We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUN next door to the Travel Lodge” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Motel

Save Saved
You added Sands Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   9393 Niagara Falls Boulevard, At Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 48 hotels in Niagara Falls
brantford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“RUN next door to the Travel Lodge”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We booked through Hotwire..our first mistake! Definatley not a Holiday Inn as they would lead you to believe. After reading reviews we called Hotwire with our concerns and they assured us that if we had any problems, they would move us to another hotel. Our Rooms were horrible, bathrooms dirty and damp with paint bubbling off the walls & only 1 small towell and only a shower. Hotwire sells this as a 2 star, shame on Hotwire! Upon arrival, we did not get the room we booked and the no-tell motel was booked and could not give us a room with 2 beds. They would not even show us the room until we signed the check in card. They tried to charge us an additional $30 for a cot. After 2 long hours of arguing with Hotwire, we were finally refunded our money. We went next door to the Travel lodge and stayed in a fantastic room with flat screen tv, clean bathroom and carpets and a compliementary breakfast, cheaper than we paid for at the Sands motel. I would not stay in this motel even if it were for free. PS, the breakfast that the Sands offers is powdered mini donuts that sit out in the open all day and nights with flies crawling over them....bon appetit!

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    4
    19
See reviews for
6
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philly
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

The room was badly infested with bed bugs. I could feel them crawl all over me. I called the owner and vacated the room immediately. Luckily the other room was in a better shape. The continental breakfast included mini powdered donuts, mini muffins and coffee!!!. The swimming pool was a just for namesake. I am sure it was made just to get better star ratings.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

The motel looked ok from the outside, however extremely noisy airconditioning unit and small room. Quite a lot of flies, subsequently we sprayed ourselves witht he fly repeller in order not to get eaten alive while asleep!
In the morning no hot water and shower did not work at all. Advised reception and thye just said 'Oh we'll have someone check it out at some point'
Glad we were only staying the night.
Also Pool is right on the road witht eh motel horse shoe shaped round it. At night this did attract some kids although they didn't actually go in the pool as it had at this point been locked up.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

The building was very old and the insulation was poor. One could see light through the cracks at the door, and the bathroom window was too broken to be closed. The weather was pleasant for us but we cannot imagine staying there in winter time. It was a bit noisy in the early morning hours partly because of all the cracks open to outside.

The owner(s) were very friendly and the pool was good. We tried the trolley to the park but found it inconvenient. It took 35-40 min (~10 min by car), was always late, and runs only once every hour. We learned later that parking near the Niagara Falls Discovery Center was free so we could park there then take the scenic trolley around the park.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

Pro: Room were clean

Cons: In the website said there's free complimentary breakfast but when I stayed there no breakfast served not even coffe and when I asked they said no breakfast in the winter , for a rush traveler that doesn't have much time to stop by for a breakfast it's a bit dissapointing

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

I booked this hotel for a single night stay on our trip back from Niagara Falls, ON as we wanted to spend an evening on the American side of the falls. The motel is old but it is well maintained. We paid $59 for a double bed room. Though the room was small, it was clean. The room came with a mini-fridge and a microwave. Bathroom was small without a bathtub, it had a shower booth instead.

The hotel has free passes for the Tourist Trolley that will take you to the falls and back if you dont want to drive. The bus runs once every hour and it is seasonal. They had complimentary breakfast - not the continental kind but just muffins and cupcake types and coffee.

It is good for travellers who just need the hotel for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

I slept here this October.
A good thing about this hotel is that rooms are clean-- Janitors did good jobs. The owner at the front desk seems nice and helpful.

But several things should be attended to.

First, rooms are too small. Especially bathroom; it doesn't have any bath tub, and instead a shower booth; the bathroom is so small that I barely and uncomfortably did my job on the toilet seat and almost hit the wall with my head.

Second, when you reserve this motel room via some internet websites, you gonna pay about 50 bucks for double room. But if you try to check in this motel at the office front desk, then you should pay about 80 bucks for the same double room. So keep in mind this big difference in price.

Third, rooms are too cold here. it was 40 degree this October night and windy outside. The built-in radiator is just faintly close to "just below warm" ( you cannot control the built-in radiator individually). And the door sealing is so ugly bad that all the cold chilly air blows directly into the room inside.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Motel

Address: 9393 Niagara Falls Boulevard, At Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14304
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 48 hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sands Motel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Motel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.