We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gore Mountain

Gore Mountain
793 Peaceful Valley Road, North Creek, NY 12853
+1 518-251-2411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in North Creek
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A premier winter recreation destination with the most skiable terrain in New York State and a towering 2537' vertical drop. Enjoy a welcoming family-oriented atmosphere, an immense variety of terrain, and high-speed lifts including an eight-passenger gondola. Conveniently located with 25 scenic minutes of I-87. Open for off-season activities including scenic gondola rides, mountain biking, and base area attractions during the warmer months.
Albany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great trip up the mountain in the gondola! Hike down was just as amazing! Alpine loop at top of the mountain was a must do. Staff helpful in helping us which hikes to choose..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    38
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The mountain was beautiful. Appreciated the gondola because it was really bitterly cold. The snow was really good at Big Gore, but wasn't great at Little Gore. Some of the trails were closed because of snow coverage.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Summer Gondola Ride & Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Gondola was worth the trip & the $13 per person ticket. I would say the views going up & down the 8 minute lift ride were the best, because once at the summit quite a few of the views were obstructed by trees...that said, I do want to be clear that the views from the Gondola were magnificent. Now, onto lunch. The Open Pit Grille on the sundeck at Gore Mountain was dreadful. My chicken sandwich was inedible. Clearly the chicken was cooked on the grill straight from frozen; it was rubbery, tasteless & still cold in the center. Even with my best teeth chomping I couldn't break through the rubbery breast. Not again.

As for the resort itself, I would imagine this is a fairly basic resort - the seating area in the main canteen reminded me of a school cafeteria with little fold-up round stools. Maybe this is typical for a ski-resort though...I'm not sure I would eat there. I would certainly consider skiing there, but I'd pack my own lunch, or go else where based on my experience at the Open Pit Grille.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced, nasty staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stopped to take a summer trip up Gore. Found out the hard way it is extremely expensive, and the staff really didn't appreciate us interrupting their afternoon. The views are great, but the atmosphere is not.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Quick gondola ride to the top. Great views during the ride and with some easy walking, even better panoramic views to be seen!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gore Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Gore Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gore Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.