We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Top of The Falls Restaurant

Top of The Falls Restaurant
Goat Island, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
716 278 0340
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 257 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Brick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Would go again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is the only restaurant on the American side that had a good view of the falls. So eating here was a no-brainer. On our way up the stairs, we asked the nice people coming down how the food was and they said it was great, and recommended the fish n chips. Great recommendation, they were fantastic; Nice breading, not oily. Our food came out hot and promptly. I also had the spicy Tuscan Bean soup. It was SPICY and delicious! Our waitress Dawn was so pleasant. She talked with us about the local bar scene and answered all our questions about the restaurant and the food. Every place should have servers like Dawn. I highly recommend the local beer on tap. The water tasted weird...skip it. The view was somewhat obstructed by opaque plastic that was attached to the railing. I hope they either switch to clear plastic or invest in high-top tables. The inside had great views too, with all the windows. The place was clean and up to date.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    82
    59
    19
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This restaurant had good food for our entire party (9 of us). It's located in the park and has a great view. The type of food is varied, although, it is not your typical hamburger/mac and cheese place. The prices were moderate but very consistent with the other places to eat in the area so close to the falls. We saw some "walk up and order" places outside the falls in which the prices were comparable to what we payed and the food in those places smelled greasy! This place had very nicely done cuisine with a sit down restaurant style. It was a great place to go after a long day of doing all of the tourist type stuff at Niagara. Well worth stopping in.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harford Md
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had lunch on the patio. View was great, lunch was tasty most of all we enjoyed the fries and beef on weck...I thing that was the name of the sandwich.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Watch the falls while you dine from this great restaurant at the State Park on Goat Island which overlooks the Canadian Falls. A bit pricey but you can't beat the view and the food was excellent. Beef on Welk was sliced thin beef on a large bun with some sea salt on top. The Cataract Salad was fantastic. Probably 2 oz. of blue cheese, greens, chunks of turkey, egg, probably the equivalent of a whole large avocado, and the plate is just huge and heaping with food. Wonderful.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice view and a good burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stopped in for an early dinner. I had the barrel burger which came with a photo from the gift shop for around $16. It was pretty good. The staff was very nice and the view is amazing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of The Falls Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Top of The Falls Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top of The Falls Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.