We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Funana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Funana to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Funana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cabocan Lote A2, A3, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Santa Maria
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Having stayed at the Garopa three years ago with my wife we had an idea what to expect, but this time we had our two year old granddaughter with us .Its seems that Thomson have removed some seats from there flight, still a bit cramped when your 6-5" but better than it was.Room very clean and fairly spacious in block 4 which over looked the beach and a beautiful sun set every evening, overall the food in the main restaurant was ok if not a bit plan, choice for children could be better has pizza or pasta wears a bit thin.Had a couple of trips into Santa Maria, you get hassled a bit by the street sealers and shop owners but a polite no thanks was enough. It was a good relaxing weeks break ,on the beach and around the pool was fine. the entertainment is a bit samey but ok and they do work very hard,the childrens area could do with some money being spent, it has a swing missing, the younger ones slides was just a climbing frame because the slides were missing and is an accident waiting to happen?But cant wait to go again, well done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    849
    286
    102
    50
See reviews for
526
1,135
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I read so many reviews regarding recent visits to Sal Cape Verde I sometimes wonder what do these people expect from a holiday. Comments like, mouldy smells, cockroaches, weak drinks, repetitious food etc etc, I thought the hotel was excellent, Food was very good, never have I eaten so many prawns in a two week period before. The Theme resteraunts were excellent, especially the Asian which we went to on three occasions. Service was excellent, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The animation team was the best I have seen anywhere, and the amount of work they did, to keep people entertained was staggering, I just don't know where they got their energy from. Nice to have a room safe that didn't cost you £40 - it was FREE!!
The trips were well organised especially the tour of the island by mini bus. The guide was very
good and never failed to have an answer to any of the questions asked by the holiday makers.
All in all, a very good holiday which I have no hesitation in recommending to anyone - my only negative comments would be the sea, which can be a little rough and not suitable for small children. The swimming pools (5) were very good and well maintained, and plenty of sunbeds with with plenty of shade if required. There is a Wi-fi room for which there is a small charge, but in Santa Maria in the square in the Ocean 2 Bar there is free Wi-fi. My wife and I are both 75, and we really enjoyed our holiday, including the flight out, sitting in seats with plenty of leg room , but returning we were back to normal seats with normal leg room, but since we are both 5'7".
this wasn't a problem. Well done First Choice

Room Tip: Block 1 if you need to be near the resteraunts but Block 4/5 if you need to be by the pools and also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for a week april11 to 18. The hotel was lovely we stayed in block 3 I had emailed the hotel to ask for an upstairs room and quiet and we got exactly that. Food was good and service. Coffee at breakfast wasn't nice but we waited till after. And sat outside with a coffee from the machine which was lovely and creamy. All the drinks were good if only local but we enjoyed we were also drinking port which we liked. Went on a trip with Thomson round the island which was way overpriced but ok. Entertainment was good dancing live. Bands we used to walk round to the garopa side and go in the smaller entertaiment area they had some ok bands there as well. Took a taxi into Santa Maria twice which was nice you do get hassled just say no thanks and walk on. The wifi was expensive 15 mins for 3 euros. So we used our pay and go vodafone on the mobile Internet for £5 a day which I thought was a better deal than the wifi. Our O2 mobile didn't work at all. I had only one complaint about the room and there was no mattress covers on the beds and the bottom sheet was too small so I knotted each corner to hold it down otherwise you ended up on the bare mattress. ( not nice ). All in all we had a great time and maybe we will return next year.

Room Tip: Block two or three are the best for central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just returned from a week at Riu Funana.

The good...

Hotel was excellent and spotlessly clean.
24 hr all inclusive bar. Drinks were good if you like beer and common spirits.
Pool and beach facilities very good.
Room was pleasant, clean with a sea view!
Weather was great!

The bad...

Nothing about the hotel.
Thomson flights were very poor.
No free coffee or tea with meal!
Outbound flight had limited drinks; return flight had hardly anything! They only stock up outbound. Sal airport had limited food, drinks available and it was a 5.5 hr flight.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

i would ignore every bad review of this hotel. me and my friends had a wondeful time and i loved it that much i wanted to stay! i would reccomened the island tour through gus not thomson as its a lot cheaper and just as good. if you get the chance go to santa maria town and head for the beach. its so calm and you can jump off the pier. couldnt fault a single thing about the hotel. pools were great and food was amazing! i didnt get to try the grill resturant as my friend is a vege but 2 of the lads we made good friends with did and said how amazing it was so im gutted i didnt get to try. the get full quickly though so book straight away. all in all a brilliant holiday!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just back from a two week stay on Sal in the Cape Verde islands and loved it. The hotel is near to Santa Maria which is very small but quite busy. Be prepared for young men to invite you to their "mamma's" shop to which they "escort" you and implore you to buy something to "help them out" the price can be haggled but their "no stress" policy is not always accurate!!!

The Hotel
The Room; spacious, immaculately clean, good shower always hot water. Air con a little noisy if on high. Fridge needed defrosting. Did not use the TV because we were on holiday! the beds were comfy and the room quiet apart from neighbours above and furniture scrapping the floor at times. Towels not so great but hey you get dry.

The Bar(s)
All good, tended very well, service excellent, special note to Cristina, Mikaol (not sure of spelling) and Elizabeth in the bar area outside Capo Verde restaurant. On the beach bar we recommend the football mad bar tender. My other half was supposed to get his name but failed!!!

Restaurant's
They were all good. I especially liked Capo Verde because they served spicy muscles and prawns which were fab. Mandalay served Chinese food and was my partners favourite and their tempura prawns fab. The every day buffet was also very, very good and we did not have any "bad" meals as their was always lots of choice everyday.

Entertainment
We don't normally care about this as we are happy just being together without work to think about. However the local animation team were very good, and put on a number of different shoes, which were very entertaining. There is also a daily program on the beach which I am too lazy to bother with but was fun to watch.

You do not have to be idle if you do not want to be as there is lots to do with or without the animation team and you can access trips and have a good walk.

Caution!!! It is very easy to get burnt, the wind keeps you cool so that you do not know you are burning. The rep advised on the journey to the hotel to use factor 50 and he is RIGHT and reapply loads. We were well prepared and did not suffer too much but got caught out on a walk to Santa Maria; others however looked very red and sore. We are told this is due to the lack of pollution and proximity to the equator (lucky buggers).

Scuba Diving- On sight centre Scuacaribe
Excellent dive guides Ilson, Kush and Maneula though we were mostly with Ilson a great guide. We were not too happy about having to pay upfront for our dives as this meant predicting how many we wanted to do and we would rather play it by ear!! We plumped for the 20 dive package to split between us and added a further dive because the first dive is a sighting dive in the afternoon when they only do one dive. We added another so that our last dive day we could do the two morning dives. The team at the centre are helpful and getting out to the boat and back is great fun riding the waves. We used sea sick pills because sitting on the boat bobbing about on the waves not too good for us. The boats are a little cramped to get ready on and you cannot be guaranteed where you will dive due to current, so we did some dives more than once; which was not a problem. We only borrowed a BCD so cannot comment on other equipment

The resort is popular with young families, lots of small children and babies. Also popular with Italian, French, Belgian and German tourist so not many English; again not a problem for us but may be for some.

Room Tip: I asked for an upper floor sea view and got a lower floor room so I could not see the sea (shame) We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, Cheshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic weeks stay at the Riu. Having traveled quiet a bit but never stayed at a Riu before I will be doing so now. The flight out was on time - plane was comfy and roomy only downside - air crew seemed very tired and not really very helpful we had to ask again and again for a drink in the end we got up and went and fetched it but by doing so blocked the queue for the toilet and felt in the way. Slight issue with passport control on arrival only 1 computer working - very laid back staff did not worry about it. Transfers - excellent directed by staff all the way to the bus - 20 min drive. Hotel is linked to the Garopa which is a mirror of the Funana - very well thought out. Check in was quick and efficient and we were served a ice cold fruit juice whilst waiting - tip complete your registration forms on the bus saves so much time. I had e mailed before arriving to ask for a central room due to my father in law not being able to walk far - we were in block 3 and could not be more central. Rooms next to each other with one hall way and front door which was great as you could shut this and open your room door to speak to each other - great for families with children. Room large, comfortable and very clean - sheets and towels changed every day. We only had 1 issue with the room and this was 4 very large oriental cockroaches which appeared in the shower over 2 days. whilst they will not hurt you they can seem scary as very large and move very quickly. On reporting them we had the room fumigated and cleaned however this did not stop them. My husband who works in pest control knew they were coming up through a faulty plug stopper in the shower, explained that a replacement plug was all we needed they did this immediately and we had no further issue. - Food was fantastic so much choice - tip book the restaurants on arrival as they do get booked quickly, the mandalay was the favorite being chinese food - my mother in law had a birthday on the last night and they dressed the table with flowers and champagne. The main buffet restaurant although busy again was excellent - tip on first day walk around it and look at the different areas before sitting down. Pool area again excellent very clean, towels available every day, sunbeds in and out of shade if needed, pool bar service excellent in and out of pool. We ventured to the beach for one day as it was a little bit of a long walk but again could not fault it for available sunbeds and shade, yes it is windy but it is welcome in the heat although please wrap up at night as can get cold. Tip - please do take high factor suncream - it is very expensive in the hotel shop - 35 euros!!!! for sunblock, 15 euros for normal factor!!!! - Entertainment team were fab always on the go and were excellent dancers - although having seen most of the shows before in other places we did like the grease night!! - the downside were the groups they brought in - Abba tribute and a duo - really bad!! - we did the 4 x 4 trip again excellent especially floating in the salt lake - tip do not let the salt water get in your eyes - it really does hurt.
The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to help you. The hotel is very very clean, yes some areas need a little work but it is being done. Pool is very clean and is suitable for old and young alike, food is excellent and there is something for everyone, their star system is not the same but we received 5 star treatment and will certainly be going back

Room Tip: Block 4-5 for beach - block 3 to be really central to all facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Funana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Funana

Address: Cabocan Lote A2, A3, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Funana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Situated on the island of Sal in the Cape Verde Islands * Main building and 2-story annexes * Situated on the beach front together with the ClubHotel Riu Garopa * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 1.5 Km to Santa MarA-a * 15 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Funana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Funana Santa Maria
ClubHotel Riu Funana Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Funana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.