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We arrived very late and had a quick and efficient check-in. The hotel is located on a very nice beach close to the center of Santa Marta. So you have both, a quiet beach if you walk 100 meters(and onwards) to the right, and a busy beach with a jetty, restaurants/bars and lots of nice locals 100 meters to the left. Good swimming opportunities!
The room was very nice, very clean and quiet, and had good seaview.
Service was very friendly all over, reception, restaurants, pool bar and everywhere else.
Breakfast was however poor and uninspired in selection/choices, like e. g. bad canned juices only, no real espresso coffee, only 2 types of mediocre cheese, all somewhat uninspired. However, one has to say that this may all be due to the fact that the hotel was by far not fully booked.
Food at the beach club restaurant (open for lunch only) was excellent in choice and taste, the only other restaurant offered an international cuisine, which was ok. But who wants to eat Thai or Indian food in Cabo Verde?
We rated the service not with 5, but only 4 points for two reasons:
1. The beach Club was totally under-staffed for lunch. The waiters worked very hard, but could hardly cope with the number of guests. They however tried to cover up by being really friendly.
2. The reception staff was actually very friendly and efficient, but had the bad habit of answering the phone while talking to you as a guest, e. g. checking you in/out. I know this happens in other places too, but it is impolite to answer the phone while talking to a guest, sort of ignoring the guest.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    109
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
59
199
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just back from 2 week stay here.
Told that this was the only place to stay for a "No Stress " stay .
Our room in exec block was amazing superb sea view and so quiet.
Hotel staff so friendly .
Everybody had smile on face.
Hotel is superb and if you get chance go there asap

Room Tip: If you are able to book go for 631 suite is huge and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My partner and I stayed in this hotel last year. We thought it would be the only hotel in Sal (Cape Verde) where we would be able to rest and enjoy the beautiful setting. It was so. This year, for the first time, we went to the same country and the same hotel. That about says it all. Never in my life have I chosen where to go ob holidays because of the hotel! Of course, Sal has 5 stars, all-inclusive, resorts, where people struggle to get a sunbed and line up to eat all day. 1000 to 2000 bedrooms?!!! How can you rest? Morabeza has lovely gardens, no high buildings (I think the highest has two levels) and the amount of outdoor space is amazing. I do not know how they do it, but everything is so well taken care for. The gardens, the rooms, the lovely, peaceful restaurant and bar! But, most of all, the staff (which works there for years - some, decades!) is so friendly and efficient! From the maid to the PR, they make you feel at home. I would not recommend any hotel in the world more than this one. It is a 4 star, but luxury is in small details: 3 peaceful pools, the sea just across the sidewalk, no big walls to prevent you from enjoying both the sea and the bar, the pool, the garden. It is worth every penny. You will be friends with the staff when you leave, and if you go back, they will remember you. A wooden décor, in sunbeds, tables, etc. makes it so different from "plastic" resorts!
Jorge, Djon, Odete, Joana, and so many other members of staff, will be missed. I hope I can go there again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Go for the executive rooms, with private pool, for those in that corner. Children are advised to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

After initially being allocated a room that wasn't what we booked, things looked up. We had a sea view with a great view of the beach, which offers great people watching opportunities as the locals tend to congregate there in the early evening. None of the restaurants offer particularly good value, but the quality of the food is good. Staff can be a bit off hand but there are exceptions such as the guy on reception and a lady called Emma, both of whom were very helpful.

This hotel is far better than the concrete compounds that are springing up all over the island and which threaten to spoil the area.

Do not be afraid to venture out of the hotel, the local people are friendly, although the lucky lucky men can be a bit of an irritation.

So whilst a bit pricey, particularly the wifi that rarely worked properly, and was painfully slow when it did, this is by far the best hotel on the island.

Room Tip: Request a sea view, garden view rooms look on to the back of the sea view block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

exposure to the see is excellent, must have one of the longest stretches of beach for a hotel. facing south west.
restaurant on 1st floor is very good. prices are correct.
restaurant/buffet on ground level is quite expensive and doesn't bring any surprises. rather deceiving.
rooms are clean, with enough space, clean big nice bath room. have had upper floor in new building and ground floor basic room. all are very good in price quality ratio.
breakfast is good+, nice buffet but food quality is just good.
nice bar too on 1st floor.
and up and above, the staff is most helpful, will do everything to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: ground floor is better than expected, and very easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I generally though this was a lovely place. We've been staying here on two separate occasions, and it enjoyed it both times. It has a reasonably high standard but still retains a familial feel, which, together with its great location, is one of the main reasons why we came back. I must agree with some prevs reviws that the food wasn't outstanding value for money, but there's good places around to go out in the evenings - personally we preferred that anyways. I didn't give 5 stars because on the second stay I felt the staff could have been friendlier/generally more forthcoming. However overall enjoyed it and would be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at the Morabeza for a week B&B with our five year old in early April. Having never been to the hotel or for that matter to Cape Verde before, we weren't sure what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised on all fronts. The setting of the hotel is fantastic - it's grown from a private 1960s holiday home to a large hotel with three pools and several bars and restaurants, but thanks to good design, a gorgeous, verdant setting right by the beach and friendly staff it still has a nice, personal feel about it. Nothing like some of the sprawling complexes further up the beach. Our family suite in the old part of the hotel was a good size and clean. The daily breakfast buffet was superb and in a great setting. When we first arrived it was very windy and quite cloudy - too cold for the pools - but by the end of the week it was much sunnier. The town of Santa Maria was great for bars, shops and restaurants - I recommend OCaranguejo and Genuine Cape Verde. All in all had a fantastic week at the Morabeza and would definitely return again for a relaxing and interesting week in the sun.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Morabeza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morabeza

Address: Ilha Do Sal | Caixa Postal 33, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morabeza 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morabeza We are located on the beautiful Santa Maria Beach on the southern most part of the island of Sal, Cabo Verde. We are confident that you will find your stay at our hotel to be a most enjoyable and memorable one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Morabeza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morabeza Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Morabeza Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morabeza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.