We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Giacomo

Save Saved
You added The Giacomo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Giacomo
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 48 hotels in Niagara Falls
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is a must stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The pictures online and the descriptions given do not give this hotel justice! The hotel is truly located within minutes of Niagara Falls and the Seneca Casino. In the snowy weather, I made it to both destinations in less than 10 minutes.

Looking for something to eat? The staff will gladly make suggestions for you and if it is too far to walk, the complimentary shuttle is available for your needs but there are many choices within 5 blocks, including the Culinary Art Institute.

I would love to see how beautiful this place is in the summer time. In the winter, it was simply gorgeous.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff D, General Manager at The Giacomo, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
You are right, Niagara Falls in the winter is actually a wonderland. Its a rare treat to be one of just a handful of people standing next to a natural wonder of the world. When a sparkle of ice forms from the mist on the trees next to the Falls and the sun hits them just right, it is a sight to behold. We are thrilled you got to experince that and look forward to welcoming you to the Giacomo this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    96
    33
    11
    13
See reviews for
80
231
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mont Vernon, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They have a courtesy pick up shuttle which came for us at the Rainbow bridge when we called late on cold winter evening. Free parking, free wi-fi and a wonderful breakfast. The room was clean, upscale and very nice. The provided bathrobes were soft and warm. Overall we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and talk to the staff. They are extremely helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff D, General Manager at The Giacomo, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about our staff at The Giacomo. We pride ourselves on providing the best personal service of any property in Niagara Falls NY and are glad to be a warm home on a cold evening. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have nothing to add outside the good to excellent reviews other people have posted about this place. My wife and I stayed for one Saturday night and had no complaints. We had a corner room and it was huge. Highly recommend staying at The Giacomo.

Room Tip: It may cost a little more, but ask for a corner room as they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff D, General Manager at The Giacomo, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about the Giacomo in Niagara Falls, NY. We strive to live up to the expectations of both our guests and ourselves. Each room has its own unique style and charm and we are glad you found one you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The town of Niagara Falls, NY is a strange place. It's impossible to see either set of falls properly from the US and the lights of Niagara Falls Ontario diminish anything the US can produce. The town feels flat and unloved. The Giacomo is a port in that storm. The decor will not be to everyone's taste but it's bold and makes a change from the stark neutrality of most hotels. The reception staff are friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to accommodate requests. The room was dark, and my only complaints are that the bed was far too big (!), and the room is dark even when all the lights are on. However, there was plenty of storage space and the shower room was lovely.

Breakfast was a buffet. Some have described it as a continental breakfast, but there is hot food available as well, and everything was fresh and tasty.

Having seen the falls from both sides, it's unlikely I'll ever go back to Niagara Falls (on either side of the river), but I enjoyed my stay at the Giacomo and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff D, General Manager at The Giacomo, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We like to describe it to our guests that on the Canadian side you can see the Falls as if watching them on TV, but on the American side, you can stand right next to the Falls, feel the energy, and be a part of the natural experience. Thank you for referring to the Giacomo as a "port in the storm", but rest assured that there are other up and coming attractions and restaurants evolving. It has been years, but Niagara Falls, NY is on an upswing. You just might have to come back and see after all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We loved it. HOWEVER, check the schedule of the convention center across the street before you book. There was a late night rave when we stayed. We could just about feel the heart pumping thud-thud-thud of the base.

Room Tip: The higher, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff D, General Manager at The Giacomo, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
That was one of the more interesting evenings here at the Giacomo in Niagara Falls, NY! We too try to keep an eye on the Convention Center so that we can better alert our guests of events in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently stayed at this beautiful renovated art deco inspired hotel (circa 1920) while trying to escape Hurricane Sandy. We had to change our plans and start driving from VT West instead of our planned trip to Washington DC. Luckily, the beginning of our unplanned adventure turned into a great 2 night stay at The Giacomo. We arrived on a very stormy night and were greeted by a very friendly and accommodating young man who was running the charming hotel that evening. We were one of the few guests that night and he made our experience great. We were given a warm and cozy room and once settled in, we ventured down to the hotel bar where the hospitality continued and we ended up enjoying a nice evening with a handful of guests some of which were locals who provided us with lots of suggestions of things to see the next day rain or shine. We got a great night's sleep in a very comfortable bed and with the unpredictable weather and a long drive behind us, we decided to stay another night and visit the Falls and get acquainted with the area. The Falls and Goat Island are stunning and we luckily had much nicer weather the next day. Lots of history in the surrounding charming towns of Lewiston, Youngstown and Lockport where the Erie Canal can be visited. Not to be missed--Be sure to go up to the 19th floor of the hotel in the evening as there is an amazing view of Niagara Falls totally lit up in pinks and oranges. We had a great experience and would definitely stay here again if we return to Niagara Falls. Note: pass on the complimentary breakfast as its very average.

Room Tip: The room was a little small but we were very happy with it. Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

SO glad we stayed here! Exceeded expectations! :) The staff has been friendly and helpful. Everything is within walking distance. The skyview lounge was an unexpected surprise. Free wifi and great complementary breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls
Address: 222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo The premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel — Niagara’s only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Giacomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.