We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room, although efficient, convenient, and clean, was/is...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   454 Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 48 hotels in Niagara Falls
Kirksey
1 review
“Our room, although efficient, convenient, and clean, was/is...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our room, although efficient, convenient, and clean, was/is in need of being updated. We stayed for two days/nights. We were perplexed as to why the room was not cleaned, coffee re-supplied, and why towels, soap and other bath items were not re-supplied. As far as the room itself, we have no major complaints.. ideal location to the falls, and other attractions made our stay at HoJo very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our hotel online. I am very happy you found the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY to have efficient, convenient and clean rooms. I am also glad you found our proximity to the falls and major attractions a bonus. Our housekeeping staff cleans and resupplies all rooms on a daily basis unless the guest requests no service. I am sorry your room was not resupplied with fresh towels and amenities. I spoke with the head housekeeper to ensure this does not happen in the future. I am glad you had a good stay with us and will direct your comments to ownership. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    115
    132
    72
    68
See reviews for
215
130
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

After reading several reviews I had mixed feelings about staying here. We arrived early and were checked right in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and decent though dated. We were pleased with the overall experience and would gladly stay there again. Staff was daily updating and cleaning. It is clear the staff cares about the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel online. I am very happy you found the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY to have clean, spacious rooms, a very friendly staff and be a good value. The staff at the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY does care and work hard every day to ensure all our guests leave happy. Thanks again for your comments. I will share them with the staff We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We just returned from staying at this hotel for a night. I'll start with the good. Room was spacious and clean. Had a refrig., microwave, coffee maker, all clean. Amenities were fine. Location was good. Our room was on the 4th floor, back of building with a view of the park. Much nicer than a view of the gas station across the road. Pool looked ok, but we didn't use it. There was a small game room. The young lady who checked us in was nice enough. Check in was quick.

Now the bad. Older, dated hotel. Back to the good, room was clean. At night there was music blasting out the building, maybe the game room or pool? i don't know but I wouldn't have wanted a room by the source. At the entrance way to the hotel were luggage carts, with disgusting looking carpet on them. I would not have wanted to use them. Now the worse, the breakfast included. Room was tiny. Very disappointing choices. Danish pastries, cereal, and a loaf of bread sitting there for toast that everyone had been putting their hands in. We passed on that. Also oranges and apples. Only juice was apple. Orange juice delivery man didn't show up they said. That's it. When we checked in there was a man sitting at a desk to sell tour packages, and the clerk said, "This is Joe. He's going to help you book your tour." I thought, "No he's not, we already bought the discovery package." We just walked on past him.

For one night it was fine. We were in the room very little time anyway. Good location, clean room, pathetic breakfast. That sums it up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel online. I am glad you found the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY to have spacious and clean rooms with nice amenities. I am also happy you took advantage of our location. The Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls proximity to the falls and all major attractions make us a great destination. We do offer additional seating in the lobby for our free continental breakfast. I have spoken to the maintenance engineer and owner regarding your concerns. They will be addressed. Thanks for your comments as they help us do a better job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at this Howard Johnson based on the reviews and proximaty to the falls. What a huge disappointment. As stated by another reviewer, the room and lobby are in desparate need of refurbishing. One of the chairs in the room has a horrible stain on it. The windows were filthy. The bathtub needed a good scrubing with a strong cleanser, and the waste water drain was yanked out. Towels were small and like sandpaper as was the bathroom paper. Do Not Use the lobby computer as the keyboard was encrusted with dirt and dust! The "continental breakfast room" is smaller that my guest room closet. Will not ever stay at another HoJo again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I have spoken to housekeeping and maintenance regarding the condition of your room to ensure windows and tubs are cleaned on a regular basis. We just finished upgrading our lobby (9/25/13) with new furniture and a different color scheme for a warmer more inviting atmosphere. We do have additional seating in the lobby for our free continental breakfast and serve fresh coffee all day. Thanks again for your comments and we hope you consider giving us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls

Address: 454 Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.