We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average With a Side of Ick” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls to your Saves list
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Buffalo Avenue, Niagara Falls, NY 14303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average With a Side of Ick”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a Holiday Inn, so our expectations weren't all that high. The only reason I'm even bothering to write a review is to point out two things that were a little unpleasant -- the bathroom inexplicably had tiny black ants on the floor and counter (not tons of them; they just kept showing up, which was kinda icky), and the the plastic lids for the to-go coffee cups in our room had a layer of dust or grime on them that had to be washed off. If they're going to the trouble of wrapping the disposable cups in plastic, why not the lids, too? Anyway, there are plenty of mid-range hotels to choose from in Niagara Falls, so my suggestion is choose another hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie H, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear MM H,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We take our guests' comments very seriously as it helps us improve moving forward. We're sorry to hear that your stay was less relaxing than you anticipated, and that your room was less than satisfactory when you arrived -- we assure you we place great value on cleanliness at our property. If you would be so kind as to email info@hiniagarafalls.com, our Assistant General Manager, Gayle would be happy to look into the details of your situation.

Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and confusion. We strive for the best possible guest experience, and would like the opportunity to show you just that. Thank you.

Sophie H
Guest Relations
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    174
    144
    67
    65
See reviews for
232
153
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel over a month ago for an overnight stay in the falls. Well we showed up and there was ALOT of renovating being done.

The staff that checked us in, Michelle, was super sweet and very helpful. Although we were there a bit early, we still were able to check in. They did offer a free bottle of wine for each room (we had booked 2) or points for the hotel stay.

The parking lot was not the best as like I said there was alot of construction going on. The room was on the 2nd floor, easy to access with an elevator. The room was spacious and nice. I am not sure if it was updated yet or what, but it was nice.

The doors were not that great, you had to slam them shut in order for them to close properly. The beds were really comfortable and the pillows very soft. There is a fridge and coffee pot in the room. The closet is nice and it also has a ironing board/iron. The bathroom was annoying as each time you used the sink, you could hear it gurgling for awhile afterwards. The shower had good pressure. I found it odd to have the towel holder in the shower, but glad the towels did not get wet.

The pool was not up to par at all. Due to the construction of the new layout, the pool was a pool surrounded by a slab of concrete--there were white plastic chairs you can sit on piled in the corner. The pool was warm though, which was nice since we were having such a cold evening. We could not use it in the am although it opened at 8:00 am due to the awful smell of paint or whatever they were using--I was not going to let my kids be exposed to the chemical smell.

There is a restaurant in the hotel, When I booked my rooms, it did say there was free breakfast included, I am not sure if they changed the policy, but we were very disappointed. I am not sure what the prices were as we did not go there--they did offer a room service of breakfast for $7.95 for drink, bread, and I think a fruit but that is all. And the other breakfast option to have delivered was $14.95 and it included a bit more.

Alas, if you want to connect to the WiFi they offer, good luck. We had many issues with it and finally needed someone to come up and help us connect. And even after that only 2 of us could connect.

Being a single mom and traveling with a family of 5, it was something we were looking forward to -- the pool and the breakfast and both were a disappointment. Also, be aware if you book ahead check your charge on your card to be sure it is charged correctly--they overcharged my card $23 per room and they also put a $25 hold on your card upon check in for possibly incidentals.

Room Tip: Be sure to
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie H, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to leave your feedback. Especially during times of renovation, we take our guests' comments very seriously as it helps us see the situation from their perspective. We're sorry to hear that your stay was less relaxing than you anticipated, and that there was confusion on our pricing when you booked. If you would be so kind as to email info@hiniagarafalls.com, our Assistant General Manager, Gayle would like to look into the details of your situation.

Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and confusion. We strive for the best possible guest experience, and would like the opportunity to show you just that. Thank you.

Sophie H
Guest Relations
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

The hotel and rooms were very clean. the staff were friendly and very helpful Our stay was just for one night but we had a good rest, the hotel is ideally located close to the American falls and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie H, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear HandD155019,

Thank you for your recent patronage, and for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We are happy to hear that our location was convenient for your trip to Niagara Falls, and that our staff made your stay that much more enjoyable. We look forward to having you back once our renovations are complete, and showing you everything new that our property has to offer! Thank you again, and we wish you safe travels.

Best,

Sophie H
Guest Relations
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Stayed Friday and Saturday night. We were in the area to attend a concert and visit the Falls.

Upon arrival, we realized that the hotel was currently having renovations completed. Very friendly Front Desk staff explained the situation and told us that due to the indoor pool being closed, restaurant only open for breakfast and construction noise, we could cancel our reservation without penalty and even offered to assist us in finding alternative lodging.

We didn't cancel, and were glad we didn't. Our room was clean, bed was comfortable. Holiday Inn's offer different types of pillows in each room, Firm, medium and soft. Nice touch.

One of the managers assisted me with use of a safe deposit box during our stay and went out of her way to ensure that there were no issues.

From the Front desk staff, to the waitresses in the restaurant (open for breakfast) to cleaning staff we bumped into during out stay, everyone was polite, professional and welcoming.

We would recommend this property to anyone who is looking for affordable accommodations while staying in the Niagara Falls area.

This property is within walking distance of the American Falls and the Seneca Niagara Casino.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie H, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Dear Vinegarjoe10,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for leaving your feedback. We are glad to hear that our staff did their best to make your stay comfortable, despite our numerous renovations. We hope to have you back again soon, and show you the result of our hard work! Until then, safe travels!

Best,

Sophie H
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

I book to spent one Saturday night in these hotel because it was walking distance from the Niagara National Park. I travel all day and when I get there at 6pm I found out they were doing updates and the whole place looks more like a construction site than a hotel. Moreover, a water pipe broke and they were moving all guests to another facility miles away from downtown (impossible to walk, and impossible to get there since there were many detours for the snow). The people at the front desk were incompetent, they claim their computer system didn’t work so they were not able to give my money back. Long story short, after 1 hour of non-sense arguments with them, I went and pay other hotel, I didn’t want to ruin my only night in Niagara even more.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie H, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, March 17, 2015
Dear 968agv,

First, thank you for your stay with us, and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sincerely sorry for the discomfort you experienced during your stay. While we understand that construction doesn't make up for falling below your expectations, we do hope that our active efforts are seen as a sign of improvement. In this particular instance, guests asked to move did receive full refunds for their stay. If this is not the case with your reservation, please contact us directly at info@hiniagarafalls.com to speak with our Assistant General Manager, Gayle. We strive for the best possible guest experience, and hope to have you back in the future to show you just that. Thank you again.

Sophie H
Guest Relations
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We have good experience being stayed in this hotel during our last three families gathering. We all enjoyed our stay and just missed the morning breakfast otherwise everything was perfect. Front desk operators were very friendly and helpful. They were well familiar with whole area and gave us proper guidelines too. Our other two families were New jersey.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie H, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
Dear Mac,

Thank you and your whole family for your recent stay with us, and for leaving your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found our location convenient for your visit! We hope to have all of you back again soon.

Best,

Sophie H
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015 via mobile

If you're looking for somewhere to stay in the midst of it all this is your place. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the food was pretty good. Breakfast was included, and we ate dinner during our stay, both yummy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie H, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
Dear Jessica,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for leaving your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found our location convenient for your trip to the Falls! We hope to have you back again soon.

Best,

Sophie H
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Address: 114 Buffalo Avenue, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Niagara Falls hotel offers the perfect location on the New York and Canada border Welcome to the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls hotel. Located at the Ontario, Canada and New York border, our hotel at Niagara Falls is close to not only the falls but many other area attractions as well. Leisure travelers can enjoy our location because of its close proximity to the Niagara Falls. Our hotel puts you right at one of the most beautiful wonders of the world. Other attractions within five miles of our property include downtown Niagara Falls, the Maid of the Mist Boat Tour, Goat Island, Cave of the Winds, the Niagara Scenic Trolley and the Aquarium of Niagara. In addition to its close proximity to area attractions, our hotel near Niagara Falls is also close to many corporations, including the New York Power Authority, Americom, Noco Energy and Olin. In addition, the Niagara Falls International Airport (NIA) and the Buffalo International Airport (BUF) are less than 15 miles from our hotel. If you're looking for a family hotel in Niagara Falls, you've come to the right place. Our accommodations have your comfort in mind with amenities that include a heated, indoor pool and a fitness center. Other amenities include an on-site restaurant, a 24-hour business center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. When looking for the best Niagara Falls hotel, end your search at the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Holiday Inn
Four Points Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.