We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great St Valentine's Day Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Coach Inn - Restaurant

Red Coach Inn - Restaurant
2 Buffalo Ave, Ste 2, Niagara Falls, NY 14303-1119
716-282-1459
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 257 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The chefs at the Red Coach Inn in Niagara Falls create a new feature menu for lunch and dinner each day. The popular AAA Three Diamond restaurant was rated "Four Stars-Excellent" by the Niagara Gazette, and it was the winner of the Western New York Chef Challenge and the Taste of Buffalo "People's Choice," "New York" and "Best Seafood" awards.A roaring wood fire in the natural stone fireplace warms the Grill Room in winter. In summer the patio, surrounded by a beautiful garden and koi pond is a favorite dining spot. The Rapids Room, an enclosed porch with leaded-glass windows, offers a panoramic view of the majestic Niagara Rapids. The Cruvinet wine bar has rich mahogany paneling with granite and brass accents. It features an array of vintage wines by the glass, flavored coffees, cappuccino, and beers from around the world. The cozy Fireside Room has an extensive library. It is the perfect gathering place for cocktails, an after-dinner drink, or for simply relaxing with a book by the fire. Banquet rooms with picture windows offering spectacular views of the Rapids can comfortably accommodate parties up to 50. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served seven days a week.
Tonawanda, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great St Valentine's Day Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I decided that we should have a change of scene and leave our usual circuit of eating spots in the Buffalo area and to go somewhere a bit different. We read about restaurant and other places to go, for Valentine's Day, in the Buffalo News. I have always liked a British Inn type of setting and the food review was very good, so we called a week early and were able to get reservations for 8:00. They were packed during the earlier dinner hour, and I thought that boded well for our visit. Indeed it did.

There is nothing particularly spectacular about the place it is very comfortable and well lit and the fire in the fire place (real wood real flames) added to the aura of comfort and relaxation.

The servers were all extremely nice, from the barman to the two waitresses who served us. It was clear that they enjoyed working there.

We had the Surf & Turf for two and the food was clearly well prepared to the last detail. The Lobster tails were luscious and the drawn butter was really about the best I have had. Although the portion sizes were a tad small, in the end, with the excellent vegetables and the desert we were more than full. Overall very satisfying. Well be back in the summertime when the porch is open.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann H, General Manager at Red Coach Inn - Restaurant, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for such nice remarks. The staff and I are very proud of the Red Coach and love to know when our guest has a great experience. We enjoy building memories with our guest and it seems we have done that with you. We look forward to your return trip in the summer to enjoy the patio. If you come on Friday night or Sunday night you can enjoy the fireworks from the patio at 10:00 pm. I will pass along your feedback as it encourages the staff to know they can make a difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    121
    70
    33
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Steaks and crab were outstanding. Appetizers were delis also. Desserts looked marvelous but we did not have room to eat anymore. Alittle pricey, good service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann H, General Manager at Red Coach Inn - Restaurant, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal. We strive to ensure that our guest walk away as satisfied as you did. Thank you again and Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good service with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Spotted this inn on our way to the Niagara falls. It was just near to our hotel. When we walked into the restaurant, the overall ambience is very good. We went in April, it was very cold. But the moment we stepped in, it feels warm. There's a fireplace there as well. We were seated shortly and we ordered a egg benedict and a pancake. The food is good, but quantity is abit too much for us (too early, haha).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann H, General Manager at Red Coach Inn - Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take great pride in taking care of our guest. We invite you to return and try something from the dinner menu. Just remember to bring a big appetite with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cozy spot close to the falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Attached to the Inn, the restaurant reminds me of the Inns of yesteryear. Dark paneling- little alcoves and a wood burning fireplace.The service was great, and the food was enjoyed by all. We had a variety at the table, Shepards pie, Cheese omelette, Salmon BLT and turkey club. Full bar service. In the summer the windows in the porch area open and you can hear the water from the falls. Street parking (free) available.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann H, General Manager at Red Coach Inn - Restaurant, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We would like to say thank you for taking time to review our Red Coach Inn. The historical charm and great food is what brings our guest back time and time again. I see you were able to experience different dishes and one of my favorite is the Chicken French. It is worth trying on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The steaks are wonderful and their specialty chicken dish even better. Good service with nice atmosphere made this a memorable dinner

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann H, General Manager at Red Coach Inn - Restaurant, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, it is always a pleasure to know we have exceeded our expectations. we look forward to making more memories on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Coach Inn - Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Coach Inn - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Coach Inn - Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.