We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience till now” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Save Saved
You added The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Buffalo Avenue, Niagara Falls, NY 14303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 48 hotels in Niagara Falls
Mclean VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome experience till now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Very clean. Super comfy. Very well decorated and organized. The view frm the room is decent. Bed is hard and comfortable, gr8 furniture, plasma tv, big vanity mirror in room. Much better than most Sheraton and Hiltons I have stayed in.

Wish this was as close as Comfort Inn is to the falls.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    154
    129
    60
    57
See reviews for
202
139
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked two non smoking rooms and were put on a smoking floor. The hall was the stinkest foulest place. The rooms stunk and they were unable to move us. We were unable to sleep because the room was so foul. Breakfast was awful. Honestly, there are so many good B & B's and other options I can find nothing to recommend this hotel. I guess the location was pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our hotel. We work hard to accommodate all of our guests and make them comfortable. When booking a standard room, you forgo your option to choose the room type you prefer. If you do have specific preferences, such as smoking or non smoking, 2 double beds or 1 king, booking the room you prefer will guarantee you get the type of room you need. A standard room is any room that is available in the hotel.

Our breakfast buffet includes unlimited bacon, sausage, eggs, skillet potatoes, fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, breakfast breads, danishes, pancakes, French toast, cereal, yogurt, juice, milk, coffee, and tea. On the weekends, our buffet also includes a manned omelet station in which you can make your own combinations to create as many omelets as you like. We also offer a full menu of entrees to choose from if you prefer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here on the way to Bar Harbor, Maine. We thought we'd catch the Falls at night and that was great but they really shouldn't charge an arm and a leg because of their proximity to the Falls. The room was old fashioned, the door didn't shut firmly and it had an overall appearance of tacky and run down.
Most Hotels do a rehab from time to time but this place adds to the retro experience that the Falls are and not in a good way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback. Over the past few years, our hotel has been renovated a few times. Our remodeling began when we first became a Holiday Inn in 2008. In the winter of 2010, we replaced all of the furniture and soft goods in the rooms. Then in 2011, we replaced the wallpaper and refinished all of the ceilings in the rooms. We also removed and replaced all of the carpeting in the hotel common areas. Our staff reports any defects in the hotel directly to our general manger. She responds by fixing the problem or replacing what is needed immediately.
Our hotel is located directly across from the Niagara Falls State Park; this is why hotels in our immediate area charge a premium rate for their hotel rooms. We are a seasonal destination, so during the nice weather we have very high demand. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your opinion of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Room was clean, bed was soft. The tv was nice and big and had a good selection of channels. We stayed on the 4th floor all the way at the end of the hallway. Unfortunately we were right across from the maid closet, and all night you could hear them opening and closing the door. A few times around 11:30pm-1:00am you could hear them in the hallway with a very loud annoying walkie talkie. Around 8am they were shouting to each other down the hallway... other than those pesky nuisances, the front desk staff was attentive and helpful and the location was perfect. Easy walk to the falls or the down town area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterset, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I think this hotel deserved a 1 star rating at best It had extremely stained carpet and walls throughout--tile was broken several places--hairs in the shower and sink both (i'm bald) and staff was next to nonexistant. I wouldn't consider staying there at half price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Our Holiday Inn location is a AAA 3 Diamond rated property. Our entire staff is dedicated to making our guests feel comfortable and making their stay memorable. We appreciate your feedback on our hotel; thankfully this type of experience is not common at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

As other reviewers have said, this is not the fanciest hotel in Niagara. For the price, quality and location, this hotel can't be beat. This is the second year I've come to Niagara, and the second time I've stayed here. The rooms are simple and clean, exactly what I was looking for - I spend most of my time outside, enjoying the beauty this area has to offer.

I got to the hotel fairly early in the morning, before my room was ready, but I was able to check my luggage into their storage. Tina, the front desk clerk, was nice enough to give me a business card, so I could call back and check if my room was ready, while I spent the day exploring the falls area.

The location is fabulous - a few minutes' walk and you are in the NF State Park, but not so close that you get the traffic of park visitors. The hotel restaurant doesn't have a large menu, but the dishes I had were all very tasty and not too pricey. Also, there are several restaurants within walking distance. If you do have a vehicle, they have free parking, which is not available at all of the hotels (even those in the same price range as this).

While it is true that the floors in the rooms aren't the greatest, everything in the rooms was spotless - cleaner than some other higher-end hotels I've stayed at. The elevators can get cramped when a lot of people are there, but short of doing a major rebuild, I don't see how those could be changed.

I didn't try the pool, but the spa was all right. Not very big and the water wasn't too hot (toasty, but not hot), but it did the trick for sore feet after a long day of walking around the park. There's a nice lobby area near the pool - perfect for sitting and chatting.

They have free wifi at the hotel and the signal strength was great - they have a transmitter for each floor, I believe, but they all use the same code, so it was no trouble when I went downstairs to the restaurant - I still had coverage there.

All in all, I had a great experience - the staff are nice, the rooms are clean, the location is very convenient and the price was right. I'm sure I'll be back for more visits!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a better view. Eastern exposure rooms (city view) can be a little o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for a night, on our way from Thousand Islands to Niagara Falls in late July 2012.

Room was comfortable and nice. They had a free tea/coffee machine - which was refreshing given our long travel.

Walls in hallways looked a bit old.

Staff at hotel was not very responsive. It took us quite some time to draw their attention that we were around and respond to the same.
I had left my cellphone somewhere in hotel (in my room, i guess). I tried reaching them, over phone, a number of times to find whether they had found anything. It was an unpleasant experience - everytime i was told that they would check up and call me back - but i never got a callback.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We appreciate your direct and honest feedback. At our hotel, it is our top priority to recover personal items when they are left behind by our guests. Once we are alerted of an issue, we immediately inform our employees and guest agents of proper procedures when handling lost items. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Address: 114 Buffalo Avenue, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Niagara Falls hotel offers the perfect location on the New York and Canada border Welcome to the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls hotel. Located at the Ontario, Canada and New York border, our hotel at Niagara Falls is close to not only the falls but many other area attractions as well. Leisure travelers can enjoy our location because of its close proximity to the Niagara Falls. Our hotel puts you right at one of the most beautiful wonders of the world. Other attractions within five miles of our property include downtown Niagara Falls, the Maid of the Mist Boat Tour, Goat Island, Cave of the Winds, the Niagara Scenic Trolley and the Aquarium of Niagara. In addition to its close proximity to area attractions, our hotel near Niagara Falls is also close to many corporations, including the New York Power Authority, Americom, Noco Energy and Olin. In addition, the Niagara Falls International Airport (NIA) and the Buffalo International Airport (BUF) are less than 15 miles from our hotel. If you're looking for a family hotel in Niagara Falls, you've come to the right place. Our accommodations have your comfort in mind with amenities that include a heated, indoor pool and a fitness center. Other amenities include an on-site restaurant, a 24-hour business center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. When looking for the best Niagara Falls hotel, end your search at the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Holiday Inn
Four Points Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.