We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad rap due to outrageous expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Passport Inn 3rd Street

Save Saved
You added Passport Inn 3rd Street to your Saves list
Passport Inn 3rd Street
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Passport Inn 3rd Street
523 3rd Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 48 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Randolph, Massachusetts
1 review
“Bad rap due to outrageous expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Mom/Pop shop. Owners are quiet but cordial. Motel is old, probably built in the 40's or 50's. Room was clean. everything worked. It's a place to spend the night after a great day at the falls. Bathroom was updated but small. Fridge, micro, tv, clean bed, table and chairs. It's inexpensive, close to the falls. It's not a resort, it's a MOTEL. Worked for me go back in a heartbeat. Definitely can't beat the price. Everything else in the area was at least twice as expensive. But dont expect I high end resort at roadside motel prices. My only complaint is that they didn't have a radio/alarm clock.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    1
    16
See reviews for
3
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mexico, New York, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Unbelievable! I was charged $125.00 for a non-smoking room with a king size bed. I wasn't expecting a luxury suite however, I would not let an animal stay here. My husband and I checked in at 5pm and were given room #114, 2nd level. I honestly thought the stairs were going to crumble! Upon entering the room, we were literally hit with the worst smell of stale cigarette smoke (booked a non-smoking room) and filth. For starters, the window was broken and could not be opened. Obviously had not been touched, due to numerous spiders, including baby ones and dead insects hanging in the cobwebs. The bathroom was one of the worst I have ever seen, filth, grime, cracked tiles, and a nasty tub with mold. I did notice there were probably 20 sheets of toilet paper left on the roll, with NO other roll available. The fan vent was broke, probably due to the motor burning up because of 6 inches of filth that had built up on the vent ridges. The mini refrigerator looked as though it had never been defrosted and the interior was dirty, with a pool of unknown muck at the bottom. The microwave looked as though it had never been cleaned, crusty explosions of crusty food all over the inside. The bed was horrifying and should have been burned. The boxspring was literally in shreds, the sheets were stained and looked as though they had not been washed recently. I would not leave my belongings in this room. After 10 minutes, my husband and I left to get dinner and decided we would NOT be staying here. We only went back to take pictures of the room for documentation and left to try and find another room in Niagara Falls on a Friday night. Upon leaving the door key with the desk attendant, he did not want to talk about the issue, had another individual in the office and basically waved us out. Definitely put a huge damper on a celebration weekend my husband and I had planned. Luckily we were able to find another motel. Let me say, we were not looking for a luxury suite, as we would not be spending much time in the room. The only thing I insist on is a clean room and a bed I am not afraid to sleep in. I am amazed that this place has not been shut down.

Room Tip: Always check trip advisor for reviews of lodging!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in Passport Inn for two nights. We didn't expect much for $55/night and I guess we got what we paid for. The room was very dark and it smelled like cigarettes, even though it was a non-smoking room. The sheets were clean but the rest of the room wasn't really.
The receptionist wasn't very helpful or kind but we didn't need much more than the key so we had no problems.
It is very close to the Rainbow bridge and all the attractions on the American side.

Room Tip: On the upper floor you might wake up by the noise of squirrels jumping on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Spent 1 night (1 night too many) December 31st, 2010. The smell in the main office should have been my first guess that this place was not clean. Foolish me. The floors were sticky and dirty. Because it was New Years Eve we spent $140.00 for 1 night. We would have been better off sleeping in a tent for the night. This motel is not only old dirty and out dated, there was no hot water, a broken lamp shade and the bed spread was older than my mother. We had very little toliet paper on the roll in the bathroom and no back up roll to be found. I'm not partial to Curry, however we had to spray our room to get the smell out. Thank God for travel size air fresheners. I would not recommend this motel for anyone with a weak stomach. We checked out quickly in the morning so we could get home and air out our luggage and have a long hot shower. Please do yourself a favour and never book a room. If someone out there has friends who are health inspectors take a walk about. It's not fit to live in. Soap and Water cannot help this place. Good luck to the next victims of this night mare.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TodVogelsang
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

For $49 it's hard to complain. I was towing a small trailer behind my truck and the owner ler me park in a chained off lot they own across the street. The TV, microwave, and fridge all worked. The sheets were clean and the A/C was cold. The fan in the bathroom was loud, and the carpet well worn. I did smell cigs but it wasn't strong. I wouldn't have a problem staying here again by myself. I've spent much of the past 12 yrs traveling the US and Canada and this was by far on the lower end of where I would normally stay, but for $50 I don't expect much. I normally look for rooms in the $80-90 range but was very tired and took a chance on this place. I keep reading all these horrible reviews for the many local motels and have to wonder, what do people expect for $40-70 a night in Niagara Falls? I mean seriously, the weather sucks there 7 months a year. Most of the rooms are empty during those months. How do people expect a property owner to supply anything but a crappy room and breakfast for less then $80-100 a night. LOL , You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

The location is good..about 10 mins walking from Falls park. You will get a good Indian restaurant just beside the motel. It's very basic anddon't expect luxary over here. People in budget can choose this. Support staffs are nice and helpful. But doesn't have elivator to go to second floor. Rooms, beds, bathrooms are clean but not equipped with everythings. But if you ask for extra towel etc, you will get thsi. The floors are broken somewhere but not dangerous.

  • Liked — Location and warmth of people
  • Disliked — Room can be better
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

It would be more sanitary to stay in a park bench than this dump. We were a group of 12 and could not find a hotel close to the falls on the NY side so we stayed in the Passport Inn “Coachman motel”. What a mistake! First you do not get a refund after you have check so ones you sign that is it. At first view the room was bearable but as time passed by more things emerged. All bed spreads were stained with God knows what, mind you we had three rooms, and one room heater did not work. The carpet was all sticky with grime, bathroom AND bath towels were full of other people’s hair. It seems they do not wash anything in these rooms. Remote did not work and we could not put anything in the refrigerators they had in the rooms since they were disgusting. The ceiling of one room was falling and another person in the Motel had insects on the beds. DO NOT STAY HERE you could get something much, much better for the same price and if you do not find anything in NY just stay in the Canada side. I just regret not taking photos so people could bealive me.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Passport Inn 3rd Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passport Inn 3rd Street

Address: 523 3rd Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 48 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Passport Inn 3rd Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passport Hotel 3rd Street
Passport Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passport Inn 3rd Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.