We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed it - only a couple of issues, but would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Alpine Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Alpine Lodge to your Saves list
The Alpine Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   264 Main St., North Creek, NY 12853   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Make-your-own ski day!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Creek
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“We enjoyed it - only a couple of issues, but would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night last week on our way home from Portsmouth, NH. We arrived late at night, so we appreciated the unique self check-in system of using a keycode to enter your room. Unfortunately, when we arrived, the door to our room was open. I don't mean unlocked ... I mean it was open about 3 inches! We didn't even have to use the keycode to enter. This made us a little unsettled, but we brought our stuff into the room anyway. It had been heavily raining for hours, so when we got into the room it was damp. We were also joined by flies who must have been seeking refuge from the weather! Otherwise, the room was very clean and we were pleased with the comfort and size of the king bed and the overall decor. After we closed/locked the door and turned on the air conditioner, it only took a couple of hours to get rid of most of the dampness in the room.
Our other issue was that we could not get the wifi to work on 3 different devices. We were relying on it to be able to plan our itinerary for the next day, but it wasn't really that big of a deal.

Overall, we did still enjoy our stay. We would return one day, and if we did, we would contact the manager-on-site immediately with any issues. We had just arrived so late and all we wanted to do was settle in for the night. Next time, hopefully we would be able to stay for longer than one night and really get to know the property!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    29
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
38
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Alpine Lodge was a sweet relaxing place - very clean, lovely rustic looking furniture, cozy room. Leo the manager was always available and helpful with great suggestions on how and where to relax in the local lakes and great food. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed here as part of a weekend trip on the Saratoga and North Creek Railway. We got there at night, and it was a bit odd trying to figure out how to use the code for the room. (This confusion and lack of information may have been the fault of the travel agent who put the package together, not the hotel.) We thought we were supposed to use it to get into the common room, not directly into our individual rooms. Once we figured it out, everything was fine.
I like that they have so many room configurations, which is great for families. Beds were comfy, bathroom was large, with a good mirror. The bed frames are heavy log furniture, and the mattress is quite high, which could be difficult for someone with mobility issues, but it wasn't a problem for us. Our room had a little balcony off the back.
Although there was nobody around when we arrived, the next day we met the women who clean the rooms. They were very nice to talk to and we heard tales of how deep the snow gets there in the winter! Our return train was leaving after checkout, so we used the housephone to call the manager, who kindly arranged a late checkout, since our room wasn't booked for the next night.
If you stay here, be sure to go to the nearby restaurant, I think it's called Marsha's. Fabulous blueberry pancakes, light and fluffy with real blueberries.
The town is nice for strolling around. Cute shops, and if you walk a bit farther, nice views of the Hudson River.

Room Tip: Go to their website and look at the room configurations to see what's best for you. We had a que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent New Year's weekend at the Alpine Lodge with friends and had a great time -- what a find! Our room number and key code to access the door were sent to us via email prior to our arrival; therefore, there was no need to check in (while there isn't an official "front desk," it actually saved time). The on-site manager, Casey, was just a phone call away, if needed. We stayed in a standard king room which was absolutely immaculate and extremely cozy. Our friends stayed in a handicap standard king (with extra room in the bathroom) and luxury king (which was nice given the extra space, gas fireplace and Jacuzzi tub). Casey kindly showed us the Eagles Nest suite which is absolutely beautiful with two bedrooms, gourmet kitchen/bar, fireplace, desk and pull out couch. Since it only has one bathroom (the two sinks and separate toilet closet are a plus), it would be difficult for two couples to share (at least for us), but it would be a great space for a family.

The lodge is located directly on Main Street -- in between Marsha's (hearty breakfast -- great cure for a new year's hangover!) and Cafe Sarah (great coffee drinks, breakfast burrito and many delectable treats!). For dinner, we went to Bar Vino two nights in a row (phenomenal tapas wine bar with 100 wines and 30 beers -- see my other review); Lorenzo's (rack of lamb was good -- didn't care for duck as it was fattier than usual and the sauce was bland). Trappers Tavern is located in the same inn next to Lorenzo's -- really nice bar with great staff. There is also a Grand Union right down the street.

The Gore Mountain shuttle picked us up in the Alpine Lodge parking lot, so it couldn't be any more convenient. While the trials were limited due to lack of snow, we will definitely be back. Thanks, Casey, for your great disposition (and thanks, Sharon, for renovating this place). :-)

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

After the 5 hour drive from New York, I want to park the car and relax. Within walking distance of The Alpine Lodge are several restaurants, taverns, shops, and services. We rafted with North Creek Rafting Company which is a two minute walk away, enjoyed a gourmet meal at barVino which is two doors down, and had breakfast at Cafe Sarah right next door. Besides the convenient central location, the rooms were spotless, spacious, and tastefully decorated. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We would highly recommend the “ The Alpine Lodge” in the quaint town of North Creek, New York. The room was beautifully decorated in Adirondack style, spotless and quiet. The staff was accommodating and friendly. The check in and check out was simple, The Alpine Lodge had sent a door code via email and we didn’t need a key. Our room had a Jacuzzi tub, fireplace and king size bed.. The location was great, we were in walking distance to several restaurants and a grocery store. We have been visiting the Adirondacks for over 35 years and this was our best accommodations to date!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We loved this place! The bed was so comfortable and the pot belly fireplace was fabulous. The bathroom was standard standup shower and the sink was not in the bathroom but in the room. But we didn't mind it at all. I loved it there, and there is a fabulous bakery in walking distance. A great place to stay in the Adirondack Mountains!

Room Tip: Room #4 was a standard king! Great room, just don't turn on the ceiling fan if you are stilling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Lodge

Address: 264 Main St., North Creek, NY 12853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > North Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alpine Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Lodge is the newest and one of the most unique lodging facilities in the beautiful Gore Mountain region in Northern New York State. A wonderful example of the Adirondack Great Camp style, The Alpine Lodge is located in the charming small town of North Creek in the midst of the beautiful and scenic Adirondack Mountains. Convenient down-town location; walk to restaurants, grocery, and shopping- perfect for après-ski! Just a 5 minute drive to Gore Mountain. The Alpine Lodge is located within a short drive of numerous year-round activities. Each guest room in the Lodge is small and cozy, and features a television with dvd player, CD player, WiFi, specially designed furnishings, and private bathroom with stall shower. Some rooms boast a gas woodstove and/or Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alpine Hotel North Creek
Alpine Hotel North Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alpine Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.