We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for an overnight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   240 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 48 hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mooers, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok for an overnight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We made a stopover (one night) in Niagara Falls on our way to another destination. The hotel is in a fantastic location with regards to what the American side of the Falls has to offer.
Parking is an absolute nightmare. You will have to choose valet parking so be prepared as the is little to no parking available.
The room was fairly clean but the halls and the room had a bizarre smell that took a little getting used to.
The hotel employees were VERY friendly and accomodating.
The night we were there they had a free "movie night" outside. They were showing Hunger Games.
This suited our purpose for a one night stay, but I am not sure I would want to stay here for an extended time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Kathy K,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel.

I am glad you found our central location convenient and our staff friendly. While we do have limited onsite parking, I'm hoping you found our complimentary valet an efficient and suitable replacement.

I am sorry to hear you don't feel you would enjoy our accommodations for more than one night and invite you to tell me how you feel we can improve. Please feel free to email any additional comments or suggestions to: GM@QualityNiagaraFalls.com.

Thank you again for your review of our property and I hope we'll see you again on your next trip to Niagara Falls, USA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    66
    69
    29
    50
See reviews for
93
68
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

#1.Decent Hotel for a short stay
#2.Very close to Niagara falls state park.(walking distance)
#3.Close to Restaurants((walking distance)
#4.Rooms are old, but maintained clean.
#5.Bathroom shower was poor.Not Enough water pressure.
#6.Front Desk is friendly.
#7.Reasonableprice compared to other hotels close to state park.
#8.No Free Breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
CaryTraveller,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel.

I am glad you found our central location in the Downtown area convenient, our rates competitive and our staff friendly; we hope we'll see you again on your next trip to Niagara Falls, USA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was very convenient to the Niagara Falls and Park. You can walk there in 5 minutes, no need to drive the car to park. Parking is limited, so park in the lot behind other cars, and use valet parking. A lot of street vender type restaurants in the area, and restaurants to eat at and choose from.

Good: Staff was friendly, front desk was friendly and took care of all our requests.

Good: We had a pet, so one of the few pet friendly hotels in the area.

Things to Consider:
- For rooms, not all rooms have refrigerators and microwaves, be specific in your request:

-If you get Roll away bed, ask for clean sheets, we were not sure about ours for the roll-away.

General tip: Be sure to bring your own cooler of water bottles and drink to keep in your room and take when venturing out: No convenient stores in the area and limitted (we saw none) water fountains in Niagara Park: So that means $3:50 and standing in line, for small water bottles everytime you go out and the kids say, I am thirsty.

Overall the hotels served our purpose:
Pet Friedly, reasonable rate, close/walking distance to the Falls, for 2 nights.
If you chose to stay further away, consider the parking, 10$ a day, 20$ a day at some lots. Then when you are tired, you have to drive back to the hotel. If your hotel is closer, you can do half day at park, walk to hotel and shower relax and eat, then walk back at night to see fireworks.

Ok, Enjoy.

Room Tip: If descriptiong says Refrigerator or Microwave, what if my room doesn't have these items, will t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
verychulo,

Thanks for the review!

I am glad you found our central location convenient and our staff friendly and accommodating.

Our roll-away beds are made up for a guest each time one is requested or reserved. I apologize you felt unsure about the sheets on yours; however, I assure you they are changed every time!

Many of your other tips are spot on!
- Bottled water is available from the hotel's vending machines for $2, a slight savings from other area options.
- Parking fees are also something to consider when parking in other lots; this is where our complimentary valet can help save a little extra money as well.

Lastly, you are correct that not all of our room types have refrigerators and microwaves. Our room descriptions will specify, however all of our junior suites and full suites come standard with both. Currently, our standard rooms do not come with refrigerators and microwaves, however this is an amenity we hope to add in the near future!

Thank you again for your review and I hope to see you again on your next trip to Niagara Falls, USA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

One of the worst hotels stays we’ve ever had. The room was musty and dirty=nail clippings on the floor! The faucet handle of our sink kept falling off. The light in the bathroom was ridiculously dim. (This probably was a blessing in disguise.) There was a wrapper behind the toilet that stayed during two rounds of ‘housekeeping’. The pool water was so murky it might have been green Jell-O. Parking is very limited, so they offered “24 hour” valet service. Except the valet service actually started at 7AM. If you needed your vehicle prior to that you had to walk 2 blocks and search for your car in a public lot. The only positives: the staff was friendly, the food in the restaurant was pretty good, and the roaming magician was great. Quality should be in “quotes” on their sign.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are outdated try and get a room a pet has not recently stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
585mel123,

Thank you for your review. I do apologize about the housekeeping issues you have described and shared your review with our Executive Housekeeper to avoid future experiences like the one you have described.

I do apologize about any confusion with our complimentary valet as well. Our valet signs do state on them "7:00am - 11:00pm", however we have a staff member overnight that can retrieve valeted vehicles as well. I apologize if valet was incorrectly explained to you.

I am glad to hear you found our staff friendly and our on-site restaurant's food good and appreciate you including this in your review as well.

Thank you for you review and I hope you'll give us another try on your next visit to Niagara Falls, USA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

its below expectation when it comes to quality inn. we just checked out of the hotel today after two nights of stay. there's no fridge or microwave in the room. carpets are dirty but worst of all is staff of the hotel. They kept calling us for payment when we checked in with our credit card to begin with... for some reason they wanted cash. They called us a total of 10 times in one day. Housekeeping apart from one guy was so annoying, they started knocking at our door from 8am atleast 4 times till we told her off. The day we checked out we forgot our iphone 5 charger in the room. we drove back to the hotel by 1pm and reception staff said housekeeping didn't find anything when they cleaned the room. when we insisted that we go up and look again coz we knew for sure we left the charger by the table, the staff got pissed and said the room is already checked in. now i remember the day we reached the hotel around 12pm they did not let us check in till 330 pm so how could it be occupied soon. wierdly not understanding how important a charger is nowadays the dumb receptionist kept insisting she can't disturb the guests who had checked in the same room but they dint mind calling us a day before about 10 times for a payment. on several insisting girl at the reception (who was a teen) made us fill a form so if they find something, they will ship it to us but we need to pay shipping. horrible staff makes the hotel much worse then it is. Choose Dayinn Next door. If owner/manager of the hotel is on trip advisor please fix this for your own good and change your staff asap.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Sayadil,

Please accept my apology for any dissatisfaction you left our hotel with.

Unfortunately, as we tried to explain while you were here, your credit card did originally process through our system but was then refused by the issuing bank. Unfortunately, I have seen this happen a few times with international cards and I apologize this happen to you at the beginning of your stay with us. However, a hotel does need a guaranteed method of payment for a stay and this is why the front desk called. As I am only aware of 2 phone calls placed to your room, I will review the phone records from our front desk.

I do also apologize we were unable to get you checked in early when you arrived. We are not able to check a room in early if it is still occupied or not cleaned yet. However, as soon as rooms are available we do try to check in our guests, even if it is not check in time.

I do apologize you left with having a poor experience at our property and as you can see in the previous reviews on this site, your experience is not the normal experience our guests have.

Thank you for your review and I hope if you are ever back in Niagara Falls, USA you'll give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Niagara Falls US side for a quick stop. I chose this hotel because of price. The hotel staff couldn't have been friendlier--no complaints there. We originally tried to check in at 3:15 pm but were told there were no rooms available ...there were other people waiting as well. We decided to keep our stuff in our car & see the sights. We came back 3 hrs later and had no problem checking in but got the most depressing room ever. First floor looking at the back of the next bldg and HVAC units. Should have requested another room, but we wanted to get to dinner so we closed the shades and turned on the AC... which pretty much did nothing...just blew tepid air. Bathroom sink outside toilet/shower room .. practically have to stand in the shower to open/close the bathroom door though. Room looks like it used to have bigger beds because of the marks on the wall and that the tiny nightstand was approx. 2 ft from each bed. In the morning we decided to eat in the hotel ... Mistake. Find somewhere else to eat. $10.50 adults; $6.50 kids -- really small selection of food; nice staff again but you eat in the bar area and the tables & tv are set up for such. At 9:30 there was no silverware.. The ones I picked up from the holder had food on it. Most likely wont ever stay here again.

Notes on Niagara: US side has the Niagara Falls State Park, observation tower, Maid of the Mist & Cave of the Winds. ALL MUST DO things. Park is really pretty and views over the Falls in different areas are amazing. Spend your time going through the whole park..totally worth it. Downtown NF is depressing and not much to do; old touristy town. (Panhandler tried to hit us up for $ within 2 min of parking our car. Saw a man walking with 3 kids wearing a "prison/probation" security bracelet... Little unnerving..)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
3ofusMens,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. I am glad to hear you found our staff friendly and rates competitive.

I apologize we were not able to get you checked in to your room early, and further that you were not satisfied with your room. Unfortunately, due to close proximity of our neighboring building, there are some rooms that face the building next to us.

I also apologize you did not enjoy the $10.00, inclusive, breakfast buffet served in our on-site restaurant. I will be sure to share your review with our Food & Beverage Director and Executive Chef so they may investigate in an effort to improve for future guests.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope you'll give us another change on your next trip to Niagara Falls, USA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

For not having a reservation anywhere we choose right. House keeping was very polite. Room was very clean. Everyone was helpful. The gentleman working the gift shop greeted everyone with a smile. Although other tourist were over and beyond rude, the staff was wonderful. Will refer others here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
hidee177,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel!

I am happy to hear you found our staff polite and accommodating. We hope we'll see you again on your next visit to Niagara Falls, USA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls

Address: 240 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel & Suites is the center hotel in Downtown Niagara Falls! Everything is located within just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Located just 1 block from the entrance of Niagara Falls State Park, the Rainbow Bridge to Canada, Seneca Niagara Casino, and more! Featuring standard rooms through whirlpool suites, we're sure to have the room type you have in mind! We are also proud to feature pet friendly rooms!All of our rooms feature: HD-TV with HBO, in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, free wifi and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Suites At The Falls
Quality Inn Niagara Falls
Quality Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.