We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Buffalo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Galera

La Galera
8215 Niagara Falls Blvd, Niagara Falls, NY 14304
(716) 283-0005
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 257 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“From Buffalo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very good food......and that is saying a lot because I am not a big fan of Mexican food or spicy fare. Would definitely make an encore visit and recommend everyone make a least one visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    40
    10
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great price, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The service is great, prices reasonable and the food is authentic--not americanized at all. It has grown from a little place to a booming spot with their new location in the strip mall on NFB. We frequent here monthly. Chips and salsa are the bomb!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I've been a fan of theirs since day one and they have never once disappointed. Very good Margaritas, the Carne Asada was more than decent.

But... we watched them pull all the tables out of the booths to clean. That is PHENOMENAL! Most restaurants only do this every so often and that means the seat and floor never really get clean. Which is disgusting. I happily recommend people to this restaurant frequently!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Mexican fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Went to the new location in the Pine Plaza. Though a bit of a wait (20-30 min) on a Saturday night with no reservations, we and our friends we not disappointed. Was it the best we've ever had? No. But were the ingredients fresh? Yes. Did we get good, attentive service? Yes. Was our food delivered hot? Yes again. And are the prices reasonable? Indeed. So for living just about as far from the Mexican border as we could get, it's not a bad choice if you need some Mexican...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Disappointing Return Visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have been recommending La Galera for years as a cheap, quick bite near the Outlets. Since they have moved into their new space in Pine Plaza it seems as though the quality has seriously declined.

The quality of the food was never outstanding. But for Mexican-style food (which is rare in WNY), on the cheap, and in huge quantities, La Galera did the job. It seems with the new location came some major cost-cutting.

Prices at La Galera are still cheap. But the food, ergh. Where to begin? Dried out refried beans that tasted like they were reconstituted from powder. Soggy, watery, overcooked vegetables. Gummy flour tortillas. Salsa that tasted, dare I say, recycled from something else? It had a very, very strange flavor. Almost like watery pasta sauce.

The chips were hot and fresh, service was good, and you can still get a huge meal for <$10 per person. But why bother when you can go to Mighty Taco or Colasso Taco even cheaper and arguably better food?

Will NOT be returning and will no longer recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Galera also viewed

 

Been to La Galera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Galera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.