We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Black Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Black Mountain Lodge
Route 8, North Creek, NY   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights stay,3rd is free
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Creek
Clifton Park, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A very nice visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

The room was very clean. Fixtures were dated and no kleenix in the room. The pub service was excellent owing to the fact that they had 3 parties of at least 6. The food was fresh and hot. Erin and Lindsey were excellent servers. The live music after dinner was a nice surprise so we stayed. I would recommend based on price and location right near Gore.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

i've stayed at the black mountain lodge over a dozen times, most recently via an impromptu layover en route to the high peaks. first and foremost i'd like to thank mark and his staff for their generosity that evening. if you love the ADKs, being out and away, enjoy conversation and great food, the black mountain lodge is the perfect stop. over the course of my most recent evening i had conversations with bikers, physicians and ADK locals. toss in a long talk with a retired united pilot that provided climbing stories spanning from yosemite with patagonia founder yvon chouinard to switzerland and you'll get the flavor. if i'm running the hudson in spring, hitting up gore on a weekday, or simply need a great bite and clean room en route to the high peaks, this is one of the no-brainers when asked by friends or family, "where are we going to stay?". let the snow fly.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delanson, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I stayed at Black Mountain Lodge with my husband. The food and hospitality were excellent. The rooms were relatively clean and well kept. It's definitely out in the middle of nowhere but a quaint, cute place. I would go there again for an overnight getaway.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The room was cute. We stayed in the suite. There was shampoo, but no conditioner (which I normally bring but of course I forgot). The check in and out was weird. I had to look all over for someone to check in and when we went to check out there were no instructions or anyone to drop the key off too or a drop box. So we left it in the room. The wings and drinks were pretty good. I'd stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

My wife and myself decided to get away for a few days and it had been about a year since our last trip to the southern Adirondacks. When I heard the Black Mtn Lodge had reopened I had to stay there again if nothing else to bring back some old memories and hopefully make some new ones. The Black Mountain Lodge and staff did not disappoint. The rooms were clean and well kept, the grounds were beautiful and you had your own sandy beach out front that must admit I used for sunbathing Thursday morning even though there was a chill in the air.
The Pub part of the Lodge was exceptional, The food was very good I had the Roast Beef on a wick and six wings with a sweet and tangy sauce that I would put on anything, Its that good. Wife ordered and sliced steak on toast points with a salad and fries which she said it was very good.. She didnt share. Happy Hour is pretty decent with beer and mix drink specials and a three dollar Margarita. All in all real nice place priced right and with leaf peeping season coming up its a place Ill be to at least once more in the next few weeks.

Room Tip: Cell service is spotty. but its most places in the Adirondacks but my cheap 19$ phone worked better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Tonite my husband and I went to the re-opened Black Mountain Inn to have dinner and it was terrible from the bar, service and food. Our appetizer came out after 30 minutes of waiting and our entrees came out right after. How so you make a tasteless Mushroom Swiss Burger? Our bill was $54,00 and not worth $25. Save your money.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark O, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
I have read this review several times and I'm truly stumped! I emailed Robin directly upon receiving her review and have never gotten a return note. I was in the restaurant the night Robin and her husband came in and spoke to them for a short time as well. I know we were busy and extremely short staffed due to two weddings in town and a large festival going on at the Ski Bowl. In my response to Robin I offered to comp their next dinner in hopes of getting them back in. Because I have not heard back from her and because this is her 1 and only review I can only think that this was a personal attack on our establishment.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Beach, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We found the food here fantastic, great Buffalo wings and beef on wick. The motel was another thing. Owner/staff unable to determine which rooms were clean and could be occupied. One room was unlocked by staff and we were told there was no key for it. We watched them check in another guest and give him the keys to an already occupied room beside us. There appeared to be at least 24 units to rent here and turned out only 4 were rented the night we were there. Poor management that can not even manage to rent out 4 rooms without all the difficulty. The rooms were confortable however.

Even with the check in difficulties, would stay again if in the area, everyone was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark O, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
I welcome your comments as my Hotel experience is limited. Since taking The Black Mountain Lodge over in December last year, I have replaced mattresses, cleaned carpets, remodeled rooms and obtained new bedding and upgraded our online presence. My Hotel experience is definitely a work in progress and I appreciate the reviews so I may be of better service to future customers. As with most North Country businesses hiring good staff is always hard.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Lodge

Address: Route 8, North Creek, NY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > North Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service destination Lodge in the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Black Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Mountain Hotel North Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.