We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clubhotel Riu Karamboa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Clubhotel Riu Karamboa to your Saves list
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lote HO 1, Urb. Morrinho de Baguincho | Praia de Salines, Boa Vista, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boa Vista
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Such a lovely holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed at Karamboa March3rd to 11th 2010 , so just back and missing it already , right from the start its a total holiday treat , for tarters the airport is 5 mins away , the airport by the way has about 2 flights a day and shuts at pm so dont let the closeness bother you , the cases are delivered to your room (advised as there are not any lifts)in 5 mins , we were on the beach within 50 mins of landing.... The Hotel is stunning ,the rooms are more than lovely , I requested a quiet room and it certainly was , we watched the sun set every night from our balcony .
The entertainment staff work very hard , in fact all the staff work hard and are so very kind and polite .
The evening entertainment is not The West End but it good fun , sometimes very funny (the water sketch) , and after every show the entertainers do 4 or 5 dances which you can join in (if you wish) , after which there is dancing again if you wish , remember the hotel is huge so there is so much more going on at the same time , the quiet of the reception lounge or the upstairs bar , or the Kareoke room .
The food is really good , the choice is really quite big although a little repetitive over the week , lunch by the pool is open all day .
Th only trip we took was 65euros for Quad Bikes for 2 hours , thats driver and passenger it was so good , I wish we had paid the 95 Eurors for the 4 hours trip ...we booked this on the beach by the hotel and not through Tompson as it was cheaper ...to be honest there is little to do but chill relax and sunbathe ,
A note on sun bathin , dont get caught out by the wind ....keep the SPF high 20 at least , I am a sun lover and I used 15 and burnt , dont say i didn't warn you ....
I spoke to some people who are regular RIU 5 Star users and they were not overwhelmed by the Karamboa , I seems it was to big .
Personally I am already looking are returning later this year , the Hotel , people , vibe , weather , beach , pool , food ............just everything was perfect .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,987
    1,418
    504
    121
    76
See reviews for
904
2,428
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

So, i went a week with a friend to Riu Boavista. I will try to explain the essential stuff.
Rooms, very nice, i was alone in one room, it have all you need ans bed are comfortable.
Beach, great and big. At this time of the year if you want a more soft ocean go in direction of Sal Rei, you will find a more quiet sea and very blue. Lots of beds at the beach, dont worry!!!Enough space for everyone. Some wind but thats normal at this time of year but its not nothing that would keep you from going to the beach and have some hot sun. 70% of the people there had sun burns! And still stay at the sun..
Swiming pool is big but i do prefer the beach.
Food - Great breakfast and lots of space, the lunch was at the swimming pool bar, i did not have lots of things, just some fruit and vegetables because i was still full because of the breakfast. Dinner is also very nice, you have lots os stuff to trie, i also think its good for kids since they have always pizza (and good one!), hamburgers, hot dogs, pasta, all the stuf the kids like. You will also have everyday fresh fish.
The only thing i consider not very good are the cocktails, the other drinks as gin, run, wishky are good.
The entertainemt for the place i thought it was very nice, never thought they would have so many things for you to do.
The Spa is nice, but if you want a i good massage ask for Paulo, he is great.
At the reception, Marlene Duarte is your girl, she will help with everthing you need.
That's it, im returning in Agost with the family, its hotter that time of the year!
Only went to the asian restaurant, i really liked it, but not for the japonese food, but for the chinese, the japonese is not that good.
Went to the gym i few times, its not fancy but it will do.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Before booking this break we checked extensively on various websites including Trip Advisor and now know why so many people rated this hotel so highly. The hotel is situated five mins away from the sweetest airport we have seen so far. The rooms are spotless thanks to hardworking chambermaids. The main resturant was fine and no evidence what so ever of the 'bun fight' that a previous guest mentioned in their review. The food was excellent with plenty of choice, all freshly prepared. We tried the Asian resturant a couple of times which was lovely. The entertainment, if you want to see Tom Jones then go to Vegas! the entertainment staff work really hard and they do a really good job and bear in mind that if you dont want watch it you dont need to, there are other areas you can sit in.
The weather was fantastic at least 30 degrees each day, be careful you dont get caught out by the breeze though, its still really hot! we spent every day on the beach and never had a problem getting a parasol.

We walked along the beach to the town of Sal Rai which is worth a visit, you may be approached by the locals but they were friendly and non confrontational. On the way back we stopped to lunch at the beach bar which is also good and worth a visit.

All in all we had a lovely holiday and met some really lovely people. Being proud Lancastrians we even spent time with a smashing couple from over the border in Yorkshire, we have changed our opinion of Yorkshire folk (glad you enjoyed the Emporium)!!

Would we visit the Islands again and would we use this hotel chain, definately!

Similar to other reviews visit the island now before it is spoilt by development.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

No lifts,100 yard long steep ramp between rooms and reception and lounges, or six flight stairs. Washing area in rooms is open plan to the bedroom. No privacy at all. My partner and I both were ill, we believe it was the food. The hygiene at the buffet tables left a lot to be desired. Fresh hot meat put on top of, and mixed in with the lukewarm meat left in the tray. No facilities in the bedroom for tea or coffee making, from some rooms, to get a drink meant a half mile walk. The pools were exceedingly good and spacious and we swam comfortably. Nowhere to go except a shanty town which cost 10 pouhds each way by taxi.Worst holiday we have ever had.Nothing like the Caribbean.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

For a relaxing holiday, OK no where to walk in the evenings, and little in the way of sightseeing, but just to sit and relax it's brilliant, will go again at same time of year. We took Deet, because there are mosquito's, especially in the evening. No complains about the food,(my husband is a fussy eater) he didn't starve! The hotel is very clean, no paper or rubbish anywhere on the sight, bedroom kept very clean and towels replaced everyday. Take own medication, as very expensive to buy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Have recently returned from a 2 week holiday at the Karamboa. Usually by the end of a 2 week break i'm ready to get home, but not so this time. Would gladly have stayed for a lot longer.

There are so many good things to say about this place.

The food......stunning! I love my food and I was a very happy bunny here. The meat is just ...pukka, especially the pork. Those that opt for the fast food sections are seriously gonna miss out. Breakfast tends to be a little repetitious, yet with bacon as good as this, who cares? They even had waffles.

The downside to breakfast is the coffee..seriously bad stuff. Yet it's like a really bad smell; after a while you get used to it!

On the subject of drink ,the alcohol is free flowing. The local beer is most acceptable and do try the Ponche - very good - as is the port ("Porto") ...helps to wash down the wonderful cheeses at dinner. Most pleased to see regular supplies of blue cheese. The bar staff are always cheerful as are all the staff. They work so hard.

The sun is hot! Pukka! Often there was cloud first thing but who cares? It's gone by mid morning, that's all that matters. The seabed was quite shallow up to about 30 metres out so you could wade out quite far, which is great cause that's when you hit the waves! Many people diving into the waves/swimming with them...just awesome. The waves tend to have died out by the time they hit the beach, though there is a strong drag so kids will need to be accompanied.

Accomodation is very clean as is the hotel generally.

The entertainment team work tirelessly and do all they can. Plenty to do during the day if, like me, your not one for lying on your back.

Can i find anything negative? Not without being really picky! Like the toilet roll holders; they had no end piece so whenever you pulled the paper, the roll would start to fall off. How picky is that! My only displeasure was the distinct lack of salted butter to spread on their gorgeous freshly baked bread. Why is it you can never get salted butter when you travel abroad?!

I must also complain to those who convinced us to take Deet. A case load of the stuff and not a single mosquito to appreciate its fine aroma. Don't waste your money!

Can't wait to go back. An excellent 4 star though probably lacking in the "extras" department to justify 5 star status.

As for the plane...........comfty seats, shame there was no toilet at the front! The plane is old style and a little cramped, yet quite comfortable and i'm 6 feet 2.

If you're thinking of going, don't hesitate. If you're about to go, lucky you!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

I stayed here for two weeks with my boyfriend. The hotel is very impressive only 5 mins drive from the airport and stands alone on the seafront with no other buildings for miles. Everything is totally spotless and empty drinks/plates are cleared away almost instantly. There are drinks stations dotted around for self service beer/wine/soft drinks and tea/coffee as well as several bar areas. Pool area is fantastic with great swim up bar. Beach is lovely but sea very choppy. There is daily entertaininment going on i.e. shooting, water polo etc and also evening shows every night (not amazing but enjoyable-especially the michael jackson moonwalk which one of the dancers does) and also a karaoke bar and small nightclub. Rooms are cleaned to high standard daily. The bathroom is open plan from the bedroom but there is a seperate door on the toilet so dont worry. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room or room service. The food is plentiful and varied with one main buffet restaurant for breakfast (I liked the pancakes and waffles at breakfast made infront of you) and dinner and 3 themed restaurants of which the asian was the best. You can have lunch at the poolside snack buffet or at the main restaurant. All the restaurants are buffet style and there is no sit down a la carte menu type meals on offer. We were disappointed that the buffet meals on offer did not change in the themed restaurants over the two week period we were there. There are no newspapers/magazines to buy and the tv has a limited number of English channels with few football matches shown if that is important for you? (it was for my b/f) but quite a few movie channels. There is a spa with massage/jacuzzi/sauna but the gym only has treadmills and a bike so no weights etc. We went on a 4 x 4 trip which was good and showed you all around the island. Weather was fantastic everyday! Reaching 42 degrees one day as a man with a digital thermometer tiold us. Overall we had a good holiday which was well worth the price. The hotel is more a 4* than 5* though. I would recommend a week rather than two just because the hotel is so isolated and we got a little fed up with the buffet food by the end. I would go back again and definately good for kids.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clubhotel Riu Karamboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clubhotel Riu Karamboa

Address: Lote HO 1, Urb. Morrinho de Baguincho | Praia de Salines, Boa Vista, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boa Vista
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Boa Vista
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clubhotel Riu Karamboa 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the island Boavista in the Cape Verde Islands. 2-Storey main building and 3-storey annexes. Situated on the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach. 7 Km to Sal Rei. 1,5 Km from the airport. Credit cards accepted: Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clubhotel Riu Karamboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa Hotel Boa Vista
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa Boa Vista
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa Cape Verde/Boa Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clubhotel Riu Karamboa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.