We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel for families and friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquamarina Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aquamarina Suites to your Saves list
Aquamarina Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua 1 de Junho 125 | Santa Maria, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 123, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Santa Maria
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel for families and friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good hotel, double floor with 2 bedrooms and bathrooms. Kitchen large and abundant breakfast. The staff doesn't speak english well, but OK.
I recommend this hotel for all, but in particular for families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
20
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Aquamarina Suites are in the perfect location. They are a stones throw from the beach which we meant that we had to visit everyday without fail :-). The suites themselves are really nice, we had a few issues with our electricity in our suite but Yanis the hotel manager was incredible as a person and as a hotel manager in sorting these minor issues out. Yanis is great in getting your knowledge up about Sal. In the six nights we were there I think we learnt about a years worth of knowledge.
I would recommend if you are heading to Sal to stay here as it is located at the beginning of the busy and interesting part of Sal. You can walk to shops, the beach, the pier where they sell fish, all authentic restaurants which are great and cheap in equal measure.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Aquamarina Suites its spacious our suite had a great view of the beach and the town and felt like a home away from home.

Finally, if you are planning on going on any trip or excursion (Sailing/sharks/Island tour/fishing etc) Then the booth which you book them from is just outside the Aquamarina Suites which is extremely handy and you realise how lucky you are when you see many taxis pull up with tourists who have traveled from far to book their excursions.

Overall, great place to stay, great staff, great hotel manager, great atmosphere and you feel very safe being here too!

Ama

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

It was great staying at Aquamarine Suites. It was perfectly situated near the beach (nothing beats having breakfast on your balcony overlooking the sea) and the main street with all the shops/bars/restaurants. The bed and the couch were very confortable - ideal for your relaxing vacation - and there was always hot water available.
There is a great open air patio-lounge area where you can have a coffee or read a book. All the hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. It was definitely a good choice staying there - recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I had a great time in the Aquamarine Suites Apartment Hotel. The “Hotel” is very close to the beach and all the facilities (bars, restaurants and super market) in Santa Maria. The rooms were quite comfortable and spacious. The hotel offers rooms for 2-4 person. The bedrooms are to the street with balcony, the living room/kitchen is to the inside, unfortunately almost no daylight. The king size bed is comfortable as well as the shower/bathroom. The staff brings breakfast (coffee to brew yourself, baguette, eggs, butter, ham, cheese, cereals and jam) to the room in the morning. I enjoyed having my own breakfast in my room a lot. The rooms are cleaned every day. The hotel manager Yanis is nicely taking care about his guests helping with the day to day challenges always having good recommendations for the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Yanis the manager was very helpful and friendly along with the other staff who were more than pleased to help and look after us during our stay. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The apartment block is very close to the beach and all the facilities in Santa Mari. A continental Breakfast is brought to your room everyday which was a nice touch. Value for money I don’t think you will get much better for its position. We only had one key though for the front door and our room which did cause problems for one of us getting into the building at night unless we were together. The showers in the rooms in their day I'm sure were very good but now they are poor and make showering a bit of a problem. The kitchens need better cooking utensils and we were unable to cook in ours due to this which was a shame. However we did not ask for more utensils as we were happy to eat out in the end. We looked at some other places on the beach during our stay for the same price but they were very small and also had their own set of problems. You have to remember that you are not paying for a 5 star hotel and you cannot expect everything to be perfect. But if you want great staff and a comfortable stay you will not do wrong booking an apartment at Aquamarina.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are a little noisy due to the main road but the only difference between the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We recently returned from a week at the Aquamarine Suites where had a really great time! From arrival and through the full duration of our stay the owner, manager and staff were so helpfull and friendly. There was no tv or wifi but arrival but we were asked if we wanted a tv (we declined) we had no need for wifi but when we needed to check our departure flight time and send a couple of emails the manager let us use his computer in the reception instead of sending us to an internet cafe!

The room was clean and large and we had a great view of the ocean! - a couple of cosmetic issues (no mirror in the bathroom and a few wires hanging out precariously) but remember you are technically in Africa and its all part of the experience! Two minutes from the beach, 2 minutes from restuarants and bars - and not above a bar so very quiet. Santa Maria is a cool place to spend a week, the tourist information hut below the appartments are also brilliant and have loads of information on the island and whats good to see!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Beware of this Hotel! The accommodation appears to be quite pleasant, but many of the claims were not met, no wifi at all, TV not working, inadequate utensils and breakfast. Firstly, we were asked for payment in full on arrival, this is unprecedented! The credit card machine did not work so I was 'escorted' to the bank to obtain cash the next day. This is when we should have refused and gone elsewhere, since there are much better options in Santa Maria. However we complied and of course we then had to make the best of it. The owners have a very 'cheese-paring' attitude, and ignored our requests to sort out the electrics in our apartment (the kettle etc could not be plugged in anywhere due to incompatible plugs/sockets) but finally gave in when we reported that we were getting electric shocks from the shower! The standard of workmanship and maintenance in the kitchen area and bathroom was frankly laughable. I did see two cockroaches. The towels were not changed in two weeks. We were offered another apartment which was similar but with a safer shower. We did not expect luxury for the price, but here there was a lack of basic items, for example we had to ask for a hair dryer.

Definitely not recommended, but maybe OK if you are pushed. You should preview the suite carefully, refuse to pay in advance, and re-negotiate the price!

Room Tip: Get an email verification of claimed features and payment options. Inspect the rooms carefully and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquamarina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarina Suites

Address: Rua 1 de Junho 125 | Santa Maria, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 123, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquamarina Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquamarina Suites offers 1 and 2 bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, with living room & fully equipped kitchen. 50Mt from the famous Santa Maria beach. In the premisses, the famous Indian restaurant Bombay Brasserie, a cafeteria and a tourist information kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Aquamarina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamarina Suites Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquamarina Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.