We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay near the Falls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   454 Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    136
    165
    83
    82
See reviews for
266
155
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When we arrived to our room the staff waa very friendly. However the bedding blankets not comforter cover had cheetos or Doritos cheese fingers all over it.. we reported it to front desk then went out came back and there was a fresh blanket folded on luggage rack but cheesy blanket still on bed.. so we just remade bed ourselves thank you. Again girl at front desk was very nice

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We used to get free rooms at the casino, but due to "life" have not made it up to Niagara Falls for a "gambling weekend" since 2012...the prices for Seneca Niagara Casino and Hotel, were just too high to swallow, given I would be leaving a lot more money than the room charges there.
So I looked elsewhere...We stayed at Howard Johnson's Closest to the Falls, years ago, before we got the free rooms at Seneca and thought it was "ok"... so decided to look there again. I was a little taken back by the reviews, but thought, you know, we are just going to lay our heads at night for a couple of days and get out...
Went online and found a comfortable rate if paid in full ahead of time. We tried to go up in November and had to reschedule due to the high snow in Buffalo, rescheduled again for January...and again, weather prompted us to reschedule. We finally made it this past weekend!!
I have to say, I was not disappointed! Our room, 212, was clean and adequate...I was pleasantly surprised and wondered what all these negative reviews were about! One of the reasons we had not been up to Niagara recently have been that we traveled a little bit in Europe with our son in 2012 and again in 2014 , as he traveled with a prestigious music group for high school students in Cleveland, Oh area, and just didn't have the money to go gamble! This room, although dated, would match any 3-4 star hotel we stayed at in Europe. I saw no bugs or cobwebs as others have stated. Even though dated (it is old), but clean and what to be expected for the price. The front desk staff were nice and friendly and we even met out cleaning person on Saturday who spoke to us and assured she would get to our room...next! This was at 930 in the morning.
I believe a lot of these reviews are unfounded...We even stayed on the floor that has the pool, but noise was not a problem...Earlier in the evening on the day of our arrival...a little noise of kids, but by the time we got back, about 9:00pm...all was quiet. We did hear a dog barking on Sunday, as this is a pet friendly hotel...but you know what...we felt at home and it really didn't bother us that much.
For a comfortable night, and not have to pay Seneca Niagara Casino prices, this will do it...and I really feel if you have a problem, the desk staff would do all they could to take care of you.
Planning to go back in July, and I would not hesitate to stay here again. Yes, we have stayed at more luxurious places, but for the money and what you plan to do here...the ratings and reviews by others is not warranted.
Have a great trip...Oh and, Seneca has really tightened the machines since I was there last...so beware!

Room Tip: Room 212 was clean and adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were nice enough and the staff was accommodating. The parking was atrocious...the breakfast (if thats what you would call it) was very disappointing. There is no view of the falls from the US side...don't let the area or name of the hotel fool you.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although the hotel was in a decent location for visiting the Falls, Casino and seeing Canda, it was the dirtiest place I have ever stayed. The toilet seat was filthy, the shower drain was moldy, the carpet was sticky, the window seals had dead bugs in it and the beds were disgusting. Not to mention the elevator (that I swear) someone was lifting by pulling the cable wires. GLAD it was only a one night stay!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Address: 454 Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.