We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   454 Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Painted Post
1 review
“Serviceable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Not spectacular, but got the job done. The real fun was to be had outside the motel about town, visiting what Niagara Falls has to offer. Indoor pool was a good thing for my kids, who very much like to swim and goof around in the water.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    130
    159
    79
    81
See reviews for
253
150
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is old and has probably seen better days. It was reasonably clean and for the price and purpose of the trip was sufficient. The pool was nicely heated and the pool room nice and warm, especially looking at all the snow outside! The breakfast was very very basic, juices, cereal, coffee, tea, toast, muffins. No yogurt or fruit and no eggs, bacon etc. all in all very cheap and basic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor concerning your stay at our Howard Johnson Hotel in Niagara Falls, NY. We are glad you enjoyed our 36' x 18' indoor heated pool and sauna. We do offer a free continental breakfast at our hotel and are looking into ways of improving it. At Howard Johnson we strive to provide our guests with friendly service at a reasonable price. Thanks for choosing us and please consider Howard Johnson in your future travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Good location, no parking fees.i choose this place over other hotels thinking that was going to be able to save some money because "breakfast was included".the food was not that Good so we end up having breakfast every morning At denny's.they forgat to gave us towels on our second day. hotel needs some renovations.We only used the hotel to sleep.maybe That's why i don't have more conplaints.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a review about our howard Johnson Hotel in Niagara Falls, NY. Our location makae us an ideal choice for travelers visiting the Niagara region. We offer a free continental breakfast consisting of assorted muffins, danish pastry, assorted cold /hot cereals, wheat/white breads, fruit, coffee, tea. hot chocolate, orange and apple juice.
I am sorry you found this inadequate. I also apoligize housekeeping forgot to give you towels.Our staff strives to provide our guests with the best possible service in a friendly manner. The front desk staff woul have gladely supplied you with towels upon request. Once again thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Pleasse consider us again if your future travel plans include the Niagara Falls, NY region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice but very noisy because of high wind hat weekend we stayed. Wi fi was excellent.
Room was nice, had fridge, coffe machine and Microwave.
We stay ed room 506 had 2 queen beds. better pilow selection for the room whould have helped my wife sleep better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at The Howard
Johnson Hotel in Niagara Falls, NY. We are glad your stay was a happy one. Our staff strives to provide our guests with clean comfortable rooms and friendly service at a reasonable price. Housekeeping or the front desk would have gladly provided you with more pillows upon request. Once again, thank you. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I originally reviewed this hotel in 2010 and this year we stayed there again. There are a couple things to know about this hotel, yes it is dated, and yes the pictures were either taken by a very good photographer, or they are from when the hotel opened!! The rooms don't look like the photos. Keep in mind this is not a 5 star hotel, and my rate was $57/night! Can't beat it!! I requested a room with a fridge and microwave and got a room on the 4th floor. The room was fine. I pulled back the sheets to investigate the mattress and it looked new. I checked it for cleanliness and it was again fine. The pool was great and heated, so my son was happy! I did not expect the miracles, and was thrilled with the price! I would suggest if you get a room that you are unhappy with then ask the desk to make a switch. There are better rooms, and as the other reviewers have noted, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful! And for the record, I carry Lysol wipes to wipe out the bathroom because I don't think they ever really clean hotel bathrooms!! Just don't expect the Taj Mahal, and for $57/night you can't beat it!

Room Tip: I had a decent room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a review about our Howard Johnson Hotel in Niagara Falls, NY. on Tripadvisor. At Howard Johnson we strive to provide our guests with clean comfortable rooms and friendly service at a reasonable rate. Our proximity to the Falls and all major attractions make us an ideal choice for your travel needs. Once again, thank you for writing a review. We are glad your stay was a happy one and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Address: 454 Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.