We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls to your Saves list
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Buffalo Avenue, Niagara Falls, NY 14303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed there last Saturday night, hotel is older but has been renovated (for the most part), rooms were nice and met the expectations. Now to the bad part, they charged a bar tab to one of my rooms (sure, mistakes do happen) but that is not the issue, the way they treated me at the front desk is. A customer should never be made feel like you are lying, especially after I made them pull the ticket and neither my name nor the signature matched so it was clearly the error. The young man (clerk) called someone on the phone while the so-called manager was standing there, and tells them in front of me ... here is a guy who says that a charge is not his ... how do you like that? They were rude and bothered by having to straighten out their own stupidity, never apologized (GOLDEN RULE in Customer Service!) and even tried to get smart with me. I reminded them that I am a multi-year Platinum PC member and didn't appreciate being treated like a schmuck but they were just too busy listening to themselves. It will be a cold day in hell before I ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Just stay elsewhere unless you want to be treated like garbage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking out the time to leave us feedback on our hotel service. I apologize that your experience was not pleasant with our front desk staff. We will address this issue with the employees immediately. I would like to thank you for being a Platinum member and also a repeat guest at our hotel. We strive to provide the best customer service and accommodations for our guests. I hope you will afford us the opportunity to have you stay with us in the future so that we can show you how great our staff and hotel truly is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    187
    163
    76
    70
See reviews for
260
164
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The facility was very nice and the people were even nicer. Glad we stayed there. The rooms were very clean, the food was awesome and we had a great time in the pool. I travel the globe and there is no replacement for good workers. Paul and Alaina were great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanborn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Excellent experience, rooms were very nice and clean. I was blown away by how friendly and
helpful the staff was. The front desk attendant went above and beyond to help us out and make
out stay very enjoyable. would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at this Holiday Inn for two nights while visiting the falls. The hotel is older, but clean and the bed was comfy, however the walls were paper thin and we could hear our neighbors talking and also hear when they went to the washroom. We did like the fact that the floors were clean with no musty carpeting. Ate at the hotel restaurant once and it was OK, nothing spectacular. Nice thing was the close proximity to the falls and we could walk. Not much to do on the US side, but Canadian side is loaded with great places to eat and shop. Parking was free and the hotel staff was nice and helpful when we asked for information.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference in Niagara Falls (the Conference Center is about 5 minutes walking distance). The lobby and front desk staff were okay; they were efficient in getting me in to my room. The bedroom was also okay. While it wasn't without it's problems, it wasn't nearly as bad as some other reviewers made out. The flooring is laminate, not carpeting, which is different. I think it's probably easier to care for and clean verses carpeting which stains easily. However, some of the boards were peeling up. The toilet leaked tank must have been leaking b/c it would refill itself for a few seconds every so often. The heating in the room was more than adequate, albeit loud.

I was unfortunate enough to be staying here for one night during some teen hockey tournament. The kids ran up and down hallways, knocked on doors and randomly rang guest rooms for a few hours during the night. This didn't make for a restful sleep but luckily they were gone after the first night and my next two nights were without incident.

The little snack shop in the lobby never seemed to be open. Considering the dearth of coffee shops and convenience shops in the area around this hotel, it would have been nice to be able to get a cup of coffee to go in the morning without having to walk outside for ten minutes to the nearest (and open) shop (in the casino).

The location of the hotel is not bad. If you're on the upper floors, you can see the upper rapids and the Canadian side if your room is located on the right side of the building. You can walk to the top of the falls in about 5-10 minutes or to the Rainbow Bridge in 10-15 minutes. There are very few open restaurants around however, and the rest of Niagara Falls, NY is pretty desolate. The casino is closeby if you're in to that sort of thing - they do have a few restaurant choices. The Visitor's Center is a block away.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, preferably one with a view of the river and Canada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us honest feedback on our hotel. We take all of our guest comments very seriously and our staff always does their best to provide comfortable accommodations. It is unfortunate that you experienced a noisy evening while the hockey tournament was in house. We do schedule extra security during the nights we have tournaments and we are able to control most of the chaos with no issues.
Our full service restaurant is open from 6:30am to 11:00am for breakfast, and again from 5:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Our café in the lobby is open between the hours of 11:00am-5:00pm.
I have forwarded the issues regarding the laminate flooring and toilet in your room to our chief engineer and General Manager. We hope you give us the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future and for us to show you how great our location truly is
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for a hockey tournament Nov 1-4. I was surprised at how dingy and dirty the lobby looked. Our room was adequate, however the beds are extremely uncomfortable. Since we were at a hockey tournament we were expecting an increase in the room charge and many kids running around, but what we weren't expecting was Holiday Inn's lack of control of the guests that were causing havoc throughout the hotel very late in the evening hours. I felt bad for anyone staying there that was not a part of the tournament. We were kept up until 2am with older kids running through the hallways banging on doors, calling rooms while their parents were in the common area partying. When I asked for a late check out the next (2hours) I was refused. We had to be up at 5am for a game and we were exhausted. I did not appreciate Holiday Inn's lack of compassion and do not believe they lived up the their quality guarantee. And Holiday Inn's motto of kids eating free apparently doesn't apply when there are a large number of kids staying at the hotel. If our team enters this tournament next year I will not be going if we get assigned the Holiday Inn as our hotel.

Room Tip: I would not stay here during a hockey tournament and be prepared for uncomfortable beds and no carpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on our hotel. We are genuinely concerned when we receive negative guest comments about our property.
We schedule additional security during hockey tournaments to patrol the hotel floors and common areas. We do our best to keep everybody contained and the noise level down.
It is Holiday Inn’s policy that the kids do not eat free if staying at a group rate. It is a clause that is apart of the IHG group bookings contract. Kids do not eat free with group rates because they are discounted.
Unfortunately, a late check out cannot be permitted to anyone in the tournament. Late check outs are based upon availability. If we allow one room to check out late, then it would only be fair to allow every room in the tournament to check out late. Our staff would not have adequate time to clean and prepare the rooms for 4:00pm check in.
Please be advised that your observations were forwarded to our Guest Service manager and General Manager. We hope you will offer us the opportunity of hosting you again at our hotel in the future and for us to show you how great our hotel truly is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Yes, the rooms are a bit dated, but they are very comfy, the staff great, and the restaurant yummy. My Aussie friend was quite happy with everything, and it was his birthday! It was an easy walk to Goat Island, and the American side of the falls, so it was rather well situated. And we were lucky enough to have a room with a view! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
#5 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#7 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Niagara Falls
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#14 of 52 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Address: 114 Buffalo Avenue, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Niagara Falls hotel offers the perfect location on the New York and Canada border Welcome to the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls hotel. Located at the Ontario, Canada and New York border, our hotel at Niagara Falls is close to not only the falls but many other area attractions as well. Leisure travelers can enjoy our location because of its close proximity to the Niagara Falls. Our hotel puts you right at one of the most beautiful wonders of the world. Other attractions within five miles of our property include downtown Niagara Falls, the Maid of the Mist Boat Tour, Goat Island, Cave of the Winds, the Niagara Scenic Trolley and the Aquarium of Niagara. In addition to its close proximity to area attractions, our hotel near Niagara Falls is also close to many corporations, including the New York Power Authority, Americom, Noco Energy and Olin. In addition, the Niagara Falls International Airport (NIA) and the Buffalo International Airport (BUF) are less than 15 miles from our hotel. If you're looking for a family hotel in Niagara Falls, you've come to the right place. Our accommodations have your comfort in mind with amenities that include a heated, indoor pool and a fitness center. Other amenities include an on-site restaurant, a 24-hour business center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. When looking for the best Niagara Falls hotel, end your search at the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Holiday Inn
Four Points Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.