We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kohinoor Indian Restaurant

Kohinoor Indian Restaurant
200 Rainbow Blvd, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
716 284 2414
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 257 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Food quality is average. Both, veg & non veg options are available. It is close to Niagara Falls. You may try this hotel, if other better option is not available. It also caters to the large groups or tours.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SappiNY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good location with ample parking, buffet lunch was mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The only thing that appeared and tasted fresh were the fresh vegetables, the rice and naan seemed fresh too. However, after we started eating we noticed that other people were getting fresh naan brought out to their tables. No one offered us that option. The Tandoori chicken was very, very dry. The chicken in the Chicken Makhani did not taste fresh. My husband even found a small piece of plastic wrapper in his serving after he started eating. We did not say anything to the staff about it. Some other vegetable dish with a neon green color curry was tasteless..... overall nothing was that memorable. Even their dessert was some pineapple pudding..... it was what appeared like a watered down pineapple smoothie. But it is what I should have expected for a commercialized place like Niagara. If you want something quick and easy in a relatively clean establishment, this did offer a good amount of variety, but it was in my opinion a poor excuse for authentic fresh Indian food. And at $12.95 per person it was a let down.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Awesome place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Having eaten at various Indian restaurants all of the US, this would definitely rank among the very best. The food quality is just awesome, and the prices are more than reasonable. Ate both lunch and dinner, and both were better than expected. The buffet unlike other places doesn't add unnecessary items, but whatever is there is really tasty. If you are looking for south Indian dishes, I am not sure this would be the best place to eat. But if you are non-vegetarian, definitely stop by and I am sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a good breakfast on out trip to the Niagara Falls. This hotel is run by a North Indian however the South Indian Dishes we ordered for the Breakfast like the Idli, Medu Vada and Masala Dosa were awesome. Excellent food, sambhar and chutney too were very good!! Service too was quick and good. Recommended for a Indian Traveler.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love Indian cuisine just not here !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Greeted with mild surprise that we wanted to eat ! Waved towards the buffet. When we inquired about what else there was to eat we were reluctantly handed a menu with a very limited choice.
Still not seated at this point ! we decided to bite the bullet and go with the buffet...mainly vegetarian and very tired. The containers were not well filled and congealed. The only rice accompaniment was plain boiled white. Plastic knives and forks !!
I know we should have left at this point but we were hungry and one lives in hope that the food would taste better than it looked.!!
We were waved to sit were we wanted and chose to eat outside as the inside was small and canteen style rather like a dining section at a gas station.
The patio seating is probably the restaurants biggest asset as it is large with a central bar and ideal for people watching.
Naan arrived as we sat down which hot and tasty , the best part of a mediocre and ridiculously expensive meal .
I am sure there are better choices of Indian restaurants within walking distance. Also be aware that they want to charge you $10 dollars parking in the lot next door , unless you tell the parking assistant that you intend to eat !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohinoor Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kohinoor Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohinoor Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.