We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frankie's donuts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frankie's Donuts

Frankie's Donuts
717 Portage Rd., 14301, Niagara Falls, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 257 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Niagara Falls, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Frankie's donuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The donuts are great. Fresh, light and fluffy. Very good price with coupons in local paper regularly. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old time doughnut place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were only planning on getting a doughnut each, but we couldn't decide, and after seeing the price, it just made sense to get a dozen. Low cost, great quality, definitely a must do!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to get donuts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Excellent, setting is a little seedy and on a few visits there have been some rough looking characters sitting at the counter but have never experienced anything negative from any one, proves looks can be deceiving! Frankies makes the only donuts we ever eat, just can't drive by this place without stopping. The Boston creme is amazing, the jelly filled is rolled in crushed peanuts is yummy, but my favorite is the chocolate custard creme filled. So good!! I think they are about $6 dozen, sometimes the choice is limited and other times there has been a great assortment. They freeze well, except the creme filled ones.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A real donut shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Read the reviews, had to try Frankie's. We were not disappointed. Can't say the area looks sketchy at all, just a shop that has its history, as it has been there many years. No wonder though, with the donuts they make! Awesome...no comparison to donut chains. Took a variety dozen home to try...loved them all!. Favorites are the twists and the blueberry. The coffee smelled delicious, too bad I couldn't try it, had just eaten. Service was excellent, down-home friendly. Oh, and the price? A dozen for $6!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great donut!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A local said that they preferred Tim Horton's over Frankie's, but I disagree. I did go to Tim Horton's but I was not impressed with their selection of donuts. Not many choices. I bought cinnamon rolls there and they were very good, but I decided to try Frankie's too.

It's a nice little donut shop. It's not "upscale" or fancy, but you can tell that it has been around for years. That's a good thing because it shows longevity and loyalty by locals.

I was very pleased by the selection of donuts and service was fast and efficient. The price was right and the donut was really good - fresh and tasty. If we ever go back again I might go to Tim Horton's, but I WILL go to Frankie's.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie's Donuts also viewed

 

Been to Frankie's Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie's Donuts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.