We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alpine Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Alpine Lodge to your Saves list
The Alpine Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   264 Main St., North Creek, NY 12853   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Whitewater Adventure!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Creek
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I stayed here so I could be somewhat central to the adirondacks region. The check in and check out was great because there was none!!! I had arrived at midnight so very convenient.

Alot of restaurants are close by, being a small town! Loved that bar vino was 10 steps away! An you can just explore the cute town!

The place was very clean, bed was very comfortable. The service was very friendly. And it was close enough to trails and things to do.

Overall the down sidewas no fridge and the room was a tad small but overall I would love to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    31
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Bank, NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed at the Alpine Lodge due to the proximity to Gore Mountain. There is no other place worthwhile that is closer in the area that you can stay at. Gore is a mere 5 minute drive from the hotel.

The hotel is relatively new and has a nice rustic feel to it (rustic without meaning old here). The rooms are very nicely done and have a log cabin feel to them. They are a little bit tight, but they make up for it in comfort! The beds were extremely comfortable and the room was exceptionally clean.

The check-in kiosk is a little odd but it is what it is. It is a self-check in system, so if you are a travelor who requires attention in the middle of the night, this may not be the place for you. The only thing missing from the lodge is a pool and hot tub area. It does feature a community room, but it is nothing to write home about.

Overall, our stay here was excellent and I would highly recommend that anyone travelling to Gore Mountain for the weekend consider the Alpine Lodge as a lodging option, you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

My family and I were in search of a place to stay while we spent a week skiing at Gore Mountain. Gore made sense given the distance to Oakville, Ontario, its vertical, and the diversity of its trails. I found the Alpine Lodge via a Google search and subsequently exchanged numerous emails with Casey (the manager) and Sharon (the owner) prior to booking the Eagle's Nest for a week beginning 3/12/11. We lined up lift tickets for Gore and got several recommendations for dinner spots which would cater to our daughter's Celiac Disease.

We arrived around 4:00pm and let ourselves into the Eagle's Nest. The only challenge was me lugging our luggage up the stairs. But once in the suite, the trials and tribulations of the effort melted away. Fully equipped kitchen, 2 nice sized bedrooms, a full bathroom, plenty of closet space, an office like nook, and a large family room with the requisite large fireplace and even larger LCD TV were there for us to enjoy for the next 7 days (the pictures you will uncover during searches are indeed accurate!). And on the days when it warmed up over 10C, the balcony overlooking Main Street proved to be a good place to have an apre ski beverage. The self check in is a breeze unless one can't remember a 4 digit number so discount prior reviews on the challenges of same if you pass this simple test. And the housekeeping team had the place looking nearly new each day.

Gore is 5 minutes away, there are a wealth of local spots within 2 blocks for shopping (food, drug store, adult beverages), eating and drinking, and the run down to Glens Falls (per Casey, a good idea to stock up on food) is only about 45 minutes. All in all, we had a great stay. The only disappointment was that the much heralded interconnect between Gore and the Ski Bowl was not open during our stay. But the children are already to come back again next year as the combination of Alpine Lodge, Gore Mountain, and a relatively quick drive from Oakville, Ontario (<600 kms; 6.5 hours door to door) represents a compelling value.

Regarding Gore, it is a solid value - great vertical, plenty of trail variety, long, wide, and sometimes very steep cruisers, worked for all four of us. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only drawback was the onerous prices for food and beverages. After dropping close to $50 for 4 soft drinks, some fries, a salad, and 4 pieces of pizza on day 1, we packed our lunches the next 4 days.

On a final note, we dined at Basil and Wicks twice. We will return there as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Check in and out was the easiest I have ever experienced. Probably since there is no actual hotel/lodge lobby! Went into booking this place with a very different perception. Each room has its own individual entrance from outside.... kind of like a motel feel.... did not like that at all. Went for a snowboard weekend to temps were down to -6, expected a nice toasty room... got quite the opposite!! However, the manager on duty (CASEY!) was extremely helpful! The "motel" is seconds away from Gore Mountain, bonus! Close to shops and restaurants too! Definitely try out Trappers Tavern, delish!!! The king size bed is huge! and super comfy! The room itself was clean and had a lodge wooden feel. Bathroom was clean. and Balcony was nice, but we never used it... views were so-so. Overall it was okay, nothing to brag about! If your coming in the area just to snowboard or ski its very close and works for that. Otherwise I would try some place else next time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

My husband and I were looking for a weekend get away and came upon The Alpine Lodge because of its close proximity to us. Upon arrival we were greeted by the manager, who asked if there is anything she could help us with. She also made sure to let us know to contact her with any questions.

We loved the look of the Alpine Lodge. It is in a very convenient location within walking distance to everything- coffee, restaurants, groceries, shops. The rooms are very clean and were so nicely done with beautiful log beds and log furniture. There was a very nice flat screen tv in our room and with a sitting area with sofa and rocker.

North Creek is a very quaint town with some nice shops to check out. The area is great for biking, hiking and rafting in the summer and skiing in the winter.

We would HIGHLY recommend The Alpine Lodge to anyone looking for a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Alpine Lodge on the way back from a trip to Quebec so we were just looking for a clean place to stay the night. This is a VERY well-run, absolutely SPOTLESS place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Based off of other hotels in the area, i found that this one was more home-y and had the woods/log cabin feel that i wanted. the hotel is amazing, decorations made you feel like you were in a log cabin. the shower was big for the normal room, nice screen tv. too. the great lounge had a fireplace and great information about things to do or the area around you. the price was cheap for this type of place. I highly recommend it , especially if you want to surprise a love one. nice distance to extremeadronacks-ropes course, and the restuarants were literally located next door.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Lodge

Address: 264 Main St., North Creek, NY 12853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > North Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alpine Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Lodge is the newest and one of the most unique lodging facilities in the beautiful Gore Mountain region in Northern New York State. A wonderful example of the Adirondack Great Camp style, The Alpine Lodge is located in the charming small town of North Creek in the midst of the beautiful and scenic Adirondack Mountains. Convenient down-town location; walk to restaurants, grocery, and shopping- perfect for après-ski! Just a 5 minute drive to Gore Mountain. The Alpine Lodge is located within a short drive of numerous year-round activities. Each guest room in the Lodge is small and cozy, and features a television with dvd player, CD player, WiFi, specially designed furnishings, and private bathroom with stall shower. Some rooms boast a gas woodstove and/or Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alpine Hotel North Creek
Alpine Hotel North Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alpine Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.