We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basil is Better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Basil & Wick's

Basil & Wick's
3195 State Route 28, North Creek, NY 12853
518-251-3100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in North Creek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $22
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Troy, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Basil is Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I would have to say I was so pleasantly surprised with our visit tonight after being let down a few times in the past. I can see and taste the effort towards Culinary excellence has Basil moving in the right direction. The Calamari done Buffalo style was great as was the Chopped salad. Cherie enjoyed her Clams and salad too. As locals we are always cheering for the home team and we will be back. Its nice to have another place in town we can send our friends and family when they visit. Please please do something with that Dessert menu...Brownie Sundae..Really???? Creme Brule Please!!! Pie???

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    36
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brant Lake, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Just had an incredible meal, cocktail and service at Basil and Wicks! I have been in the restaurant business for 20 years and really appreciate when the food, drinks and service are top notch. Our service was great and the cosmo was just as good....thanks Jeanie (sp)! The food was everything we were told it would be, just delightful! Cant wait to have the tuna tostados again, my guests raved about the food as well. The place was very busy for a Wednesday night and still the service was impressive. Great place well worth the trip!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Highly recommend this place! We had 9 people and everyone EXCEPT the teenagers who got the cesar salad loved their meals. As just about every other restaurant on the planet, way to much dressing. Asking for dressing on the side takes care of that problem of course! The sesame coated tuna was fabulous! The big screen with fun videos playing is a nice touch..kids loved it. we made reservations and were seated immediately when we arrived on Presidents weekend. Also, our waiter was adorable!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best thing in North Creek since the turn of the century!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We went for dinner the other night and had a pasta dish with clams and shrmip with a cream suuce that was excellent. my wife has a fish dish and a steamed clams appitizer. Cooked devinely and couldn't have been better. Service was impecable, and as for that comment by some "Community colllege chef" he has no idea what he is taling about. This is a professional operation and not a cafaateria like i have learned he runs.
Maybe he should venture out into the real worl and know what he is talking about. and a $27 bar bill makes me question his review. Sober review would havebeen nice!
Stay sober "Chef"!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Creek, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Basil and Wicks is a great place for a good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Basil and Wicks is a great place for a good Meal. or a drink after Skiing or work. Take the Family or just go Enjoy a varied Menu and great atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil & Wick's also viewed

 

Been to Basil & Wick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basil & Wick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.