We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely owners, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillcrest Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hillcrest Inn to your Saves list
Hillcrest Inn
1 Hillcrest St, Niagara Falls, NY 14303   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely owners, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

An easy walk to everything you want to see at the falls, inlcuding Canada, eliminating the hassle of transport or parking. My two girls and I stayed in the luxurious master suite. A large room, with bathroom, dressing room, private terrace overlooking the rapids and a canopy bed that my daughter wanted to take home. Great brekkie, including an innovative refreshing grapefruit sorbet. The owners, including young Indigo, gave that personal touch a true experience of meeting local people that you dont get in a big hotel. Agree with other travellers though that it is a must to visit the Canadian side of the falls, although it is a short walk over and you must experience Cave of the Winds to really experience the falls.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
157
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We choose Hillcrest Inn for its location and we were not disappointed. But the bonus was wonderful host and Staff. Cassidy could not do enough for us. If you like older houses,comfortable, lived in, and with great atmosphere then Hillcrest is for you.Breakfasts were interesting with Cassidy producing all kinds of nice goodies to start the day. Free internet was very useful,too. Goat Island and American Falls are only a short walk away. Even crossing to the Canadian side was easy. We walked over and up to Horseshoe Falls twice and drove over one day so that we could drive up to Niagara on the Lake and what a serendipity that was !! A really lovely old town with a wonderful Main Street. I can highly reccommend Hillcrest Inn.

Room Tip: Go for the Master bedroom with balcony as our room was a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Good customer service, well informed hosts of the area attractions and very pleasant.

Unfortunately it could use some TLC inside and even just simple sweeping/dusting on outside sitting areas. The master bedroom which should have been the best was just okay, old things as in worn out, and didn't seem well aired; stuffy! No real view of the river because of the leaves on trees.
Breakfast is okay, the location is also okay.

Room Tip: Try the Giacomo hotel-good location, much closer to most entertainments and attractions in Niagara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I had never been to see Niagara Falls and, as I was riding the Seaway Trail, stopping by for a look seemed like a good idea at the time. The American Falls are pretty impressive, but don't forget your passport like I did because everybody consistently says that the Canadian side has "better" falls, atmosphere, accommodations and dining. From what I could tell of Niagara Falls N.Y., they must be right: this town is my worst nightmare of tacky shops, chain hotels and restaurants and, the standard coup de grace- giant casino. Yikes! But then, there is also the Hillcrest Inn.

At first, I thought it was a mirage. There, on the fringe of this chaotic tourist blight, nestled on a small one-block, dead-end street surrounded by trees, just a stone's throw above the river, sits the Hillcrest Inn, totally unaffected it seems by the surrounding mayhem, the empty lots promising yet another low-end chain motel, the buses and pell mell of vendors. The public spaces are tastefully and comfortably furnished and you would think you were in a country house in Connecticut instead of where you really are. I was shown to my room on the second floor that was equally nicely furnished and comfortable with the world's smallest, but still functional, ensuite bathroom with shower. The WiFi worked.

I checked in early afternoon and literally sat in my room for an hour, decompressing and enjoying the atmosphere of the place. And hiding out too. Later on, I ventured out to walk around the town and find some dinner (lots of Indian restaurants) and you can pretty much walk to the Falls or anywhere else in this town from the Hillcrest without much effort. Best of all, you can always walk back to your sanctuary at the Hillcrest,

I left before dawn so didn't have the chance to enjoy the breakfast. I can safely conclude, though, that in the unlikely event that I ever return to Niagara Falls, N.Y., you will find me at the Hillcrest Inn. Happy Trails.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stay clear of the chain hotels in Niagara Falls, and book Hillcrest Inn you will not regret it! The B&B is located right by the Niagara River, and if you book the Mater room you will have your own balcony to relax and enjoy the beautiful nature. Cassidy is a fantastic host, and be sure to set a side an hour for breakfast! Its Incredible!

Thanks so much for a wonderful stay, if I will ever return to Niagara this will be my place to stay!

Room Tip: Take the Master! Its beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Thank you to Hillcrest for a WONDERFUL anniversary stay!! My husband and I wanted to knock off a bucket-list item by staying in a bed and breakfast for our anniversary (while visiting Niagra Falls -- also on our bucket list) and boy did we pick a winner! Everyone was so sweet and tended to your every need. The breakfast dishes were out of this world! On our anniversary morning, they even set up a private breakfast for us. It was so sweet of them and very nice to have that added time alone with my husband. The night before our anniversary, we even walked back into our room after spending some time at the casino to a nice bottle of champagne for us to share. I'm not a champagne drinker but I even took seconds on that glass! It was DELICIOUS!! This trip somewhat spoiled me though as I don't feel like I could ever stay in a hotel room anymore! Thank you so so much to everyone at Hillcrest! You surely made our stay very "homey," warm, welcoming, and much much more!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Master Suite and absolutely LOVED it!! The view on the balcony was amazing and we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hidden treasure overlooking the Niagara river.
Enjoyed the quiet setting with a magnificent view while our host Cassidy spoiled us with delicious breakfast fare.
The Hillcrest room has thick curtains so you can sleep in. We found the small shared fridge convenient for our restaurant take a way. The bathroom was spacious.
We look forward to staying at Hillcrest on future Niagara visits.

Room Tip: The Master suite has the best view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillcrest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Inn

Address: 1 Hillcrest St, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, Georgian mansion is designed from classical antiquity. Its perfect location on a bricked, private street offers guests quiet seclusion – while allowing them to conveniently walk to most attractions in both Niagara Falls, NY and Niagara Falls, Canada. Breakfast at Hillcrest Inn may be served in the Asian dining room, sunroom with its delightful, trickling water fountain or (weather – permitting) outdoors on the terrace over-looking the fall's upper rapids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hillcrest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Niagara Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillcrest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.