We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ben back 3 times !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gore Mountain

Gore Mountain
793 Peaceful Valley Road, North Creek, NY 12853
+1 518-251-2411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in North Creek
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A premier winter recreation destination with the most skiable terrain in New York State and a towering 2537' vertical drop. Enjoy a welcoming family-oriented atmosphere, an immense variety of terrain, and high-speed lifts including an eight-passenger gondola. Conveniently located with 25 scenic minutes of I-87. Open for off-season activities including scenic gondola rides, mountain biking, and base area attractions during the warmer months.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ben back 3 times !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We come to gore mountain with a large group of friends once a year! Always a great time! Surrounding area is beautiful. We also make sure we go snowmobiling and tubing before we leave! Great weekend getaway!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    38
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Always had a very good tome at Gore Mountain, always in excellent shape and it's a place for all levels and ages.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hiked to the top from downtown North Creek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hiked the Schaefer trail to the top of GORE. Trails we're in good shape but due to the lateness of the season the stubble from brush cutting was covered with leaves and we both tripped more than once. Had a picnic on top and watched the weather start rolling in. Took part off the Schaefer trail down then switched to the Rabbit Pond trail. Tried to intersect the Oakridge trail but couldn't see/find the markers. So ended up going way out of our way on the Rabbit Pond trail heading back to Northcreek. Beautiful, quiet and surprisingly no wildlife for the entire trip. Saw some really pretty waterfalls along the way. It took us 7 hours round trip at a casual pace.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good ski resort in upstate NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A very nice mountain, but the weather and natural snow is capricious in the Adirondacks, man made snow and grooming not always as effective as they could be. Can tell it is a state run, not private resort.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“When there is snow, there's snow place like Gore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Awesome ski resort. Owned by the state so, not overdeveloped like other larger resorts. Friendly people working there. Well maintained facilities. Awesome skiing when they have snow. No snow in 2012, so kind of a bummer. Maybe 2013 will be better. I used to ski here when I was a kid and there was always snow. You didn't have to check the weather or snow report. You knew there would be snow, and plenty of it. Now you have to find out if it might rain in January, and wait until they get a snow storm and some cold weather, and hope you can make time to go. Only place left is Canada, and the only good skiing there is West Coast. Oh well, we will keep dreaming of long, cold, snowy winters. Maybe someday they will return. Oh, and the prices are a bit different than I remember as a kid. It used to be affordable to ski there, but they put in a new gondola, and the price doubled. The old gondola went straight to the top too. The new one only goes half way. Oh well, I guess since they have to make so much snow now, due to crummy weather, they have to cover the cost of that operation as well. Anyhow, it is still worth the trip, if there is snow. Real snow.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gore Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Gore Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gore Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.