We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Giacomo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Giacomo to your Saves list
The Giacomo
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here one night. This hotel is so fresh and modern, breakfast was wonderful. Location was great since it's like 2 minute walk to the Niagara falls. A lot of restaurants around the hotel and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    114
    40
    12
    15
See reviews for
96
260
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very nice hotel, very clean..comfortable bed, very clean bathroom....has a very spacious shower with a sit down seat in it (no tub) though. It came with a free breakfast which was excellent and had bacon and eggs and waffles (made to order) and sausages and toast and bagels and yogurt. 3 different kinds of juice and coffee..was wonderful!
Great TV lineup....many channels! The only thing that was missing was a lunch and dinner restaurant. I knew it didn't have a full restaurant when I booked it but I really missed it because I thought there would be many places to eat around the hotel and there were not many.
The service checking in was great. It did have a lounge but it didn't open until 5pm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Toronto. While our room only had a view of the next door hotel (literally could see in their room), the top floor had an awesome view of the area. (We actually used this to figure out where we had to go to get to the falls.) It was only a short walk to the park to see the falls.

Our room was beautiful with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge with a large shower. The free valet parking was definitely a plus! We enjoyed the full breakfast in the morning as well. I believe the only complaint I had was the lack of outlets near the bed to charge my cell phone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Close to the Falls, very nicely appointed, free valet parking! Hotel was within walking distance of the park and many dining options. The room was very spacious and bed was extremely comfortable. The shower was huge! We really appreciated the full breakfast too. All the staff were extremely friendly and efficient! We received some excellent recommendations for things to do and nearby places to visit!

The only drawbacks were that the AC blew right across the bed and it was too hot not to have it on. And the bathroom light shone right across my eyes in the morning (no way to dim, or select which of the sink lights came on). Both these issues would be easily resolved by reversing the bed and the dresser location.

Room Tip: Overlooking the street was sometimes a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our first hotel on a 2 week trip to the States. It was a good introduction.
We were very tired from our journey from UK when we arrived. The bed was so huge and soft that we were asleep within moments of lying down.Probably the best bed of all the hotels we stayed at. The bathroom was large with shower and nice quality products and bathrobes.There were coffee/ tea making facilities and also there was a hairdryer and iron and ironing board in the room, which we discovered is pretty much standard in the States but not something you can guarantee in the UK! We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast especially as we weren't expecting it!There was usual hot fare, yogurt, cereals pastries etc. As mentioned before the decor was really nice and the position was great for visiting the falls - only being a short walk away. staff were polite and helpful without exception.
We hadn't realised we could walk over the bridge to view the falls from the Canadian side which is good to get some photos from a different perspective - just take your passport or identity card.
The only negative for us was that the air-conditioning was a bit noisy and the room was hot without using it . The windows were sealed units and couldn't be opened. Otherwise a great place to stay .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 5 hotels in the falls area on our recent trip & this was one of our favorites for a fe reasons...

The hotel is nicely located near the falls. You don't have to walk very far. Valet is complementary, so you don't have to deal with parking.

Best of all, the decor is just beautiful. Every aspect of the room was nicely designed. It was really a treat.

Bathroom could have been better... Our shower head was clearly broken and the tub tiles were clean but had calcium buildup or something. But not a big enough issue to detract from the 5 star rating.

Bed was very comfortable & we joked about stealing the pillows we liked them so much.

Breakfast was complementary and very good - breakfast staff was friendly and attentive.

Hotel does not have an falls view forum your room -- hotel is on the bottom 6 floors. Even a high view on the American side is not going to show you the falls, though. The observation deck on floor 19 is a lot of fun & comfortable 24/7 access.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raiderrick86
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Have spent time in various hotels in Niagara Falls N.Y. but this is by far the best. confortable rooms, Close to the falls, and good comp. breakfast (actual GOOD breakfast - not just muffins and bad coffee.)
Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.
Valet parking in a secure area.. staff was nice witout fawning all over you.

Room Tip: Because of the lack of pool this may not be a great hotel for kids but for a couple trying to get aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Address: 222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo The premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel - Niagara's only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Giacomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.