We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cave of the Winds

Cave of the Winds
Goat Island, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
716-278-1730
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Caverns/ Caves
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This exciting tour outfits you in a hooded raincoat and takes you into a cave and then along a catwalk near the foot of the falls for an up-close, wet and very rewarding view of the thunderous, cascading waters.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Wright City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was a short wait in line for the elevator to go down to the lower level, after receiving our scandals and putting those on , which you get to keep,there was a short walk to the the wooden stairs which first lead you down to the bottom of the falls and then wind back up to the top where Hurrican Deck is , which i believe you can choose to not do if your not wanting to get sprayed in the face with strong winds and rain, but for the thrill seekers Hurrican Deck is a must. one of the top things that we did on our second trip to Niagra falls in the past 8 years.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,191
    173
    31
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a must-do when at Niagara Falls -- but save it for last, 'cause afteward, everything else will be a letdown. You actually get to walk right up to one of the Falls, explore and watch the water rush over the rocks, and feel the spray, too. You can even go up on the Hurricane Deck and stand right up next to the fall, feel the water pounding on you. It's almost a spiritual experience, just incredible. Just make sure to roll up your pantlegs... no, higher... higher than that, as high as they'll go. I rolled mine up to my knees, and they still got soaked. :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piscataway, nj
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Most amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Me and my friends took gobus tour from nyc to DC, phili and niagara. It's a great tour except that they dint include cave of the winds in package and they included thousand islands. Based on all the reviews about cave of the winds, we requested tour operator to change to cave of the winds and without a doubt it was the most amazing experience. Everyone had so much fun getting so close to falls and getting all wet. Be careful though becoz it can really hurt you too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Seagul City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was very interesting and the views were breathtaking. It it a self guided tour. Make sure you wear the poncho because the seagulls will get you ! The line was pretty long but went by pretty fast. It was a very crowded tour though. Definatly worth the 11 bucks overall. You get a pair of sandals and a poncho included with tour price.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patoka, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

You get some sort of rush when you get into the cave. Yes, the ferry is crowded. Get over it. Once you get to the cave, you will be glad you did. I really wanted to go here after watching "Bruce Almighty" when Jim Carrey's character is on the Maid of the Mist. I thought that looked gorgeous, so off we went. I'm so glad we did. The water is beautiful and it looks so much different with a worm's eye perspective down there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave of the Winds also viewed

 

Been to Cave of the Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cave of the Winds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cave of the Winds to your Saves list