We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach

Save Saved
You added Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Urbanizacao da Cabocan, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Santa Maria
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have jus returned from the most relaxing week at Melia Tortuga. The hotel is beautiful, the gardens immaculate...not a leaf out of place! The weather was hot and sunny as expected, the drinks and food of a good quality with plenty to choose from ensuring you had something different at every meal.The beach was quiet, plenty of sunbeds with a lovely beach bar to keep the thrist at bay. All the staff were friendly, not quite as efficient as those in London however if I had to work in that heat I dont think I would be running around either, what's the rush, you're on holiday and not going anywhere in a hurry! We couldnt fault them.

My husband and I needed a break from the stresses of everyday life and that is certaining what we got. We were lucky to receive an upgrage (thank you very much to the General Manager) to a three bedroomed villa with private pool. Our days consisted of a slow walk to breakfast , sleep by the pool, slow walk to lunch, sleep by the pool, cocktails at the beach with the sunset DJ( my fav bit of the holiday) and a slow walk to one of the restaurants for dinner and then perhaps the evening entertainment. Perfect and just what we needed.

We walked to Santa Maria one day along the beach, lovely walk but be warned it took about 1.5 hrs but was worth it. Take some cash for a drink in Santa Maria and some strong sunscreen. We didnt book any trips as we wanted a rest.

Having travelled a fair amount- Caribbean, Europe, America, Austrialia, Maldives, India , Thailand etc we both agreed it was one of the most relaxing and most well kept hotels we have stayed in. If you want a rest and a break from reality on a budget that doesnt break the bank then this is a good place to go. Whenever we feel life is getting on top of us we will certainly be heading back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Dawn R,


Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to share your review with us and with fellow travellers from Tripadvisor.

I’m happy to learn that you and your husband have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with our hotel grounds, the food and drinks, and the staff service. Thank you for your kind comments, I hope that you enjoyed your villa.

It’s great to perceive that you were able to relax and make the most out of your stay and I genuinely appreciate you having recommended our hotel to prospective guests. I will surely be looking forward to having you and your husband as our guests again in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    701
    426
    159
    65
    34
See reviews for
378
735
14
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed here from the 2nd May to the 9th 2013. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful. We had requested a top floor apartment prior to our holiday, but we were given a ground floor 212, which we were a little disappointed that the staff were reluctant to change, but when we had got over the journey and were a bit more refreshed, we decided that the room was all that we needed and was keep lovely by the cleaners daily.
Food restaurants were absolutely lovely, there was nothing at all we could fault, there was no waiting times in the restaurants, no more than there would be in any restaurant in this country!
There are security guards around the hotel, watching the the land outside the hotel, not sure why because we never saw any trouble. The management are around the hotel constantly, checking the restaurants and pools, and are more than helpful if you have any issues.
On the whole, we had a great holiday and returned very brown and chilled!, the only one thing that could be improved is a jetty or pier so that people can get into the sea, on the beach front the sea is very rocky as you enter and we didnt see one person in the sea for the week that we were there. It is a shame as it is a very nice beach, although we were told that if you walk for 10 minutes left out of the hotel, there is a lovely beach there and you can access the sea with no rocks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Tania S,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa during your holiday and for having taken the time to write a review on our hotel. We take the opinions of our guests seriously as they serve as a guideline for us to know if we are going in the right direction and what improvements we need to make.

I’m glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, I’m sorry that we were not able to offer you a room according to your request as this depends on the availability of the room itself, but I’m happy that you were pleased with your room.

It’s also a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the food and had a good tan. The staff and the management team are always available to ensure that everything is in prima condition and we are always accessible to listen to our guests and offer them assistance whenever it is needed.

Once again thank you for your comments and I hope that you will come back to visit us again in the near future.


Best Regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 days in Feb 2013. We were terribly disappointed given this is the only 5 star hotel on the island. We had to queue for half an hour to check in. No one helped take our luggage over the crazy paving pathways to the room or even upstairs to the room.

In the main buffet restaurant the queues were long and it was always very busy.It was very difficult to get served a drink as there were not enough waiters. Even then we sometimes had to ask 2 or 3 times before they remembered to bring our drinks.

They have a number of "a la carte" restaurants but when we were there we had to book 3 or 4 nights in advance to get a table at any of them, The restaurants then only serve small portions of food and you have basically 2 choices for starter and main. Its not really an "a la carte" menu in my mind.

Lastly in our disappointment we wanted to use the spa and the 1st massage slot available when we enquired on our fist day was 4 days later. We booked it. The morning of the massage the spa cancelled the treatment as the masseur hadnt come to work that day. They didn'y find a replacement.

we were glad to leave

Room Tip: If you dont want to have to listen to music or the local performers they bring in make sure you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Softy84,

Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to review our hotel.

It’s such a pity to read that you were not pleased with our standards. During check in there are bell boys who would help our guests with their luggage to their room, some guests prefer to take their luggage to their room on their own. When it is busy it’s natural that some patience is required, you can enjoy the welcome drink while you wait and relax in our lobby area.

Our themed restaurants offer a waiter service with a set menu, for guests who would like to have a different choice of food we recommend them to try the buffet service at the main restaurant, you can go there a bit earlier or a little later and avoid the busy hours.

Our staff and our management team work hard everyday to ensure that our guests feel at home and enjoy their holidays, we are quite aware that it is not possible to please everybody although it is quite rare to find an unsatisfied guest.

I have made note of your comments and will look into the areas that need the necessary improvements, however please note that we also work continuously to develop a better service everyday, since your contentment is our main priority.

Having clarified this I hope that you will come to visit us again the near future and prove to you that we can guarantee your satisfaction.


Best regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The island itself (sal) is very barron, only having 1 rain storm within the last 23 years, the journey from the airport is 20 mins and I was thinking OMG this doesnt look good, as we pulled into our hotel Melia Tortuga, and viewed the amount of building works and scrubland surrounding the hotel, I really wasnt sure. We asked for an upper level room with sea veiw and were allocated a lower room with patio area overlooking another apartment, we asked to be moved and the staff obliged as soon as could be expected, attention to details on the booking form would have prevented this disruption, so be sure to make clear your expectations when being allocated your room.
The rooms are great, very clean, well equipped, and spacious, ours had a double, a twin, two shower/ bathrooms fully equipped kitchen and (sea view (473) balcony with furniture. The entire hotel had high standards of cleanliness and hygiene protocols with alcohol hand was in staff areas (which were used).
One thing that stood out to me was the management team profile, they were often walking through the hotel, from the General Mgr Jose, Kais (food and beverage director) Marco Ops mgr, all sampling food and standards, and were always polite, accesible and interested in your views, the staff were helpful and pleasant, the food was above the standards that i have experienced on all inclusive packages before, plenty of fresh fruit and freshly prepared omolettes / eggs for breakfast.
There are 4 restaraunts in the hotel, Spices which is the general restaurant (3/5) wide range of food, but very busy and bustly, Agua Meditaranian style (2/5) this is a new concept, where i think new staff are trained, it feels a little clunky and the food is easily the worst in the hotel, but you can see what the hotel is trying to do, Waterside (poolside) 4/5)) great for breakfast, very airy and quieter, reasonable range of food, O'Grille is beachside (4/5) easily the restaurant of choice for location and vibe, may take some time to get served once seated but chill and enjoy the view, all except the Spices need to be booked for evening eating, we found this easy to do and availability was good until a large influx arrived, then it was definitely a case "book early", if you were staying for 2 weeks you may find that the lack of menu options at the individual restaurants becomes a repetetive experience, the bars were sparingly manned but just about adequate, range of drinks available was ok.The sunsets at O'Grille are cool, great seating and mellow tunes wave "until tomorrow" to the sun. there is also a great entertainment program at your disposal to keep you on the go.
Our Thompson rep (Ollie) was really helpful. On day 3 asked myself would I return, by day 7 I had a total turnaround, this is a great place, you just need to get it and chill out, from our observations and learnings the Tortuga was the best hotel on the island, a Hilton will be on Sal in the next couple of years, it will be good to see how the Mgmt Team respond to stay on top

Top tips
1. Dont be fooled by the cooling breeze and clouds, the sun will find you
2. Make sure you complete your visa application in the UK, saves time and expense (50e)
3. Trips are expensive, but worthwhile
4. If self catering, shops and range will be a real challenge

Room Tip: Rooms begining with 100's are near reception and seem smaller, working down the resort to the 40...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Stantons-on-tour,

We appreciate you having elected Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and you having taken some of your precious time off to share your experience with us.

I’m very pleased to hear that you were happy with your room. Room allocation is according to availability of the room itself, we always make a note of our guests’ requests and do our best to ensure that we can fulfill it, however, please note that this may not always be possible.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our presence, the staff, the management team and I always strive to ensure that everything is in perfect condition, which includes the quality of food, the services and the surrounding ambiance. Your wellbeing and satisfaction is of high importance to us.

It’s a pleasure to read that you were happy with the food and the ambiance of our 3 restaurants, it’s a pity that you did not enjoy the Aqua restaurant, I have made note of your comments and they will be discussed with my management team during our quality meeting.

All feedbacks from our guests are very important for us as they will enable us to gain insight into which aspects we can develop and improve to ensure that not only can we meet your expectation but we can exceed them.

It will give us a great satisfaction to have you as our guests again in the near future for more relaxing holidays.


Kind regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harlington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel was very comfortable, staff where more than helpful and the general Manager was very approachable and could be seen around the complex all day.
Food was good quality and varied, I know some people moaned about bugs but this is a hot climate and the hotel can't be blamed for this.
Service was great and even if we had to wait everyone was so friendly it didn't really matter.
Definitely a hotel to put on your list

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear steveHarlington,


We appreciate you having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and you having taken the time to share your experience with us through Tripadvisor.

It’s a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our accommodation and our food were all according to your standards. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and myself, we are just trying to do our best to ensure that you feel at home and make the most out of your stay.

I hope that you would visit us again in the near future and allow me the pleasure of greeting you personally upon your next visit.


Kind regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed for one week 24th April until 1st May. The hotel and staff are brilliant, only fault I could mention is that some of the staff struggle with English, but hey ho not a real problem. The whole area is so clean , hotel grounds and beach. The rooms are great we had a 2 bedroom suite which was lovely. Anyway it was so good just booked again for week in September. Please beware of the sun I know people go on about getting burnt but you really do on Cape Verde it,s due to the wind and sun combination. Entertainment programmes also very good something new every evening.
If you are thinking of this hotel for a holiday you won't be disappointed .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear PatriciaBrown,

Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to review in Tripadvisor our hotel.

I’m pleased to know that you were happy with our hotel and our staff. I can perceive that you have enjoyed your holidays with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, please note that some our staffs are undergoing English training on the job, specific to their areas, however it takes time for them to master a foreign language.

I genuinely appreciate you having recommended our hotel to future guests, I hope that you will also return in the near future as our guests.


Best regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went for a week at the beginning of May, 2013. For the first 3 days I was preparing to give this hotel a 5 rating, because of the excellent service and cleanliness, but this was cut short half way through by an influx of noisy visitors which made the hotel very full and crowded. I cannot give the nationality of these otherwise I would be accused of being racist, but suffice it to say they were neither British or German (who are usually accused of such behaviour). The hotel, while coping admirably when it is half full, cannot cope with most of the rooms being occupied. My chief complaints were (a) there were not enough shaded beds near the pools and (b) the 3 excellent restaurants where booking is required could not cope. We had booked a table for 9pm, and there was still a queue at 9.20 when we gave up and went the inferior 'Spices' self service restaurant. I would advise that if the hotel continues to book up to capacity, they increase the no. of shaded beds and either increase the no. of tables or do not book 2 groups at the same table in the same evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Barrie N,

Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to review our hotel.

I’m so sorry to read that you felt disturbed by other guests and that it altered your impression of our hotel. As a hotel and as a team we work very hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay and feel at home with us, and all the feedbacks that we get from our guests are of the highest importance for us. I have taken note of your comments and will discuss this with my management team during our quality meeting.

I hope that you will give us another chance to prove to you that we can ensure your complete satisfaction by visiting us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach

Address: Urbanizacao da Cabocan, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of tranquility and unmistakably luxurious, MELIÃ Tortuga Beach is in a class of its own on the sun-drenched Island of Sal in Cape Verde. An idyllic location, impeccable service and exquisite resort facilities make it the perfect choice for couples and families looking for an unforgettable Cape Verde holiday experience.Discover an all-inclusive 5-star resort that has everything, including a gourmet selection of fine-dining and buffet restaurants, a distinguished selection of bars and the stunning Beach Bar and Grille where you can enjoy drinks as you watch the best and amazing Cape Verde Sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Melia Tortuga Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.