We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will not stay again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Niagara Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Niagara Falls to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Niagara Falls
492 Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
US
1 review
“will not stay again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked the hotel as this is the last one available online. But the condition of the room is much worse that what I expected. It is a very small room. The worst part is that you can hear all the talking and showers and toilet flushes by your neighbors. No elevator either. The stairs and hallway are really dirty.

It is still about 15 minutes walk to the falls.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    58
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
44
39
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Would I stay at Rodeway Inn Niagra Falls again? Yes. Would I pay a bit more to try another hotel. Yes. Our stay there around the middle of October was all right but several things could have been better.

First the good parts. Short 5-10 minute walk to the Falls. This is important. Niagara Falls, NY is in an unbelievably terrible condition, several buildings and people walking around remind me of the bad part of a major US city. So, you want to be close to the Falls!. 5 minute walk to the Rainbow Bridge that takes you to Canada. Free parking, free working Wi-Fi. Reasonably clean room, bathroom functional. Sleep quality good. Reasonably quiet overall but then again October is off-season, there few cars in the parking lot.

Not so good parts. Extremely noisy AC unit. Had to turn it off at night, I could not bear the noise. Breakfast advertised but basically nonexistent. There's some coffee and maybe a cookie. Visible repair work in many places in the bathroom. Tape holding the batteries on the back side of the TV remote. Not sound insulated at all. You can easily hear people outside, but luckily this rarely happened during our stay since it was off-season.

Yes, I know, it's a motel so you could say that many of these things are to be expected. But that price is not that of a motel. I did not like paying 50$ more for the weekend night compared to Friday night. I did have the chance to visit the Canadian side. If you can book a hotel there, book it there but, of course, come to see the American side of the Falls too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Taught it was going to be a good choice due to the location after spending 3 nights there I will have to say was a very bad choice and will never stay there again ,rooms were dirty and horrible room service

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Rodeway inn is on the mainstreet and so is ideally located for walking to all the Niagara attractions. we were there at the beginning of the season..May 10--12 and we left on Saturday when crowds were starting to come in. we found the roads deserted and even the national park and the falls area did not have many people though the Cave of the winds and Maid of the mist had been resumed. we had chosen this hotel as we did not want the hassles of parking but there were hardly any cars.. or people at the park...We were a little scared as the surroundings appeared a little seedy, however, we walked to the falls all 3 days and did not encounter any problem. Lewiston where we went for the jetboat ride is also only a short drive away. So all in all, found the location very convenient. The room was clean and well equipped with microwave, fridge. Didn’t much care for the muffins offered as breakfast, the juice was good though. The girl at the convenience store who did our check in was very friendly and cheerful. Mineral water, yoghurt, milk etc could be purchased at the store which made it easy on us… we could concentrate on the sights without bothering much about shopping for small eats. We were out all through the day, so this place served the purpose for us

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a small two story motel (no elevator) and my friend and I found it comfortable and clean! We arrived at noon and Jenny offered us a second floor room if we wanted to check in. Room was small and clean with a flat screen TV, microwave, refrigerator, room safe and queen beds with Tempurpedic mattresses - AC unit was quiet. I never sleep well in a motel, but I'm surprised to say that I slept soundly! Breakfast was coffee, tea, apple juice, orange juice and 4 different kinds of individually wrapped BakerSource muffins. The motel office is part of a small convenience store. The convenience store is also were ice is available to motel guests. AJ checked us out in the AM. Jenny and AJ were friendly and helpful! This motel is within walking distance of falls, but we chose to drive and park at the state park.

I would stay again at this location and recommend it to other visitors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

After driving all day long, I was exhausted and then dismayed when my GPS led me to my lodging for the night at Rodeway Inn and I saw what could have passed for a crack den or meth lab. I was pretty sure I would find bed bugs or roaches or blood stains or god knows what. Yet when I opened the door this turned out to be a very clean, comfortable, spacious room with a soft, quality bed, good water pressure,and recently updated bathroom with plenty of hot water and water pressure. The guys on the overnight staff were a bit disinterested and gruff, but the woman on afternoon shift who checked me in was as sweet, welcoming and helpful as you could want. Hotels in Niagara are very expensive, especially this close to the Falls (I walked from here to both the American side and across the bridge to Canada), so this place was a perfect option if you just need basic no-frills place to stay at night, but also want something clean. Just be sure to tip the maids. I suspect this place has lucked into some excellent housekeeping staff, but if they ever lose them it'll go downhill fast. So do your fellow travelers who visit in the future a favor and treat those ladies well.

Room Tip: Handicapped-accessible rooms (#8, #9 and possibly others) had especially large bathrooms and showers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Good value for dollar considering it was Niagara Falls - surprisingly expensive all things considered. Hotel stating they offered breakfast is a joke - seriously, don't even mention it - it is more truthful. That said, extremely convenient location to Falls. Room was acceptably clean with hot water and basic bathroom amenities. Bed was good. Relatively quiet. All in all, a decent hotel with convenient parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Niagara Falls

Address: 492 Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn Niagara Falls is just a few minute walk to Niagara Falls and located just 2 blocks from the Rainbow Bridge to Canada. Located within walking distance of all the area attractions, we are perfectly located so you won't need your car. All of our guest rooms feature: Flat Screen TVs with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, in-room safes desk with chair, and perhaps our most liked feature -- all of our rooms feature Tempurpedic Mattresses. We also have an onsite convenience store and gift shop, offering your one-stop shopping needs during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Budget Inns
Niagara Falls Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Niagara Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.