We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Giacomo

Save Saved
You added The Giacomo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Giacomo
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 48 hotels in Niagara Falls
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

SO glad we stayed here! Exceeded expectations! :) The staff has been friendly and helpful. Everything is within walking distance. The skyview lounge was an unexpected surprise. Free wifi and great complementary breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    96
    33
    11
    13
See reviews for
80
231
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

With one last section of the famous Erie Canal (one of four New York State Canals, all with water & boats) Trail to check before writing the fourth edition of "Erie Canal Bicyclist & Hiker Tour Guide" (Cyclotour Guide Books), I rode the Trailways bus to Niagara Falls with my folding bicycle. The next morning I bicycled from Niagara Falls, New York to a small village, Middleport, New York and then to Buffalo, New York to board a Greyhound bus to return to my home in Rochester New York.

Olga and Ashley, The Giacomo's receptionists warmly welcomed me and my bicycle. I asked for and received a few large plastic bags to place under my bicycle so as not to soil the carpet in my room.

It was a delightful room with a view overlooking one section of the Falls. Not only did it have the usual desk, chair, dresser, TV, bed but also a small couch and an electric fireplace. The decor was sophisticated, cosmopolitan and certainly not garish. A well appointed roomy bathroom. The bed was firm but not like a board; soft but not squishy, very comfortable. Interestingly The Giacomo's decorator placed a light in the middle of the headboard. The light could be moved as well as precisely aim for clear reading. The shower head provided a superb spray of endless hot water.

When staying at The Giacomo don't forget to go to the 19th floor lounge for a magnificent view of both the American and Canadian Falls. The "Falls" are are lit at night, even during the winter.

The Giacomo does not have a restaurant. The Niagara Falls Culinary Institute operates a sandwich/salad deli and a pastry shop on Old Falls Blvd. a half block away from the front door.

The Giacomo has a lounge on the first floor where you can obtain beverages, alcoholic and soft. You can then use the elevator to travel up to the 19th floor for a view rivaling all others on either side of the border.

Room Tip: Ask for a 5th floor and above room facing the Falls through at least one window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had made reservations for our family of four through Priceline, and for some reason when we arrived a room with only one bed was reserved. I was quite upset, as one of our family was recovering from recent surgery. The staff was unbelievable. They not only arranged for an extra room with no extra charge, but they actually drove us to a recommended restaurant.
Besides all that, the rooms were real hotel, not motel, rooms, with high end finishes and fixtures. Huge bathrooms with marble and granite. Also, a wonderful location.
It is our go-to place in Niagara Falls.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Giacomo is by far the Best Hotel in Niagara on the NY side of the Falls for several reasons...
The ROOMS are CLEAN, soft comfortable bed with firm mattress, great Decor and nice views. The STAFF is both very FRIENDLY and extemely HELPFUL should you need anything. Olga was the best both on the phone answering my questions before we left home as well as in person once we arrived and continued to provide us with useful information throughout our stay! We stayed for 6 nights in June 2012 and were sad when it was time to leave. Hotel also offers complimentary daily BREAKFAST which is FANTASTIC!, Cable TV, refrigerator in room with water bottles, free transportation to nearby places which wasn't even neccesary because everything is in walking distance anyway, and a BEAUTIFUL lounge in the lobby with wine bar and live entertainment on select nights. Last but not least is it's LOCATION, which is PERFECT!
All within a 5 minute walk are several attractions including the Seneca Casino, Hard Rock Cafe, Niagara State Park (best place to see the FIREWORKS), Bridal Falls observation tower, Goat Island / Three Sister Island (Cave of the Winds, Canadian Falls, Imax Theater, and trolly), and The Red Coach Inn (best place to go for Dinner, so good we went twice!). There are lots of other fun things to to do in the surrounding area including a childrens aquarium, wax museums, and the RAINBOW BRIDGE which leads into Canada. Finally, there is a Sports Bar right next door with a smoking lounge, gift shop, Quick Draw / Lotto, Pool Table, and Live Outdoor Music (Bands play inside when weather is bad). The food is ok for lunch or snacks (we ate there twice), and they have a pretty good beer selection! Nothing bad or negative to say about The Giacomo!

Room Tip: Our room was small, but so was our rate. If you wish for a room with a view of the falls or of Canad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a modern hotel. Quite boutique. Very comfortable bed, slept really well. Towels were very small. Shower has a lot of mould behind the door frame, which the cleaners obviously missed as you can only see from inside the shower. Rest of room was clean. No view of falls from hotel but only one block away. Better views from Canadian side, was easy to cross over and hotels on that side have falls views.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Giacomo Hotel for four nights in October 2012 and were pleasantly surprised at the service we received from the time we arrived late in the evening, Eric greeted us with a big smile and welcomed us to the hotel. The hotel is small but of the highest quality, everything is beautifully decorated from the lobby, bar to the hotel rooms. We stayed in a king suite with a jacuzzi and fireplace. The staff is very friendly and gave us lots of advice on where to go eat and what to do. During our stay they even had a halloween party with Devan and her friend singing it was a great time. The hotel offers a car that can take you anywhere you want within a five mile area and although we had a rental car, we used the service because sometimes it was hard to find parking in certain spots. Elizabeth, from housekeeping was very nice and when I told her I needed more pillows, she quickly offered to bring me more pillows. The room was very clean and very comfortable. Every night they brought us freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. We quickly made friends with the hotel staff and spoke to them regularly during our stay. Eric, Devan, Ashley, Josh and Joy were terrific! We will definitely recommend this hotel and we plan on visiting again the next time we go to Niagara Falls.

Room Tip: Get the feather pillows! Visit the observation tower, great views of the Falls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Giacomo Sun-Tue in the middle of October 2012. The reservation process was easy. I wasn't able to find specific room available via re-seller's sites, so I called the hotel directly and was able to book a specific room I need for our party of 3.

Hotel is located about 7 min walk (slow walk) from the main attractions. Few restaurants are walking distance, and of course the casino is two blocks away. The hotel has valet service which is convenient because most destinations are walking distance.

The room is lovely - so different from the "standard" hotel rooms. The wallpaper is great looking and very much adds to the ambiance of the "boutique" hotel! The beds are very soft.

The bathroom was big (no tub) but the walk-in shower was great with an awesome shower-head.

The service is excellent. The staff downstairs were wonderful and welcoming. There were cookies at check-in, and they were ready to answer multiple questions we had.

Breakfast in the mornings in the common room was tasty and fresh. And it is the little touches that make the stay special: For example - the cleaning lady noticed that there were 3 of us in the room, so they left 3 water bottles and extra chocolates for us.

Do take the hike up to the 19th floor sky lounge (ride the elevator to 17th floor and walk up two flights of stairs) - the view is worth the effort.

Do not go to "legends" next door. While it is convenient (right next building over) - the service was horrible, the food quality was way below average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls
Address: 222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo The premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel — Niagara’s only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Giacomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.