We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but need a better heater” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Save Saved
You added The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Buffalo Avenue, Niagara Falls, NY 14303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 48 hotels in Niagara Falls
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel but need a better heater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The location is great you can walk to the niagara falls or the seneca casino, food is ok and the bed is nice the only concern is the heater isnt warm and this make my status no so excellent, there is enough space to park ur car

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing our location and taking the time to leave us honest feedback on your stay. I’m glad to hear that you found our location convenient for visiting the major attractions in the city. I apologize for any inconvenience that you had experienced while staying at our property. I hope you will afford us the opportunity of staying at our location again so that we may show you how great our hotel is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    168
    128
    60
    56
See reviews for
198
135
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lewis Center, Ohio
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The rooms remind you of your college dorm with laminate flooring and squeaky box springs. Only one elevator was operational making wait times excessive.Where this hotel shines is the hotel staff and the atrium. The atrium was the largest I had seen for this size of hotel. It accomodated 3 to 4 hockey teams for dinner as well as room for the boys to play knee hockey. The staff graciously provided more tables snd chairs when needed. They were also helpful during our hotel scavenger hunt.

The restaurant prices were reasonable for the area. The sandwiches were also yummy and service was quick. The breakfast buffet had a great
variety.

It is the closest hotel chain to the falls at Goat Island and is within walking distance to the Hard Rock Cafe.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave honest feedback on our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that our staff treated you well and made your stay comfortable. It is really great that your family and hockey team enjoyed staying at our property and making use of our Atrium space.
It is unfortunate that you experienced any inconvenience. It is feedback like yours that helps us continue to improve our level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back in our Hotel in the near future and for us to show you how great our hotel really is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is reasonable and the price for a Saturday night was fine. The two things that I would say were disappointing was the laminate floor in the room was hard, cold and beginning to wear and not that well installed with gaps. The other is that the bed was rather hard. The staff were very good however.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us honest feedback on our hotel. I am happy to hear that our staff was pleasant and accommodating to you. It is unfortunate that you did not like the laminate flooring that is in our guest rooms. We removed all of the carpeting and installed the laminate wood flooring to provide a hypo allergenic atmosphere for our guests. The housekeeping process and maintaining the rooms is much easier with this type of flooring also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester,NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

we came to Niagara for a hockey tournament and the team stayed here. we were told check-in wasn't until 3:00, but we were able to get in at 1:00. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.The room was very clean and a little small, but it was almost soundproof, you could barely hear the noise from the hall.There was an area off the lobby with a TV and a game room that we used often. The only complaint I had was that the pool was in an open area and very cold, also the smoking floors should be cleaned more. Other than that, my family had a great time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel was clean and convenient, but on the phone----I was told free breakfast by reservations---, but NO to it when we arrived. I had 2 rooms for 3 nights. We did eat in the restaurant 1 night and the kids ate free and food and service was good. I did not get my points for staying there either, which I have been watching for since August. Their night manager was totally opposite---I assume that is why I did not get credit for staying, because I did request the free breakfast that reservations had confirmed. They should think about the fact that there are lots of hotels to choose from. I do resent not getting my points and it has made me negative towards Holiday Inn

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Charlotte B,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great location if that is what you are looking for, two of the employees I had contact with were fabulous, housekeeping, and the girl that served breakfast. Hotel is old, and partial renovations, like tile on the floors instead of carpet, that were peeling. Could hear everything in the hall. Room is small, but ok. My advice to anyone staying there is to not use the pool or the HOT TUB, it is old, dirty, and dangerous definitely enter the HOT TUB at you're own risk, and don't forget to read all the signs before you enter. By the way I was informed by the hotel that their hot tub is inspected twice a year, although they would not tell me who inspected it. You can judge for yourself!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sam_4436,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you found the condition of our hot tub less than satisfactory. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your comments have been shared with the hotel management for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Once again, we wish to thank you for your candid feedback. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Niagara Fall NY the evening of Dec. 29, 2012. Purpose was to attend the Earth, Wind and Fire show at nearby Seneca Falls Casino. This hotel is a nice hotel, tucked right against the Niagara River just steps from the river and the New York State Park that surrounds the Falls on the US side. You can't stay any closer to the Falls. The American Falls precepice is steps away and there is a nice view from the westerly facing rooms. The hotel had somewhat curious faux hardwood floors in our seventh floor room, Room 710. Never seen this before in a hotel. Not good or bad, just different. The room was clean, quiet and nicely appointed. The room rate was very attractive for a winter weekend, one night stay compared to other options...notably the Casino hotel itself. In the summertime, not sure if the rate differential is the same, but if the Casino is your thing, something to look into since the Casino is also about 0.5 miles away and an easy walk in the nicer weather. We took cabs to and fro just because there was 2 feet of snow and it was too cold to hike. Cabs were easy to find at both hotels. I'm Priority Club Gold member and all our checkin materials were ready on arrival, room ready too. Front desk staff were very efficient and polite. We didn't use any of the hotel's facilities such as pool, restaurant or fitness center. Consider this hotel for a reasonable place to stay in the Falls.

Room Tip: To view the Niagara River as it approaches the American Falls precipice ask for a westerly facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Address: 114 Buffalo Avenue, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Niagara Falls hotel offers the perfect location on the New York and Canada border Welcome to the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls hotel. Located at the Ontario, Canada and New York border, our hotel at Niagara Falls is close to not only the falls but many other area attractions as well. Leisure travelers can enjoy our location because of its close proximity to the Niagara Falls. Our hotel puts you right at one of the most beautiful wonders of the world. Other attractions within five miles of our property include downtown Niagara Falls, the Maid of the Mist Boat Tour, Goat Island, Cave of the Winds, the Niagara Scenic Trolley and the Aquarium of Niagara. In addition to its close proximity to area attractions, our hotel near Niagara Falls is also close to many corporations, including the New York Power Authority, Americom, Noco Energy and Olin. In addition, the Niagara Falls International Airport (NIA) and the Buffalo International Airport (BUF) are less than 15 miles from our hotel. If you're looking for a family hotel in Niagara Falls, you've come to the right place. Our accommodations have your comfort in mind with amenities that include a heated, indoor pool and a fitness center. Other amenities include an on-site restaurant, a 24-hour business center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. When looking for the best Niagara Falls hotel, end your search at the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Holiday Inn
Four Points Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.