We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta to your Saves list
Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Urbanizacao de Ponta Preta, 2E, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Santa Maria B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was generally a quiet hotel, apart from the noisy water tank near our room,with very clean standards maintained throughout our stay which is important, especially as you are staying in Africa.
Staff were reasonably helpful but it has to be said the food was not of a good quality. Nothing against this hotel personally as we tried a number of restaurants in Santra Maria, the 'capital ' of Sal, with the food being below an average standard. I don't know if it was the local cuisine or if we were being fussy (unlikely) but if good food is important in your holiday experience I wouldn't recommend this part of Cape Verde, although I can't speak on behalf of the other Cape Verdian islands.
p.s. weather was regularly in the 30s and the beaches were lovely during late October early November. Beaches are about a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel which was alright.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the water tank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    16
    13
    12
See reviews for
4
50
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
beverley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

we chose this hotel because we thought that it would be peaceful, we were right, 2 weeks in the sun just me and my wife, what a lovely little hotel we arrived at around 6 to a nice local cocktail whilst checking in, straight to the room dropped our cases off and straight down for something to eat, nice 1st impression wine served in a carafe red or white both very good, menu was good too choice of 3 starters 3 main and 3 deserts. we were in room 118 and there were a few ant and we saw a very small cockroach, however i decided in the morning i would asked to be moved, i went to reception and asked to speak to the manager, the manager came out and i explained the situation, she said that they had had a bit of rain the week previous and this encourages them to come out however she would move us to a junior suite free of charge, let me tell you nothing was too much trouble for this lady. that same day the fumigators came in to blast the room very efficient. this hotel is spotless the cleaners never stop, the bar and waiter staff are also very cheerful, some people say they had trouble understanding them well they spoke better English than i did cape verdien. yes the food can be a bit repetitive but it was always well presented, we went out a couple of times to eat for a change, while a few people were saying it was too quiet this suited us down to the ground we met some wonderful people and had some quite entertaining nights !!!!! the pool area is spotless, nice Jacuzzi we could always get a sun bed too no matter what time of the day, if its the hussle and bustle discos etc then this is not the hotel for you, we had a lovely time and our batteries are definitely recharged

Room Tip: ask for a junior suite you never know sometimes cheek pays off
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was staying at the hotel at the same time as Joanne. I can agree that there were very few people staying there and so was rather "dead" I blame Thomson for creating a wrong impression as when I booked I was told there were only two rooms left, in fact there were very few taken. It is a small hotel and that was why I chose it. Yes there were flies and yes ther were cockroach type beetles but I and the other guests only experienced the beetles on the ground floor outside and most certainly not in the bedrooms. Please remember we were staying in Africa and in fact for an African country there were very few insects.
The staff were absolutely delightful very friendly & helpful whilst English was limited they all without exception tried to speak english and communicate. The food was very good, there was buffet breakfast then no other buffet meals as there were so few guests it would have been a waste of food a precious resource. At lunch & dinner it was a la carte a choice of 3 starters 3 main and 3 desserts the choices were different for each meal each day. The chef was happy to mix and match with the snack menu, or for example if one wanted 2 starters he produced one as a main course. Yes there was a lot of fish for heavens sake it is one of the main industries on the island. I have travelled a lot in Africa and this was the first holiday stomach bug free !!

The cleanliness was the best I have experienced in Africa and I wished I could have bought the bed home with me.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to see Cape Verde before tourism really hits and enjoy the whole experience of spending time with Cape Verdian people who are relaxed and seem to embrace life.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Have decided to write a review after reading so many negative one's about this hotel. Firstly, the resort DOES have alot of building going on, but me and my partner were pleased that we went when we did, so that we saw it before it becomes over-commercialized. The staff in the hotel were absolutely fantastic and did anything we needed with the "No Stress" attitude of the island and with a big smile every time. The food was generally good, and the wait for it was never too long. Yes, there are flies, but this was mainly outside and not too many in the restaurant. Rooms were decent sized and cleaned to a high standard. We did have a power cut for a couple of hours, but hey, we were on islands off the coast of west Africa, so these things happen. Fantastic holiday but probably wouldn't go again due to the likelihood it will inevitably lose a little of its charm as it becomes so much more commercialized

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have just returned from the hotel from hell, cockroaches everywhere even in our room!!! If you dont like fish as we dont, you will end up eating out as we did, being all inclusive you would expect buffet food, not here most of the menu is fish, very limited selection. The hotel is dead no entertainment, staff can not understand much english. You are bothered constantly by flies, we were bitten to death by mosquitoes. The shower leaks and when you get out you can slip on the wet floor. A desolate location. you are bothered constantly on the beaches to buy goods and in the town cape verde (sal). We asked first choice if we could be moved and were told it would be £624 total daylight robbery we could not wait to get home!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I spent a lovely week at the Hotel Sabura in May. Staff excellent and very helpful. Food was good and a varied choice. Rooms were clean and comfortable. A relaxing holiday and will definately be returning. Dont know where the negative reviews have come from and do not feel they are justified.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at early April 2012. Sabura looks really nice, the court is pretty small, but really cozy. It is a bit hard to be understood in this hotel, as the majority of the staff does not speak English very well. (The recepcionist did not understand anything we said except for "Check-in".) Aside from the lingual barriers, everyone is very friendly at the hotel, and the service is really good, so no complaints there.

However: the guest are primarily British in the Hotel, and I believe the management tried to make their stay as comfortable as it can be, so the dinner menu always had something like curry, bread pudding, etc... These are not culinary marvels by themselves, but they tasted fine. However the bigger problem is that during our one week stay, we did not encounter any local dishes in the hotel. Judging by the dinner, we could have been in any hotel of Europe, so that is a big minus in my point of view.

The pool is not heated, so it can be pretty chilling to take a dip, but fortunately there is a small jacuzzi/hot tub, so you can reheat your cold toes in that!

If you want buzz, stay out of this hotel, as it is not a children friendly one. This means only one thing: the guests are mainly pensioners. They are friendly, nice and helping, but there are no animators, nor any activities in Hotel Sabura.

I would recommend to stay here if you are comfortable with the above. The ocean is a 5-10 minute stroll away, but instead of the close beach of the Riu hotels, I suggest to go to the beach in front of the Belorizonte/Novorizonte hotels. They may be 15 minutes away, but it is a much nicer beach.

Room Tip: The 4 of the 8 suites on the southern side are not looking straight to the hotel's courtyard, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta

Address: Urbanizacao de Ponta Preta, 2E, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.