We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic budget clean motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Cottage Inns

Save Saved
You added Swiss Cottage Inns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss Cottage Inns
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6831 Niagara Falls Blvd, Niagara Falls, NY 14304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“basic budget clean motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

recently I've visited Swiss cottage inn during my Niagara falls visit and stayed for 1 weekend night there. the room was very basic and bathroom was very small. price was very cheap (<$50) and for that price room was as per expected. Room was clean and it was short 5 min ride to Niagara falls state park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    44
    26
    15
    18
See reviews for
28
48
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a nice place to stay for a couple of nights. A typical american motel, like you see in movies. Clean room, free parking, small pool (opens only after 12pm). The price was a little high for one night only in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Here's the real deal...I picked this hotel because our family is on a strict budget and we wanted to have enough cash left over to do activities. The hotel is not perfect. The beds were clean, no bed bugs like I previously read. Interestingly, we noticed the mattresses were marked "June, July, August" so maybe there had been a problem and the mattresses inspected and okay during that time period( ??) The other flaws...tiny holes in the sheets, like cigarette burns. A couple of cobwebs, one in bathroom between sink and window towards the floor and another in back of the front door with a small spider in it. The shower didn't completely go on, part of the water kept coming out of the tub fawcet, but enough pressure to shower. The electric outlet is up high in the bathroom next to the light, not very convenient. I guess my biggest complaint was that our AC didn't work properly so our room was too warm. Still, you get what you pay for and the kids enjoyed their pool and activities were close by. I probably would try a different hotel next time though because the AC is important to me.

Room Tip: Verify that AC works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The room was clean with no unpleasant lingering smells. The walls are thin, you can hear your neighbours and, if you get a unit close to the street, the traffic on the Boulevard. The free Wi-Fi offered was spotty and kept dropping us, but we did manage to connect later in the evening. For the price, it was an acceptable stay. The fashion outlets were a short drive away.

The bathroom was tiny and the chair provided at the little desk was wobbly. There was a microwave and a little fridge in the unit, very handy.

Room Tip: Consider asking for a room at the back of the property, farther from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

i loved this place, pool quiet and relaxing, couple who run place are very helpful with directions. rooms are cleaned and smell good but are smaller than i like but seemed updated. close to restaurants and shopping mall within 5 minute drive. will stop by again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were very satisfied with the sevices provided. The room was neat and clean and housekeeping was done everyday to our satisfaction. the motel is just 4.5 miles from the falls and has a free shuttle service to and from falls. We had booked for two nights but stayed 3 nights because our stay was very enjoyable.

The motel is owned and operated by Eva and Mario the husband wife team. They are very nice persons and very helpful.

I would recommend this motel to everybody.

Room Tip: Double rooms have two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

For the $45 rate, I totally thought this motel would be a less than satisfactory place to stay. However I was shocked at the helpfulness and courteous disposition of the clerk. We were minutes away from Niagara Falls (via free shuttle service) and the clerk gave us useful information for attractions and restaurants. We asked for a room with microwave and fridge and the clerk happily agreed to our request. Rooms are very small but would definitely recommend this place and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Cottage Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Inns

Address: 6831 Niagara Falls Blvd, Niagara Falls, NY 14304
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Swiss Cottage Inns 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Swiss Cottage Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Cottage Inns Hotel Niagara Falls
Swiss Cottage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Cottage Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.