We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bailey's Cafe Bar

Bailey's Cafe Bar
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 42 Restaurants in Santa Maria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
leeds UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We went to watch the England friendly. Good tv great atmosphere, cheap beer got a bit hungry so ordered the crispy beef with egg fried rice, was lovely would recommend the Chinese food.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    34
    21
    12
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wymondham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dreadful food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had a Chinese evening meal here in April to take home and I can honestly say that it was the worst Chinese food that I have ever eaten. When I say eaten,I really mean thrown away because it was so bad it was inedible. Please don't waste your money and eat here,
as there are some really lovely local restaurant in Santa Maria, which are so much better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oude-onge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Baileys is a very nice pub where people can eat and drink with a great atmosphere. Watching football or just listen to live music in the evenings Been there many times (May 2014). Thanks Dave and Vikk

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had a few meals here, one Chinese meal, one roast dinner (which was nice), breakfast and lunch. It's a Brits abroad comfort food type of place and does that well.

Pete (one of the owners) was friendly and helpful with island tips.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average - An Accurate Description”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

It's an English bar with free Wi-Fi (most of the time), it sells drinks and food at a reasonable price and the service is passable. We visited twice, once for a drink on the way back from Santa Maria beach and once for dinner, both times were OK although the second time we visited our food took almost forever to arrive - even though it was delicious when we did receive it...
As per the title, its not cheap, but it's not expensive, the service is not fabulous, but it's not terrible, overall it is a typical average café/bar...!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bailey's Cafe Bar also viewed

Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 

Been to Bailey's Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bailey's Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.