We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as I was prepared for but not great either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Save Saved
You added The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Buffalo Avenue, Niagara Falls, NY 14303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Allentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not as bad as I was prepared for but not great either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference in Niagara Falls (the Conference Center is about 5 minutes walking distance). The lobby and front desk staff were okay; they were efficient in getting me in to my room. The bedroom was also okay. While it wasn't without it's problems, it wasn't nearly as bad as some other reviewers made out. The flooring is laminate, not carpeting, which is different. I think it's probably easier to care for and clean verses carpeting which stains easily. However, some of the boards were peeling up. The toilet leaked tank must have been leaking b/c it would refill itself for a few seconds every so often. The heating in the room was more than adequate, albeit loud.

I was unfortunate enough to be staying here for one night during some teen hockey tournament. The kids ran up and down hallways, knocked on doors and randomly rang guest rooms for a few hours during the night. This didn't make for a restful sleep but luckily they were gone after the first night and my next two nights were without incident.

The little snack shop in the lobby never seemed to be open. Considering the dearth of coffee shops and convenience shops in the area around this hotel, it would have been nice to be able to get a cup of coffee to go in the morning without having to walk outside for ten minutes to the nearest (and open) shop (in the casino).

The location of the hotel is not bad. If you're on the upper floors, you can see the upper rapids and the Canadian side if your room is located on the right side of the building. You can walk to the top of the falls in about 5-10 minutes or to the Rainbow Bridge in 10-15 minutes. There are very few open restaurants around however, and the rest of Niagara Falls, NY is pretty desolate. The casino is closeby if you're in to that sort of thing - they do have a few restaurant choices. The Visitor's Center is a block away.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, preferably one with a view of the river and Canada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us honest feedback on our hotel. We take all of our guest comments very seriously and our staff always does their best to provide comfortable accommodations. It is unfortunate that you experienced a noisy evening while the hockey tournament was in house. We do schedule extra security during the nights we have tournaments and we are able to control most of the chaos with no issues.
Our full service restaurant is open from 6:30am to 11:00am for breakfast, and again from 5:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Our café in the lobby is open between the hours of 11:00am-5:00pm.
I have forwarded the issues regarding the laminate flooring and toilet in your room to our chief engineer and General Manager. We hope you give us the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future and for us to show you how great our location truly is
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    161
    136
    63
    60
See reviews for
217
141
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for a hockey tournament Nov 1-4. I was surprised at how dingy and dirty the lobby looked. Our room was adequate, however the beds are extremely uncomfortable. Since we were at a hockey tournament we were expecting an increase in the room charge and many kids running around, but what we weren't expecting was Holiday Inn's lack of control of the guests that were causing havoc throughout the hotel very late in the evening hours. I felt bad for anyone staying there that was not a part of the tournament. We were kept up until 2am with older kids running through the hallways banging on doors, calling rooms while their parents were in the common area partying. When I asked for a late check out the next (2hours) I was refused. We had to be up at 5am for a game and we were exhausted. I did not appreciate Holiday Inn's lack of compassion and do not believe they lived up the their quality guarantee. And Holiday Inn's motto of kids eating free apparently doesn't apply when there are a large number of kids staying at the hotel. If our team enters this tournament next year I will not be going if we get assigned the Holiday Inn as our hotel.

Room Tip: I would not stay here during a hockey tournament and be prepared for uncomfortable beds and no carpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on our hotel. We are genuinely concerned when we receive negative guest comments about our property.
We schedule additional security during hockey tournaments to patrol the hotel floors and common areas. We do our best to keep everybody contained and the noise level down.
It is Holiday Inn’s policy that the kids do not eat free if staying at a group rate. It is a clause that is apart of the IHG group bookings contract. Kids do not eat free with group rates because they are discounted.
Unfortunately, a late check out cannot be permitted to anyone in the tournament. Late check outs are based upon availability. If we allow one room to check out late, then it would only be fair to allow every room in the tournament to check out late. Our staff would not have adequate time to clean and prepare the rooms for 4:00pm check in.
Please be advised that your observations were forwarded to our Guest Service manager and General Manager. We hope you will offer us the opportunity of hosting you again at our hotel in the future and for us to show you how great our hotel truly is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Yes, the rooms are a bit dated, but they are very comfy, the staff great, and the restaurant yummy. My Aussie friend was quite happy with everything, and it was his birthday! It was an easy walk to Goat Island, and the American side of the falls, so it was rather well situated. And we were lucky enough to have a room with a view! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our son had a hockey tournament and the HI was selected as our team hotel for the weekend tournament. The prices were set between the tournament the hotel. On the plus side for the hotel, it is in a great location, Goat Island is a 5 min walk, as is the casino. The Rainbow Bridge is a very short drive as well. The brunch we had was ok and the service was very friendly. We stayed on a Friday and Saturday and the bar seemed to close up very early considering that there were a lot of hockey teams staying at the facility. The room was big enough for the family and clean. Overall, it was ok, nothing special, nothing horrible. If you book here, make sure you ask to make sure there is not a hockey tournament going on. I couldn't imagine trying to get a nice nights sleep with all the kids running all through the hotel. I assume that they try to put the teams on the same floors and keep the regular guests on different ones, but all of the kids take over every where.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

As Claimed by website Our Niagara Falls hotel is located just steps from the mighty Falls in the heart of the Falls view hotel this hotel indeed is just a few step from the falls we traveled in the hotel in march may be due to off season not very crowded but very conveniently located and we loved all moment at our stay.
Hotel was running a promotional offer dine and casino package which we took contains of some amount of casino voucher along with dinner for two and it was the best decision we made they have a good chef and service was great we enjoyed everything would love to go back there again..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We chose this holiday inn because it was nearest to the Falls, not a very good choice. Staff not very welcoming or helpful. The bar didn't open until 5pm. We had one dinner at the hotel, because there weren't any decent restaurants near by, and all I would say is it was okay. The area surrounding the hotel was tacky and we felt most uncomfortable walking around at night. It was within a short walk from the Falls, which was great, but if we go back we would probably stay on the Canadian side - much more up market.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is in a good location for walking down to the falls and the visitors centre is just at the bottom of the car park. The staff were friendly at reception and at breakfast in the morning.

The lifts were a pain and kept having to be reset on the one night we were there and at one point it was reset whilst I was in it causing it to "drop" back down to the basement floor.

Rooms had been recently re-decorated however as per previous comments poor quality laminate flooring, beds not incredibly comfy and very noisy plus the door looked like it had been forced at some point which is never a reassuring sight.

Ok breakfast buffet, lovely selection of fresh fruit and pastries and cooked what you would expect from a help your self selection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Address: 114 Buffalo Avenue, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Niagara Falls hotel offers the perfect location on the New York and Canada border Welcome to the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls hotel. Located at the Ontario, Canada and New York border, our hotel at Niagara Falls is close to not only the falls but many other area attractions as well. Leisure travelers can enjoy our location because of its close proximity to the Niagara Falls. Our hotel puts you right at one of the most beautiful wonders of the world. Other attractions within five miles of our property include downtown Niagara Falls, the Maid of the Mist Boat Tour, Goat Island, Cave of the Winds, the Niagara Scenic Trolley and the Aquarium of Niagara. In addition to its close proximity to area attractions, our hotel near Niagara Falls is also close to many corporations, including the New York Power Authority, Americom, Noco Energy and Olin. In addition, the Niagara Falls International Airport (NIA) and the Buffalo International Airport (BUF) are less than 15 miles from our hotel. If you're looking for a family hotel in Niagara Falls, you've come to the right place. Our accommodations have your comfort in mind with amenities that include a heated, indoor pool and a fitness center. Other amenities include an on-site restaurant, a 24-hour business center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. When looking for the best Niagara Falls hotel, end your search at the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Holiday Inn
Four Points Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.