We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money Budget Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Cottage Inns

Save Saved
You added Swiss Cottage Inns to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swiss Cottage Inns
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6831 Niagara Falls Blvd, Niagara Falls, NY 14304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 hotels in Niagara Falls
Basildon UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Value for Money Budget Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This motel was probably about 3 miles form Niagara Falls so you do need a car for your sight seeing. However, the motel itself was clean and tidy and has a small pool. There are a few eating places nearby, (fast food), and a very friendly local bar on the next block.

The lady on reception was very nice and helpful when we asked for directions back to the "falls" - (our room wasn't ready as it was before 11am when we arrived)

It was, as most motels are, cheap and cheerful and for a 1 night stay we could have no complaints at all - it was a value for money budget motel and if motels are your thing then dont' look past this place..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    22
    12
    16
See reviews for
27
44
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We went to Swiss Cottage Inn from Sept. 10-12. Weather was really hot for this time of year.
The pool was still open, which was great as temp was 30 degrees plus the humidex. Room was reasonably priced, clean, no bugs. Shopping, eating, all within walking distance. There was a
free shuttle to the casino which runs every hour. Overall, we had an awesome time and will return to this motel next time we take a trip to the falls.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the room with three doubles
Beds were comfy, was hot and the air conditioner had trouble keeping up at times
Bathroom was tiny but new and very clean
Room had dated furniture but extremely clean rooms
We didn't get a chance to use the pool because it rained every evening we were there but nice appearance
Would definitely stay again

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Among the many other motels on the boulevard, I would surely recommend this place! We visit the falls every year and have stayed at other motels (only because Swiss Cottage was fully booked) and still prefer it over the others. The rooms are impeccably clean, we had one with two double beds that was just renovated. The furniture is new, the mattress was comfortable and the carpet is fresh. The owners who run the place are a friendly older couple who really go out of their way to make sure that our stay is always pleasant. We always go in the summer and take our kids, they love the swimming pool! It is not a 5 star hotel, is a small family-run business. So if you are looking for an affordable friendly place to stay, in a great location, I recommend Swiss Cottage Inns.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

clean and simple. Everyone was nice and helpfull . Good budget hotel.Had a swim in pool which was nice as most hotels along that stretch don't have pools.
We were there for outlet malls that were a short distance away.Had wings not to far away that were great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good budget hotel with a easy bus ride ti the falls. Hotel owner was pleasant and helpful, let us leave our bags before check in and after check out. Fron the reviews we weren't expecting much but for under $50 a night we were happy. However for another night (friday) they were asking $100+ each would have been another story.
The bus into the falls was easy and cheap, $2 a ride or $10 for a day pass if I remember correctly.
On the downside the wifi was very poor and we were relying in it quite a lot to plan our travels.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for the least expensive place to stay in Niagara falls. Even though we knew it was going to be small we were a little bit shocked when we walked into the room. It was very small and very dated. The shower did not have a light fixture, it was like showering inside a dark cave. I had to leave the curtain open to be able to see the soap and shampoo. Like the shower was an afterthought or a bigger room was divided into two smaller ones. It was weird to stay here. I felt dirty, like we were staying at a place that charges by the hour. However, there was a fridge and a microwave in the room which was nice. We could hear people sneezing outside our window. I would not recommended this hotel. I will pay more next time and at least get a real shower.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss Cottage Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Inns

Address: 6831 Niagara Falls Blvd, Niagara Falls, NY 14304
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Swiss Cottage Inns 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Swiss Cottage Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Cottage Inns Hotel Niagara Falls
Swiss Cottage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Cottage Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;