We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second trip (Dinner for two) as enjoyable as the first (Catered Party)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Mountain Restaurant

Black Mountain Restaurant
2999 Rt. 8, North Creek, NY
518-251-2800
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in North Creek
Restaurant details
Syracuse, New York
1 review
“Second trip (Dinner for two) as enjoyable as the first (Catered Party)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have no idea who wrote the negative reviews but my wife and I couldn't get over the dining experience on either visit. It has become a stop on our trips between Syracuse and Vermont. I recommend Black Mtn. to all the fellow leaf peepers and travelers. One night we had the lobster soup and it was to die for. When we came back to have dinner another time we were looking for the lobster soup and we had to opt for the creamy tomato which was equally sumptuous. The steaks are prepared to perfection and were similar to that of Ruth Chris at a portion of the price. The Chicken Parm is also an excellent choice and it had great cheeses to enhance the flavor. The wait staff were all courteous and couldn't do enough for us. We especially look forward to the next dirty martinis and the fresh and crisp salad with all the fixings. Bravo to this North Creek treasure *****.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glens Falls, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Dinner & Service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Was there for our first time this past Monday night and we were so pleasantly suprised! My partner and I each enjoyed some sushi followed by the steak and pork. Everything was prepared and cooked to perfection! It was slightly chilly so I do suggest possibly using the fireplaces. The server was very attentive and curtious. Really enjoyed ourserlves and happy we found it. Will be Back!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My Fav in North Creek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My family and I spend most weekends up in North Creek skiing at Gore Mountain. While bemoaning the lack of restaurant options in the gondola, someone recommended that we try Black Mountain. When we got there we were a bit suspicious as the restaurant is located in the middle of a motel. Don't let that keep you from trying it. The restaurant is low key and decorated in a quaint Adirondack style. The food is truly wonderful. Really. They have a fairly extensive menu and we have never left unhappy. Give them a try. I believe that you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Exactly what you'd want after the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We've eaten here a few times with groups of friends and came here alone in August 2012. We always have the same waitress, and she's always fabulous. The beers are really reasonable, and they have a good selection. The bar is especially cute, with an upside-down boat providing storage for the glassware. We got the mussels as an appetizer, and it was fabulous; the sandwiches we got for dinner were tasty as well. So glad they were open on a Monday night; we had a great experience!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Creek, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Attended a private party at the restaurant. Great food and friendly staff made the party a success. Would highly recommend the restaurant and try the stuffed salmon entree.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Mountain Restaurant also viewed

 
North Creek, NY
 

Been to Black Mountain Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Mountain Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.