We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Boa Vista

Save Saved
You added Royal Decameron Boa Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Decameron Boa Vista
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boa Vista Island, Boa Vista, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Boa Vista
Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel and the island are perfect for a very relaxing holiday in an extremely quiet location.
Not much to do besides lying on the sun, swimming in the pools or in the ocean and relaxing...
We stayed here for one week and i can say that it was really peaceful and enjoyable.
The beach is just amazing, with a huge extension of white soft sand and warm water.
The food at the main restaurant was very good, with great variety, always serving fresh fish, salads, fruits, which I loved, besides all the regular buffet dishes like pasta, pizza, vegetables, meats, French fries, soup, etc.
The rooms were clean and spacious, however I felt they should be more confortable, they looked a bit "empty" and just to simple for a 4* hotel.
The staff was extremely helpful and attentive and helped us in everything we needed. My boyfriend felt unwell one morning, and they provide a doctor to visit us at the hotel in a short period of time. He was fine the next day!
I must say that the F&B staff, especially the ones from the main restaurante are just incredible. I confess I wasn't expecting such a high standard service when I arrived. Unbelievable how they can reach everybody at the same time, always with a great smile on theis faces. Loved them, well done!
There are two pools at the hotel: a big one where all the music and activities are happening, and a quiet pool, where you are not allowed to make noise. This was our favorite.
We took a day to visit the island on a moto4 and we had great time. I truelly recommend you take a tour to see the sharks, visiting povoação velha, riding on the dunes and visiting the beautifull beach of santa monica on a moto4 or a jeep.
We also went out for dinner at the city center and we have a great dinner of lobster and drinks for 25€ per person (tip included). Just ask in the reception for a nice local restaurant to have lobster, with NO Tourists, and they will sent you to the best place in town.
If you want some music, dancing and party while dining, then go for the tourist restaurants instead. That night, we called a taxi to take us to town and a really nice old man showed up in a pickup truck. He took us to town and after three or four hours he picked us up again and brought us back to the hotel for a really inexpensive value. We had dinner and a few drinks at an open air bar, with local music, and local people.
It was truly enjoyable and I would go back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    401
    127
    42
    31
See reviews for
171
562
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, Kent
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We travelled with Thomsons on 30th May for two weeks wanting a totally relaxing break and it was exactly what it said on the tin! I feel you have to enjoy the beach – of which there are miles and miles on which to walk. There isn’t much outside the hotel – Sal Rei is a couple of hours walk via the beach, or a E10 taxi. We arrived after the shortest transfer ever in a Land rover with just another couple. After check-in we, together with our luggage, were driven to the door of a beach fronted 2-roomed suite with two terraces. OK - one or two cockroaches found their way in, as did flies as we didn’t have a screen, and I got bitten by mosquitoes/flies which were not deterred by sprays, plugs, or Deet.

We did request the safe be activated and paid in advance for 14 nights – this however wasn’t carried out till the following day (and three reminders) but the overcharge was eventually repaid on check-out. The accommodation was spacious but pretty tired and needing a refurb. Cleaning was most thorough by a friendly housekeeper, sheets and towels always replaced.

As already mentioned, there are problems with some Reception staff; our experience apart from the Room safe was with booking the al la carte restaurants – bookings were taken for when the restaurants were closed, then you were sent to the one which was open where you didn’t have a reservation! When reprimanded for this, one young receptionist found her pink mobile far more interesting than the matter in hand and honestly couldn’t care less!

Bottled water is available to purchase for E2 at Reception – except when it’s not! You are told to go to the shop – which is closed. The criticisms are many and along these lines so we avoided reception when particular staff was there.

Food, in our opinion, was excellent and the restaurant staff (buffet, Italian, Cape Verdean and Beach Bar) was amazing and tolerant despite language problems. Also, the coffee was lovely and fresh. Our regular waiter, Tanko (?) was a lovely humble man who looked after us so well.

For us, the constant music poolside was a little loud (conflicting with music from the lobby bar which was most irritating) and as it’s pretty windy most of the time, this did carry so the quiet pool or quiet beach was for us. The animation team worked hard with dancing, aerobics, water gym, etc etc and did not tend to coax you too much if there was resistance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Where do I begin!

We stayed 5th - 12th June and to be honest a week was all the time needed as there is not a lot to do, the area is still quite new to tourism.

We booked a week before going and paid a really good price for what we got, totally amazed as we arrived to the hotel. The hotel is only an 8 minute drive from the airport and being so close to it you never hear any noise. The airport does not allow flights to land or depart after 6pm so this was a relief to hear.

Upon on arrival I did not find the reception staff very helpful, we were not given a map and had no idea on how to get to our room. As we looked a bit puzzled a security guard showed us to our room. We appreciated this because we would never of found our room, it was quite a walk as the resort was huge.

Room: we had a really nice room (240) which was right by the quiet pool so this was perfect for us and we were close to the beach and main restaurant (buffet). Our room was kept clean, was spacious and most of all was insect free. Only issue was that there was a leak from the water boiler, we reported this on 3 occasions and all the staff did was put a towel under the leak. Even reported this to our rep who turned out to be no help either.

With incidents like the above you will hear a lot of 'no stress' the locals literally do things when they want to!!!

Food: as a fussy eater I was shocked by the amount of choice you have when it comes to food. We stuck with the main restaurant as it was buffet you could try what you liked and if you didn't like it then you could try something else. There food was different each day and the staff in the main restaurant were fantastic and friendly. Could not fault them!

There are two other restaurants, the La Touga and La Mourna. We only tried La Touga which was an Italian restaurant, where they had 3 types of pizza and 2 types of pasta to choose from the rest of the food was far from Italian; yet the food was good here. Again service from the staff was great and I cannot fault them.

Beach: amazing! Lots of space in the beach to sit and relax and it was vet quiet as well. Plenty of free loungers and beds.

Pool: there is a choice of either the main or quiet pool. Main area was nice but we only went there on one occasion which was enough. If you do not want to be bugged by entertainment staff then stay away from this area, also they play music here throughout the day (which is a good thing). There is also the quiet pool but this area is small and you have to be up at the crack of dawn for a lounger.

Bars: were okay but cocktails and local drinks were not so nice. If you fancy half a glass of vodka with a dash of lemonade then this is the place for you.

Staff: as I said the restaurant staff were brilliant, friendly and generally nice people. The same goes for the security, cleaners and some reception staff.
I did not like the entertainment staff much, they were too much in your face and could not accept that I did not want to participate in their games. I found some of them very rude as they shouted down people's ears to get them to participate in games. Surely they should respect that people are there to relax and not be pestered. As two young girls we also found them to be a little 'creepy' we certainly were not there to be stared at or hit on. This was the only down side to our holiday.

Excursions: we did not book any however opted for a free walk to Sal Rei offered by our rep from TUI (First Choice/Thomsons). Waited an hour for our rep and she did not show, didn't ruin our day as a group of us walked ourselves across the beach (2 hour walk). Met some really lovely people on this walk, quite amazing how friendly people can be! Along the way we stopped at a beach hut for a drink and sat surrounded by views of the sea and sand. Sal Rei itself was small and not a lot to see, TUI charge 25 Euros per person for a tour and quite frankly it is not worth it when a taxi of 10 euros and a local to show you around is much cheaper. One tip be prepared for the amount of people that will ask you to go into their shop.

Overall: great price and place to relax and do nothing.

Three last things, wifi is expensive here, 7 Euro for an hour or 4 Euro for 30mins and reception was not great. To have a bottle of water in your room it costs 2 Euros per bottle even though it is All Inclusive. To use the safe it is 2 Euros per night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had a fantastic relaxing week here in April 2013. Hotel was quiet and we had a free upgrade to a suite with a sea view. Along the beach front there are single storey suites with large private terraces. If you like to have somewhere of your own to sunbathe, I would definitely recommend asking for one of these rooms. Room was more like a 3* than 4* but it was clean and comfortable. Beach is amazing. Apart from sun loungers outside hotel it is completely empty. Food was good each night. We used beach bar for lunch every day as was near our room. If you've been to Sal, then Boa is best described as quieter version. If you would like to go on tours i would recommend booking before you go as there aren't as many tour operators around the hotel like there are in Sal. Apart from walking on the beach, there isn't any where to walk to from the hotel so it is isolated. The 'town' of sal rei is short taxi ride away and costs 10 euros each way. One short trip to sal rei is enough as there isn't much there . For a chill out holiday, spent primarily in the sun, we were very happy staying here. Hotel entertainment wasn't very good but we weren't fussed about watching it anyway. Television in room had poor reception so don't rely on it. If you like big busy hotels then you may prefer one of the rui hotels. If you want to save some money and have a quiet stay then I would recommend the Decameron.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penkridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I booked two weeks in this hotel from 22nd May to 5th June 2013 fifteen hours before we departed ! All we wanted was a totally relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we got. We had a wonderful sea view room (306) and as this is not a very big we were close to all the amenities. The food in the main restaurant was very good,varied,hot and there was always something there even for the fussiest of eaters. We did visit the two specialist restaurants but found the food in the main restaurant as good and if you tried something and did not like it you just went and got something else.
The two bars serve local drinks and the lager (Stralla) was very good. The coffee was varied and was also very good.
All the staff were very helpful and always aim to please right to the very last minute that you leave the hotel which was a nice change as we have found in some hotels after about 10 days the staff concentrate on the new comers but not here !
We did not go on any trips or get involved with the animation team but people did say they did a great job.
The performers that they brought in on different night were very, very good.
Location was extremely quiet and the only thing we missed was having a walk out in the evening before our meal but there was nowhere to go.
Don't worry about the transfer time of only 10 mins as I thought we would have airport noise but besides a few planes a day humming past it was great.
We only went on the beach once and it was fantastic but we are not beach people.
If you want a relaxing holiday with good food, drink and service I don't think you can go far wrong.
As we only booked 15 hours before we left the UK we really dropped on our feet with a great room and the price we paid (Sorry to the friends we met and upset due to what we paid !)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went to Cape Verde for a week in mid April and agree with the content of most of the reviews that are posted.
The hotel and island are great if you want a very relaxing holiday in an extremely quiet location. Visitors should be aware the airport and hotels are only 5/6 years old and so tourism is in its early days here. Hopefully it will not develop into mass tourism and development since it is one of the few places that we have visited where you can walk 250m from a large hotel and be in a completely quiet and undeveloped area.
The beach at the hotel is at least 6km long and is great for a walk and particularly to the west once you pass the next hotel, there is hardly anybody else about.

A few points;
The only minor grumble was at check in you are given your keys and pack and then waved off to find your room, a map would have been useful given the size and numbering system. However, it was a good opportunity to explore the hotel.
Internet is very very expensive - so only used it once.
There have been a lot of complaints about sunbeds being "reserved" early. This is true but applies to those around the pool. Not sure why you would fly 2,500 miles to sit at a pool when you can walk 100m and be on one of the best beaches in the world where you can easily get a sunbed! There are two beach areas at the hotel with sunbeds, the smaller one to the west is great on windier days since it is sheltered.
Given the location and isolation, the standard of food is very good and we were surprised by the wide selction of fresh fruit. We used the beach bar for lunch rather than trekking back to the main restaurant. The wine though is terrible!
Finally we must mention the staff who are all excellent and willing to help.

Room Tip: Paying extra for a sea view is proably worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just came back from this hotel with my boyfriend one word amazing!! .. The food was delicious, the beach and pool were lovely. We went on The half day 4x4 tour and loved it all the beaches were gorgeous definitely worth a go !! The staff are lovely and we definitely would recommend to friends and family and go back in The near future :-) . If you do want to go on any excursions whilst out there we went through giggling gecko instead of Thomson as they are much cheaper and they use the money to help out boa vista . And they are a lovely !!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Decameron Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Boa Vista

Address: Boa Vista Island, Boa Vista, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Boa Vista 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Resort Boa Vista
Royal Decameron Boa Vista Cape Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Boa Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.