We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMERICA'S WORST” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6505 Niagara Falls Boulevard, Niagara Falls, NY 14304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“AMERICA'S WORST”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This was our second trip to this property. We had decided to give them another try after our first horrible stay over the 2011 New years weekend. The only reason we went back is because we had talked to the owner in person and on the phone. They told us that before opening this place they had actually lived in Scarborough, Ont. So we thought fellow Canadians would treat us right. WRONG. Both times that we stayed there our room was not prepared for guests (no toilet paper, none of the in room ammenities were plugged in, including the heater, broken handle on the sliding door, a safe that did not work and that they actually asked me to fix). When I went to the Front desk I told the lady about our concerns she replied to me "If you guys have so many complaints, why did we come back?" Wow! How about so you can have a job lady! The owner on this point told us "This is not a fancy hotel chain, and that you get what you pay for" Again, Wow! We will not be returning to this property until it changes alot.

Room Tip: Do your research on here and if you ever plan to go back to a town stop by different hotels and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    7
    11
    69
See reviews for
36
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

at check in we where told they were fixing the hot water and asured us it would be no time a all .. well it is now 722am and still no hot water the next day
at 6am we were told to let water run for 10 minutes to clear the pipe of the cold and we would have hot water 30 minutes hter no hot water
that is just the tip of the iceburg
the first room we were given was horrible looks nothing like photos provided toilet wouldnt flush ddnt know there wa trick to flushing a toilet ut here there is you have to be very strong and move the handle around in circles a few times so they changed room to a cleaner one
still rush all around bathroom in new room the sliding glass door takes all my strentgh to open the beakfast is nothing to write home about there is bananas lilcinnamon rolls white bread to make toast a few muffins i dont know how long they have been here but they
noone answers the phone here to put through calls to my room its very hard when your husband is stationed over seas and only has few minutes to make calls
it it totaly un exceptible i do not recomend this hotel to anyone EVER.

Room Tip: Worst hotel ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My son and I searched for a hotel in Niagra Falls for a while and finally found a vacancy at this hotel. It had a friendly staff and the room was dated but it was clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Ok the place stinks - I couldn't even eat breakfast in the breakfast room it smelt so bad.

We arrived and asked for a twin room - they gave us a double - after going up the stairs with our luggage (no elevator) we had to trudge back down and ask for a double. Which they gave us. There were unsavory exchanges being made outside the back of the hotel when we arrived about 9pm.

The room needed a really good clean - it looked dusty and dirty. The reception is also very outdated. It all looks like it's out of an 80's movie but just aged 20years with no cleaning.

I would NOT recommend staying here 100% - read the reviews that don't recommend they are correct!

Room Tip: Don't go hear at all - if you have to choose a floor room as no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel as a last minute honeymoon vacation spot. When we first got there we were a tad disappointed at the appearance of the outside of this hotel. It was very out dated and scummy looking but we just got married and decided that nothing would bring us down and we would have a good time regardless. When we checked in, the young lady at the front desk was very nice and gave us info on the area and a map of Niagara Falls. We then made our way to our room. The hallways stunk of mildew and were very musty smelling. When we opened the door, it was the loudest creeking noise ever but we sort of laughed and shrugged it off. When we got inside, it smelled even worse. The door jams were rotted along with all the baseboards. We booked the jacuzzi suite for 3 nights and decided we would not be going in the jacuzzi because of the uncomfortableness. After talking it over we decided ww would only stay 2 nights and went to ask the young lady if we could change our reservation. She told us that we would have to do it through the Niagara Falls website that we nooked the hotel through. Since she was a nice girl we decided to eat the last nights hotel cost and just check out early and go to a different hotel. We figured the first 2 days we would not be at the hotel much anyway because we would be out site seeing. The first night there I found a bug in our bed but Im almost positive that it wasnt a bed bug so I didnt worry too much. The carpet was filthy and we didnt want to take off our shoes:/ Our first night, we were woken up late at night/early morning by the police pounding on the door across the hallway. Some woman was screaming about wanting her cell phone back. Then 2 mornings later, my husband took his shower in the morning and noticed that the ceiling was leaking above the shower and the tiled was molded, I did not notice this when I took my shower the night before but you could hear the water dripping on to the tile in the ceiling. We left to do the jet boat tour and when we returned I wanted to take a shower. When I went in the bathroom the ceiling tiles had completely fallen down in the tub with mold all around it. We decided that after all this we werent being nice anymore and that we were demanding our money back. The man that was already doing repairs on their roof just happened to be there and told the hotel staff that water was clearly leaking on both sides of the room and that they would be able to fix it with a cap of some sort. The woman at the desk this time was also very nice but explained that she had to wait for the owner. It seemed maybe like the staff there was an Indian family. While we waited for almost 2 hours, another Indian woman came in who didn't really speak much English and started talking to the woman at the desk in their Indian language and they both disappeared. When they returned, the woman at the desk had a completely different attitude and asked us how the ttiles would come down when there was no water leaking.......ummmmmm WHAT?!?!?!?!? They were seriously accusing us of staging the whole thing!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I was so furious! The random lady that just showed up told us to just leave and started yelling in Indian at us!!!! They completely forgot that we were standing right there when the roofing guys told them that there was a bad leak. They totally tried to pull a fast one!!!! We spent $130 a night on this dump and I can not believe the way were treated here! The owner finally came after 2 hours after making a point to tell us that her husband just found out that he had cancer. That just made us feel like complete crap! Im in management and you dont try to make people feel sorry for you! Finally she agreed to give us the money back for the last night and we settled but Im still not satisfied! Customer service is everything to a company and no one deserves to be cussed out! And of all thing in a different language!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

by far the worst inn i've ever been too. the beds were dirty and had hairs on them as well as the towels. The bathroom flush handle didn't even work. The bath tub was dirty. It was unhygienic. the sliding glass door in the back was so hard to open. IT SUCKED!!

Room Tip: just don't go to this inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We reserved our mini vacation for our anniversary thru Niagara USA and it was very easy. We picked this hotel because of price and location. Location wasn't bad. Website said is was a 3 diamond hotel so we expected a little more than what we actually got. The description for the hotel says there is a restaurant and bar inside. This is false. My room amenities said we would have a fridge, microwave, and alarm clock. This is also false. These things were important only because of our length of stay. Every time we entered the building, it had a different smell. Whether it be from food, or a cleaning product. Our bed had no fitted sheet, which made sleeping hard, there was just an extra flat sheet tucked under. Since we reserved everything as a package for our vacation it had to do, but we will not be coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 6505 Niagara Falls Boulevard, Niagara Falls, NY 14304
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.