We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Art Deco Hotel- easily the nicest at the falls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Giacomo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Giacomo to your Saves list
The Giacomo
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Art Deco Hotel- easily the nicest at the falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was just a total charm! From the free valet parking to the sky view lounge (with 360 degree views of the falls) to the bar/lounge in the lobby to the free gourmet breakfast... each discovery was better than the one before. As this was my 5th trip to the Falls, I had tried the likes of the Sheraton and Seneca Niagara... they don't even come close to this beautiful property. Only 39 rooms- all stunning, meticulously well kept, and large. I will definitely stay here on my next trip.

Room Tip: Higher the better, ask for a falls view (rather than the parking lot!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    117
    43
    12
    15
See reviews for
96
268
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon arrival our room was clean but on second day room was:
-Towels were not replaced
-Coffee mugs and glasses were not cleaned
-Papers from chocolates were left on side tables
For a 5 star hotel powdered eggs should not be served for breakfast. Food was also luke warm.
Styrofoam cups were given for juice.

It was hard to regulate temperature in room. It was cold and uncomfortable.
I advised front desk regarding the above.
For the money, I would rather stay at the Sheraton

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights 28-30 nov. Everything is great about this place and included : valet parking, hot breakfast, bed, view, close to everything! Everybody is very nice. Just wow! The casino nearby is worth going, the falls are amazing, I Will be back!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stay on the US side all the time and never found this location. Knew the building really well but did not realize it was a boutique hotel. Staff was so nice and very professional. Rooms were great and the beds unbelievably comfortable. Breakfast was complete offering most anything you would desire. Came around at 9pm to drop off freshly baked cookies. Who does that? Won't stay anywhere else for future trips. Thanks Giamcomo.

Room Tip: So close to the Falls. Walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed two nights 26-28 Nov 2014. We found out about The Giacomo through friends and are glad they told us about it. The Art Deco style building from 1929 has tons of character. The staff are friendly and location was perfect.
A few of the highlights:
Complimentary valet parking,
Hot buffet breakfast included (excellent waffles),
Fresh, warm chocolate chip cookies brought to the room.
The room, view, bed was excellent. The only reason I don't give it five stars is that the room was a little cold, probably due to the age of the building.

Excellent hotel. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you are from Canada stay in a north facing room as we could stay connected with our Fido mobile p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Without going into too many details, our recent experience at The Giacomo (pronounced Jackcomo) could have been better. The General Manager responded to my e-mail concerning my stay promptly and seemed genuinely sorry (compensated us appropriately). If you visit their lounge for a cocktail, ask for Lieanna she's an absolute pleasure.

Room Tip: If possible, I'd ask for a room facing the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

This was the best hotel we ever got in our 26 years of marriage staff are friendly location excellent food your room excellent slept like a baby the next time we are bringing our son so he can see Niagara Falls and that is a place to visit to see one of the wonders in America we are coming back again great place for family great place for couples.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Address: 222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo The premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel - Niagara's only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Giacomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.