We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morabeza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Morabeza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Morabeza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ilha Do Sal | Caixa Postal 33, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Santa Maria
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

When we went to Sal ( name of the island where Morabeza is situated) we werent sure if we were going to le it. But we really loved the pace. And the hotel was great! The location is perfect, the beach is next to it. The staff is extremely friendly. Our friends had a child and sent him to Kids Club. The woman who was in charge played hours with him although he was the only one there!
we went to yoga classes.Really great! and show programm on saturday was also good (and bufet was delicious). Tennis is free!
we ate at different restaurants at santa maria and really enjoyed it. but it is not cheap, be aware.
the oly sad thing is cucarachas. be ready to meet one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    93
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
50
174
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent over one week in this hotel and decided to stay over for another couple of nights. This is absolutely one of the best hotels I've ever been to. The cleanliness is extraordinary, the staff deeply cleaned the room every morning; the facilities are amazing, we had a swimming pool almost for our own; the staff is really nice and competent, one of the best hotel staff ever; the food is high quality. I absolutely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

In my opinion, only Odjo d'Agua can compete with Morabeza in terms of location along Santa Maria beach. And I have to say, the beach and the surroundings are like paradise! The rooms was satisfactory, however, I must say that this hotel is NOT for families traveling with small kids, as we did. The pool area was small and not child friendly. It also needs some attention as it seemed quite old. There were no playgrounds except the beach of curse. The breakfast buffet was nice and had "what you need", but not even close to what you get at Riu for example.

All in all, a very nice hotel for couples and adults. If you are traveling with children however, you might want to consider other options.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Morabeza in Cape Verde. We arranged the holiday with 'Captivating Cape Verde' and from day one, back in January, the whole experience was stress free. Shirley and Sharon couldn't have been more helpful, answering even the silliest of queries. On arrival we found that the hotel was all we'd been promised and more. We had an executive room and the swimming pool outside our room was always quiet with plenty of sun loungers. The beach was just a stone's throw away and the sea beautifully clear and easily warm enough to swim in. The service and facilities in the hotel were excellent. We were on 'Bon Appetit' board basis and the three meals at the hotel were very good. We also had several lunches at the beach bar and would definitely recommend the cocktails at 'Happy Hour' in the hotel's bar which also offered entertainment on some evenings!
All in all, a great holiday in a lovely location!

Room Tip: The executive room was definitely worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Vilbel, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel has lain in perfect situation of the resort Santa Maria. Short way about the pedestrian's promenade to the beach with superfine sand and turquoise-coloured crystal-clear water.
Hotel rooms are perfect. The service is very friendly and helpful. A room is to be recommended in the upper floor in the main house, there one has a very nice view to the sea and the sun does not burn too strongly.

Room Tip: Take a room in upper floor of main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a holiday in Cape Verde and stopped in the Hotel Morabeza. A lovely hotel right next to the beach and near to the town inself. The hotel is immaculate and very well maintained and was a perfect choice for a lovely holiday and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to stop at.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just got back from a relaxing week in The Morabeza with our two teenaged daughters. The hotel is comfortable and in a great location next to the beach and town. We had two standard rooms in the family block which were clean and spacious if a little dated but that was compensated by the great service and friendly nature of everyone working there. The hotel seems to really care about its employees, with many having worked there most of their lives. On an island that has virtually no rainfall it was good to know the hotel was producing its own water supply not depleting the local population's as well as generating all its own electricity from solar panels.
The pool was great, not too crowded, sheltered from the strong winds and had plenty of sun loungers. The games room had two snooker tables card tables and table tennis and prooved a great diversion in the evening. The beach club was ideal for lunches and snacks and the bars restaurants all had good service and a good food. We ate out most evenings as it was fun to walk around the streets and try different restaurants. We found the food slightly cheaper in town and never had a bad meal.
The only down side for us was the charge for using the internet and the sun loungers on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Morabeza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morabeza

Address: Ilha Do Sal | Caixa Postal 33, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morabeza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morabeza We are located on the beautiful Santa Maria Beach on the southern most part of the island of Sal, Cabo Verde. We are confident that you will find your stay at our hotel to be a most enjoyable and memorable one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Morabeza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morabeza Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Morabeza Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morabeza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.