We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of an Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Cafe

Ocean Cafe
Rua 15 Agosto | Praca Central, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
002382421895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Santa Maria
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Tapas, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A bit of an Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice lively place, obviously popular with the ex-pat community, and some visitors. Good selection of local (Strela) and imported beers. Live music was reasonably entertaining! We didn't eat, but I could see that the food was plentiful and popular with lots of 'waiters' running around. There was a deal with beer all night if you bought a meal, which looked too good to be true! Or was it food all night if you bought a beer...?
Certainly the place to be in downtown Santa Maria of an evening. Recommended!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    150
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The place to be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

If you're in Sal/ Santa Maria you should definatly visit the ocean cafe. Everybody is there and you'll meet so gentle and amazing people. The drinks are good and the staff is really gentle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place with live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We heard the music coming from the ocean cafe, so we went there after dinner. Steven, a british man living on cabo verde, sang live with his guitar and it was just wonderful. another evening, there were others (Africans I guess) who played the drums, guitars and other instruments. there were a lot of tourists, but also local people and it was really nice when people stood up and danced to the music. there are a lot of cocktails etc. to chose and the waiters were all very friendly and attentive. I don't know if I would go there with kids as I haven't seen any of them, but nevertheless, it's definitely a place I recommend just to end the day in Santa Maria.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on this gem when exploring Santa Maria one day and decided to give lunch a try and found the food to be of a very good standard and the staff friendly and enthusiastic. We decided to return in the evening as there was live music which we found thoroughly enjoyable! In fact we visited on several more evenings and were not disappointed at all! Great lively place to visit!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great for a night of fabulous entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We came here almost every night of our stay either to start the night or to listen to the live music later on in the evening. This bar is modern and the staff are very welcoming and friendly and quick to get your orders. There is also live music entertainment on the weekend starting about 10pm-it is superb depending on the band they sing in English and/or Portuguese. It is a great place to go with friends and family, including children, to relax, dance, drink. We also ate a meal one night, we had Pizza for 900CVE (about 9Euro) which was an all-you-can-eat (min 4 people). The toppings for the Pizza were fresh and so tasty and the base was crispy and cooked to perfection. I could have sat all night listening to the music and eating away in this friendly bar. When I go back, i'll start my nights here and maybe even complete it here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Cafe also viewed

Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 

Been to Ocean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.