We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose another hotel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge at the Falls North

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge at the Falls North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge at the Falls North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5919 Niagara Falls Blvd., Niagara Falls, NY 14304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 48 hotels in Niagara Falls
New York City, New York
1 review
“Choose another hotel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent 1 night there.The accommodation was ok and fairly close to the Niagara Falls.But the front desk wasn't helpful and friendly at all!The breakfast is couple of muffin....no warm food! I wouldn't go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    60
    51
    26
    13
See reviews for
82
33
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am quite easy to please when I travel. I enjoy new places and experiences. I've stayed in many inexpensive motels that are very nice. This one is not.

I was traveling solo for this stay and decided to "wing it" by grabbing a coupon book from the NYS Thruway rest area. With the coupon, in January (decidedly the off season) my room was about $60. For that I'd expect a basic, clean room with decent furniture and decent service.

The service interaction I had was minimal; friendly if not very efficient. The room I had was a standard king room, no whirlpool, and I will agree the rooms are quite spacious. It would have been nice in all that empty space to have a table that would simultaneously hold my small laptop and the small tray with the ice bucket. But no. The table was the same size as our TV trays at home.

The bathroom was cramped because it's tucked into a corner. It was perfectly fine as far as furnishings. The door into the room left a gap at the bottom when closed so I tossed an extra pillow from the bed in front of it to stop the cold air from coming in. This was especially crucial because when I checked in the heat was off (no surprise, it's a wall unit like most motels, not expecting a pre-heated room). But the gap under the door coupled with the fairly weak wall heater meant my room was not warm the first hour I was in it -- it shouldn't take an hour to warm a motel room.

The room was clean, mostly. Again, January in upstate New York means I expect to find a little grit tracked in from the doorway from housekeeping entering the room. More upsetting is finding loose hairs in made-up bed and the tub (both of which were obviously cleaned, just... untidy).

Two things to seal the deal: game room and bed. I walked the property just to explore and poked my head in the game room, also where the vending machines are located. Literally falling apart. Vending machines inoperable, ceiling tiles missing or coming down. The optimist in me says they are remodeling for the tourist rush in the spring...
The bed, however, will prevent me from ever returning here. By far the worst, stiffest, flimsiest, most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in.

There are other inexpensive motels that do a better job than this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etobicoke, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Obviously this is not a five star hotel. Obviously if you are paying $50-60 for a hotel room it won't be the most beautiful hotel you will ever stay at.
This hotel is close to the outlet mall- close to at least three Targets- and close to The Olive Garden. I'm Canadian- these are the things that when traveling cross border for a girls shopping trip are important to me.
The hotel staff were very nice, gave us maps and directions to anywhere we needed to get to, and was clean and comfortable.
Cheap and cheerful- I'd stay again :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was a decent hotel- the rooms were spacious and cleaner than I expected. Our room had a mini fridge which was very useful. The bed was comfortable. It is located within 5 minutes of the outlets and within 10 minutes of the falls and casinos. There is also a casino shuttle to and from. My only problems were parking (the lot is designed ineptly, and we had to park as far as we could possibly get from our room) and the housekeeper. The housekeeper kept knocking on the door starting at 7:30 am. On a Sunday, this was really aggravating. We reported it to the desk. Overall, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We paid $54 plus tax at this Econolodge. Very cheap indeed. The place is clean and maintained fairly well. It's very close to the Fashion Outlet Mall and the parking lot is always full of cars from Ontario. In our room we had two queen size beds. The bathroom was quite small. The sink was in the corner of the room, not as part of the bathroom itself. The walls are fairly thin and we were disturbed around 3 a.m. by a late arriving group. Continental breakfast is included, but does not have much on offer. Coffee, orange juice, muffins, bagels and waffles.

The bottom line is this place is fine for a night considering the price.

Room Tip: Ask for room well back from the road. Rooms near the metal staircases may be get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Though it is a 10 to 15 min drive from the falls, this place is a nice bargain. Not top notch, you get rooms for what you paid.

The hotel has a nice reception where you can talk with the folks there about the place, tours etc. Lots of pamphlets and informative books in the stand on the places to visit.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have been staying at this motel for the past three years because it's so inexpensive and since we're going shopping it's definitely a cheap stay. Although this year I must say that I was quite leary to stay here. The weekend before ours, friends had stayed here and they got bed-bugs. Yuck! I thoroughly checked our bed and room before settling in but I think next year I'll pay that little bit extra for piece of mind!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge at the Falls North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge at the Falls North

Address: 5919 Niagara Falls Blvd., Niagara Falls, NY 14304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge at the Falls North 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge at the Falls North, a Niagara Falls NY hotel, is near Niagara Falls and the Fashion Outlet Mall.Situated along Interstate 190, the Econo Lodge® at the Falls North is just minutes from the amazing Niagara Falls and many area attractions. Fashion Outlets of Niagara Falls, Seneca Niagara Casino and Casino Niagara are only minutes from this Spanish-style villa. This Niagara Falls, NY hotel is minutes from Martin's Fantasy Island amusement park, Clifton Hill entertainment and shopping promenade and the famous Skylon Tower, which offers spectacular views of the Falls. A free seasonal shuttle service is available to area attractions.Be sure to take a jet boat excursion, helicopter ride or Maid of the Mist boat ride to get an up-close look at the falls. Guests can also take a trip to MarineLand aquarium and theme park, the Aquarium of Niagara and the Cave of the Winds tours. Experience many wonderful area restaurants and browse the stores at the nearby outlet mall.This charming New York hotel offers amenities like a free deluxe continental breakfast including Belgian waffles, free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms and free coffee.Guests of this Niagara Falls, NY hotel can relax in the gazebo, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, while the kids discover the playground and game room.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like access to fax services, data port telephones in all rooms and voice mail.All guest rooms have hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with free HBO. For that special occasion, ask about rooms with hot tubs.Microwave and refrigerator rentals are offered. A laundry room, a gift shop and a picnic area are located on the premises for added convenience. We do offer a free seasonal trolley to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge at the Falls North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge At The Falls North Hotel Niagara Falls
Econolodge Niagara Falls
Econo Lodge Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge at the Falls North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.